Customer Reviews for

Lord of the Dark

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    WHAT A MESS!

    I thought this book was a mess. I only finished it because I wanted to see how the chaos would end. Was a hard read because it was all over the place. The lead, Gideon, was a simpleton and his lady was just annoying.
    I was very disappointed because the other reviews were great, this was a wasted read for me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2008

    deep erotic romantic fantasy

    Gideon the fallen Guardian of the Principalities of Arcus thought he knew suffering when the slightest touch of his wings turns him into an animal in heat, but he will soon learn how wrong his belief is. He believes he deserves his punishment of eternal exile to the Dark Isle for angels are forbidden to lust after mortals, but he will soon learn how unfair his punishment is. --- He has survived for eons but now comes a crisis that rips his soul. The most beautiful female he has ever seen, Rhiannon washes up on his beach surviving the Pegasus shipwreck. He knows he must not tamper with her innocence, but his desire for her is way beyond the wind caressing his wings. He thinks of her and turns hot and bothered. Making matters worse, Rhiannon reciprocates heat for heat. As they fall in love, Gideon¿s biggest fear is the Gods will punish him by punishing her. --- LORD OF THE DARK is a deep erotic romantic fantasy with a different overall spin than Dawn Thompson¿s previous tales (see THE RAVENCLIFF BRIDE, THE WATERLORD, THE FALCON¿S BRIDE, AND BLOOD MOON) this story line is much more fantasy with the romance serving as a critical but support subplot. Fans of the late great Ms. Thompson will relish this superb thriller as the lead couple struggles with outside interference, his eternal sentence, and their love (in that order) with no hope for the future. --- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2008

    A reviewer

    The late Dawn Thompson started a series in 2006 called The Elementals. Lord of the Deep was the first one, and the book is already into second printing. Lord of the Dark continues this world-building theme that is on par with Tolkien. Where the works of Tolkien was amazing, Thompson imbues the her magical series with all the passion and emotions that is strangely so devoid from Tolkien's works. The first book simply blew me away with the detailed depth of the world she created and populated with such magical beings. Lord of the Dark builds on the first book and kicks up the power. It's simply, absolutely an amazing work, and on so many levels. In this erotic historical fantasy, you meet the second Lord - Gideon. He is a gorgeous angel, but he was thrown out of Arcus for being oh so naughty. He loved a mortal woman and that big no no saw he was cast out and cursed. He has the most magnificent set of feathered wings. Only one problem--his curse! If anything touches his wings, even the air as he flies, it causes the poor lad to become aroused. Not too troublesome you might think. Well, it is when Gideon has 'keepers' Harpies who live just to make him miserable. Every time he tries to remedy is 'problem', the Harpies appear to put an end to any idea of 'relief,' much to Gideon's ire. To add insult to injury, his wings no longer retract, so he is barely able to rest for his feathers teasing his libido. Gideon watched as Simeon, Lord of the Deep claimed his human bride in the mating ritual. This longing in him pushed his loneliness--and his arousal--to new agony. To his surprise he discovers the Harpies are missing from he ceremony. So when he spies Muriel, Queen of the Sirens, and she is in the same mood of desire, he thinks now is the time. As things are going along well, the Harpies strike. Only, their timely interruption causes Muriel to be a tad bit miffed, and she sets the seas to a maelstrom, which in turn causes the wreck of a ship. (a note - Thompson's middle name was Muriel.) Aboard a doomed ship caught in Muriel's temper fit is Rhiannon. Terrified of dying, she prays to the Arcan gods. She washes up on an island, which she thinks is desolate, until she finds the cave. She is stunned to meet the inhabitant - Gideon. His male beauty draws her, makes her want him, but we can see the problems that will ensue. Gideon wants Rhiannon, but fears for her safety. His love for her grows and he wants to keep her. Is there some way he can convince the Arcan gods to ease his loneliness? Thompson created a magical world with the first book in the series, but she moves into a stronger, darker, more assured, more personal tale with Lord of the Dark. This is a book of her soul. The emotional level, the intensity of Gideon's character absolutely is mesmerizing. While erotica, it's literary erotica, that sets Thompson into a class all her own. Gideon is a brilliant archetype tortured hero, but his anger, his loneliness, his curse, touched me on a level that transcends the story itself and oddly becomes a reflection of Thompson's own life. All Thompson's books contain a lot of her, but The Elementals reflect so much of who and what Dawn Thompson was, thus giving the reader amazing stories, but also, for those wanting to know 'more' the special treat of finding the very essence of this beautiful, talented author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    Huge Fan of Elementals!

    Lord of the Dark by Dawn Thompson<BR/><BR/>Gideon, Lord of the Dark, Prince of the Air, winged arch angel that had fallen from grace because of his lust, was now cursed. Cursed to be eternally aroused, the slightest touch to his wings would about make him mad with need, a need to sink himself deep within a woman. That was also part of his curse, he was allowed no women in which to relieve himself, and the lightening bearing watchers/harpies of the gods made sure of that, striking him down if he even came close. A fallen angel, alone in the world without his soul mate but constantly aroused is about to pull one over on the gods¿ <BR/><BR/>Rhiannon was unwillingly on her way to meet her betrothed when their ship crashed because of the angry sirens song. Shipwrecked in the ocean and not a strong swimmer, Rhiannon did all that she could think of; pray to the gods. Washing ashore, she found a small cave and entered taking the liberties of a bath only to be surprised by this beautiful winged man. He was amazingly gorgeous, even when he tried to frighten her away, it awakened cravings neither had ever known before. Rhiannon still an innocent and virgin, Gideon Lord of the Dark, frenzied with need¿ the watchers hadn¿t seen her, so could he keep her? After that first kiss, he knew he could never let her go, but there are other powers and entities out there that must be overcome. Fate can be a cruel and evil thing.<BR/><BR/>Lord of the Dark by Dawn Thompson is an enthralling erotic historical that will awaken the need in every woman! I¿m telling you this book was on FIRE! The sexual scenes were intense but tasteful, there was not a moment that went by that Rhiannon was not getting into trouble, strong willed, or falling deeper in love with Gideon. I can not express how enamored I am with Dawn Thompson¿s Lord of the Dark. I know there are more books in the series, this was the second. I have to have those other books! I know Dawn is not her with us, but her words will continue to live on. I really loved this book! 5 Hearts<BR/><BR/>Purchase any of Dawn Thompson¿s books on Amazon.com, Barnesandnoble.com, or at your local bookstore.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No more mushrooms please

    Despite all the excellent reviews, I found this book just ridiculous. I actually skipped through the steamy scenes because they were all the same. And if I had to read the word mushroom one more time during such scenes, well, let's just say I would never eat them on a pizza again. The plot lacked, the writing repetitive, and I really could care less about the characters. I really did like the idea behind this series, as it was original and creative. But it just didn't live up to my expectations from reading all the glorifying reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    Very Sensual

    If you want a lot of hot sex in your romance novels, this is the book to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1