Customer Reviews for

Lord of the Clans

Average Rating 4.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2003

    Absolutely Great!

    This wasn't just a Warcraft book, It was an amazing tale of prejudice and belonging. It was also filled with great action. Not only was it the best book in the warcraft series but one of the best books I have read. This is a book that you MUST read regardless of whether or not you play computer games.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2015

    Blackmoore kidnaps a baby Thrall. Thrall grows up and leans of t

    Blackmoore kidnaps a baby Thrall. Thrall grows up and leans of this injustice and leaves. He then learns of his enslaved people and leaves to find those that are free. When he finds them they show him the location of his village of origin and he goes there to achieve his birthright as chief. However, he first learns the ways of the shaman. Then they set out to battle the humans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Easily one of the best warcraft books out there

    Very exellent book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book perfectly depicts Thralls childhood and his rise to be

    This book perfectly depicts Thralls childhood and his rise to being the Warchief of the Horde.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Freestar

    Fresh-kill pile. *Freestar*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The "Lord of the Clans" is a win!

    It's an exciting and dramatic book filled with adventure and tragedy. This is not only a definite read for Warcraft fans, but for fans of fantasy in general.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2007

    Rise of a Warchief

    I have been a Warcraft fan since I first played the Warcraft: Orcs and Humans shareware on my cousin's old Macintosh. Since then I grew to love the characters and their stories as many are generally universal tales of heroics and struggle. This one is no exception. Lord of the Clans is an epic read and it's instances and plot points are very universal in their construction. The emotional depth that Don Perrin infuses in each character draws you in and truly makes you feel a part of the struggle Thrall goes through. The slave and future warchief was instrumental in bringing the Orcs back to their shamanistic ways as they were on their homeland of Draenor, before the demonic corruption. What it boils down to is a 'rags to riches' story arch and while ubiquitous, this one hits the mark and makes you feel something. Don Perrin manages to craft a story that is human down to it's very core and manages to draw one into the world of Warcraft.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2005

    One hell of a book!

    I'm a slow reader, and don't find the time to read too often, but I absolutely could not put this book down. Literally. I actually got a detention because I was reading in class. I only played WarCraft III up until halfway through the Orc campaign, but I was fascinated with Thrall and the Orcs in general, especially after reading their history on worldofwarcraft.com. Anyone who plays World of Warcraft, has played WarCraft III and would like a nice lead-in, or has a general interest in Thrall and the Orcs absolutely MUST read this book. My one and only gripe is that it's a little on the short side (278 pages), but it's still a great book nonetheless.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2004

    Best Book I Ever Read.

    First off, I would like to say that this review is coming from someone that never reads books and dreads school. I am a fan of Warcraft the video game, so I picked it up.. It was hard to put the book down. The emotions and friendships in the book are outstanding. I even shed a tear at the ending. Best book I ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2004

    An Outstanding Read!!!!

    i though the first one Day of the Dragon was good but this one is even better! This book is packed with emotions and the story to Thrall is finally told. For those who play warcraft their was supposed to be a game called Warcraft Adventures but it got cancelled and the story appeared in this book. So in Warcraft III reign of choas you know how Thrall got his powers. So if your a warcraft fan or just a fantasy reader pick this one up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2004

    Awsome Book

    This is the coolest Book i think i''ve Ever read i liked it more then the Lord Of The Rings (Almost) if you like Orcs and WarCraft buy this book its a must I liked it!!! ALOT!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2003

    One of the top BEST BOOKS

    I will admit it, i hate reading (and spelling, so if i spell bad, dont judge me on it). I never read books. This was the first book i picked up and read for hours and hours. I picked it out because it is warcraft which is my fav. game. I felt like i was truely in the story. I would recommend this book to anyone who will understand what good books are all about, drama, war, and treason!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2003

    AWESOME

    this is easily the best book ive ever read i have 3 things to say to u now.....BUY BUY BUY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2003

    Wonderful

    It took me right into the book I felt like I was there with all the characters through the fighting and the emotions they had for eachother. I will recommened this book to any one that is willing to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2003

    ThIs BoOk WaS oFf ThE cHaIn !!!!!!

    This book was off the hook !!! From the beginning to the end it grabs you and won't let go.......I know a lot of people say that about books and it isn't true but I'm dead serious. It makes you want to be in the book and help Thrall on his journey to free his beloved people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2002

    AAAAAAAmazing

    This book is such a great book that I told my friends about it and they got it, read it, and loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2002

    The best Warcraft book to date

    A masterful tale with wonderful fight scenes, a surprising ending, and likable charaters who are all shades of gray, not black and white

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2002

    One of the best.

    This book was very enjoyable,sadly I finished it in about 6 hours.For all you Warcraft fans out there read this,especially if you are planning On purchasing Warcraft 3 and or already have it and just want to read the 'full' back story to Thrall the Warchief.For you real Warcraft fans you know that this book is pretty much just a reamke Of the Never published Blizzard game Warcraft Adventures Lord of the clans.This book tells the story of thrall the warchief.It starts off that his parents are killed and he is left in the forest,he is only like a year old,so along comes Aedalas Blackmoore,(the badguy).He picks up the small orc and takes him back to his prison fortress Duronholde.He planed to Maul the Orc into the perfect Warrior conditioned to human thinking but with all the savagerey of an orcish heart.I don't want to ruin the story.So I'll stop there.Buy this book now,it is a very good book.I would reccomend it to people above the ages of 13,due to some language.The book is 278.pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2002

    Very Enthusiastic

    I am a thoroughly large Blizzard fan, and having read this book only increases my love for them. A tale of one who had many harships, but overcame them by love, war, compassion, but most of all, mercy. I would recommend this book to any fan of an adventure, but most of all, to all BLizzard fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2001

    Wonderful adventure

    This is a must have for any warcraft fan! An adventure of slavery torture and punishment. Read, Read, Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3