Customer Reviews for

Lord of the Isles

Average Rating 4
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Wonderful Suprise!

    This book was so good. You can't help but to fall in love with the characters! Read it you Will not be sorry.....Fyi I don't even like stories with faries and magic!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    LOVED IT!

    This was a great story! So easy to get involved with. Loved all the characters. Will look for this author in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This whimsical time travel romance is a fun read

    The long held belief re the MacLeod mythos is that one of them was once married to a fairy princess. Thus whenever a miracle is needed they just need to wave the fairy flag they possess.

    Laird Rory MacLeod is dying from battle wounds received protecting his clan. His brother believes the time for a MacLeod Miracle is now so he waves the legendary flag. Almost instantly, after leaving a taxi, a bewildered Dr. Ali Graham finds herself in Rory's death bed. She has no idea how she got to late sixteenth century Scotland when she was just in the twenty-first century Scotland. One thing is for sure her arrival and her medical skills prove to be miracles as Rory recovers. However his clan and others believe his guardian angel is a witch; not just because of her saving his life, but because she has bewitched the widower laird into falling in love with her. He decides to use the last of the Fairy skill to send his beloved to safety back to the future.

    This whimsical time travel romance is a fun read as the hero and his healer fall in love while the clan and others allow superstition to rule their minds as most assume she is a witch due to her saving Rory's life and devilishly charming him with a love spell. Readers will appreciate the escapades of a modern day physician in 1570 Highlander Scotland where her knowledge and skills could lead to her burning at the stake.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Very good writing

    I havent actually finished the bookyet but I will. The writing is good, the plot engaging, the characters fun and even sdmirable. I will seek out other books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Good book

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Very Good Read

    I would recommend these books to everyone who enjoys reading a good book. Debbie Mazzuca's books are so good. She captures you from the very beginning. These are a diff. page turned Thank You Debbie Mazzuca.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Anonymous 5feb

    Excellent!! Wanted to just keep reading to see what would happen next. You wont be disappointed. Lovrd the strong characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Very Good

    Kept me bound through entire book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Lord of the isles

    Great book,keeps you wondering what will happen,fast paced keeps you riveted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Isles of Skye Time-Travel

    Lord of the Isles
    (Isles Series, Book #1)
    by Debbie Mazzuca

    Genre: Historical Romance | Time-Travel | Fantasy

    Rating: 3.5

    After traveling to Scotland on business, the bed of a highland laird is the last place Ali Graham expected to wake up. But there's no mistaking the irresistibly masculine Scottish Highlander whose chambers she's accidentally infiltrated—or the severe wound he's suffered in battle. As a doctor, Ali knows how to heal his injury, how to nurse his body back to health. What she doesn't know is how to heal his heart...A proud warrior and the leader of a powerful clan, Rory MacLeod is ready to fight to the death to protect his homeland. After all, ever since tragedy robbed him of his wife, he has had nothing to lose. Yet the mysterious woman sent to tend his wounds is beginning to reawaken something inside him—something that he'd rather stay buried. But when true passion is mixed with Scottish magic, even the most fearsome warrior could begin to fall...

    Ali arrived on the Isles of Skye in Scotland for a modeling gig, in hopes of paying off some of her medical school debt. Yet, upon visiting Dunvegan Castle for less than one hour, she finds herself waking up in bed with a highlander hunk she could have sworn was the 16th century Rory MacLeod. Now, adapting to her unbelievably odd predicament could be harder than thought, especially when witch accusations, snooty fiancé candidates, and a bloody kidnapping all ridiculously hinder her new "life-style" on the Isles. And when Ali's past and future truly begin to blend, can her reality finally become the magical dream she has always longed for?

    This would make a great summer "beach" read since its full of romance, adventure, and mystery. Plus, it features a lot of fantasy (i.e. time-travel, magic, and folklore). But be warned, the relationship between Ali and Rory was okay but not really appealing since Ali was almost annoyingly stuck on Rory's past feelings for his departed wife. Thus, she was not very confident in herself and her feelings were obviously very unstable. Furthermore, don't get me started with their first "bed" scene since it wasn't very suitable (or really believable!) due to Ali's battered/wounded condition. Other than that, the story flowed smoothly and was fascinating when all the dots were connected in regards to Ali's true connection to the Isles of Skye. The side-characters were also very enjoyable and really added some great emotion to the story. So, now I'm curious about Book #2, Warrior of the Isles, and may have to check it out.

    Likes: In reality, I actually visited Dunvegan castle last spring in Scotland and saw the real "fairy flag". So, throughout this whole book, I was able to easily visualize the setting and much of what the story was about based on my memories - so COOL!

    Dislikes: I still have this strange feeling that I have read this book before or at least one with an almost exact plot line -- so nothing really surprised me overall and, sadly, I could easily predict where everything was headed way on in the story - so WEIRD!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    I thought it was a good book. will be reading more books from this writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Excellent read!!!

    Thoroughly enjoy books by DM. This book will not disappoint you!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    Very easy read

    It had a nice mystery with a love story. I like that it wasn't a big book. I like them short and sweet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    Recommended. YES

    Entertaining. Grabbed my interest right from the start.
    Love these Highlanders!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    loved it

    I have never liked books about time travel and such but this book was great. The characters were strong and the story line surprisingly good and well written. I will follow her stories in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    Very good. I will read more by this author

    I did not expect to enjoy this book but
    I did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyed it

    It's another time travel Highlander romance, with a lot of similiarities to other time-travel Highlander romances, but I still enjoyed this book. The author keeps a lot of the same time travel themes that other have (how many healers have time traveled to care for and fall in love with the brutish manly Highlander with a sweet side?), but she also adds a new twist and a new way for time-travel to occur. Fans of time-travel and Highladers and romance will be a fan of this book too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Enjoyable

    Im a closet time travel romance fan and found this book a nice feel good read. I tend to skip over the sexual parts n stick with the plot. I ended the book with a smile on my face so I have to give it two thumbs up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    Wonderful story!

    Loved this story and am looking forward to reading more from this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    Loved it!

    This book was great! I read it in a couple of days! Worth every penny!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5