BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Lord of the Fading Lands (Tairen Soul Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 235 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(194)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Review for the whole series

I'm writing this review for the whole series because you do need to read all 5 books.

This is one of my favorite series. The characters are great from start to finish. You do get tiffed at them sometimes, the story needs conflict, but Wilson always brings them back...
I'm writing this review for the whole series because you do need to read all 5 books.

This is one of my favorite series. The characters are great from start to finish. You do get tiffed at them sometimes, the story needs conflict, but Wilson always brings them back to a place that you like them again.

Its a long journey but definitely worth your time and your money.

posted by 3232972 on November 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Angieville: LORD OF THE FADING LANDS

I waited for this one to become available at the library for quite awhile. It was always checked out and that, coupled with the rather rave reviews I'd read, made me excited to get my hands on it. The cover is decidedly hokey, but I've come to regret bouts of cover-snob...
I waited for this one to become available at the library for quite awhile. It was always checked out and that, coupled with the rather rave reviews I'd read, made me excited to get my hands on it. The cover is decidedly hokey, but I've come to regret bouts of cover-snobbery many a time before. So I resolved not to let it get to me this time. Besides. I finished the book and still can't wrap my mind around what the tairen actually look like. So the creature on the cover is as good a rendering as any, I'm sure.

Essentially, it is a Cinderella story. One in which the prince is actually a king. A massively overbearing, centuries old king at that. Rain Tairen Soul is well-known throughout the world as the man who almost destroyed it all when his beloved was killed. His rage was of such a magnitude that it nearly scorched the world. Thousands upon thousands died as a result. This all took place nigh unto a thousand years ago and Rain has spent the intervening years basically trying to hang onto his sanity and not give into his anger and sorrow. Enter Ellie--found on the side of the road as a child and taken in by a woodcarver and his wife. In a moment of utter terror, her soul cries out and Rain's hears it. He comes immediately to her rescue and the two of them attempt to make sense of what has happened to them. And what has happened is that they are soul mates. That's right. Rain has love thrust upon him centuries after he thought he was through with it for good. And Ellie has it swoop down upon her for the first time in her life. It's all very anguished and touching.

Except it's not.

I don't know if it's just that the story's been done before and in more compelling ways. Or if it's the he's older than Methuselah and she's a spring chicken ick factor. But it didn't do it for me. It's like the whole time the story was telling me, I am So Epic. Bask in my epicness! And Rain was storming around yelling at me, I am So Tortured. Revel in my anguish! Meanwhile, Ellie was tip-toeing around in his wake whispering, I am fragile but with a Core Of Steel. Underestimate me at your peril! But none of it felt real. It just felt like the veneer of epicness and torture and steel cores. There was also a string of women drugged and manipulated against their will which really rubbed me wrong. And did anyone else think Ellie should totally be with Bel? Or was that just me? Now the story certainly had its sweet moments. How could it not? At just over 400 pages, it never gets beyond the courtship stage of Rain and Ellie's relationship. But even then, I didn't feel like they got to know each other well. But I didn't feel like I knew them either so it wasn't that great a loss. I do have to say that this book (and series) is dearly beloved by many so, clearly, your mileage may (and probably will) vary. It may very well fly for you. But, for me, it never got its feet off the ground.

posted by Angieville on November 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 236 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted November 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Angieville: LORD OF THE FADING LANDS

    I waited for this one to become available at the library for quite awhile. It was always checked out and that, coupled with the rather rave reviews I'd read, made me excited to get my hands on it. The cover is decidedly hokey, but I've come to regret bouts of cover-snobbery many a time before. So I resolved not to let it get to me this time. Besides. I finished the book and still can't wrap my mind around what the tairen actually look like. So the creature on the cover is as good a rendering as any, I'm sure. <BR/><BR/>Essentially, it is a Cinderella story. One in which the prince is actually a king. A massively overbearing, centuries old king at that. Rain Tairen Soul is well-known throughout the world as the man who almost destroyed it all when his beloved was killed. His rage was of such a magnitude that it nearly scorched the world. Thousands upon thousands died as a result. This all took place nigh unto a thousand years ago and Rain has spent the intervening years basically trying to hang onto his sanity and not give into his anger and sorrow. Enter Ellie--found on the side of the road as a child and taken in by a woodcarver and his wife. In a moment of utter terror, her soul cries out and Rain's hears it. He comes immediately to her rescue and the two of them attempt to make sense of what has happened to them. And what has happened is that they are soul mates. That's right. Rain has love thrust upon him centuries after he thought he was through with it for good. And Ellie has it swoop down upon her for the first time in her life. It's all very anguished and touching. <BR/><BR/>Except it's not. <BR/><BR/>I don't know if it's just that the story's been done before and in more compelling ways. Or if it's the he's older than Methuselah and she's a spring chicken ick factor. But it didn't do it for me. It's like the whole time the story was telling me, I am So Epic. Bask in my epicness! And Rain was storming around yelling at me, I am So Tortured. Revel in my anguish! Meanwhile, Ellie was tip-toeing around in his wake whispering, I am fragile but with a Core Of Steel. Underestimate me at your peril! But none of it felt real. It just felt like the veneer of epicness and torture and steel cores. There was also a string of women drugged and manipulated against their will which really rubbed me wrong. And did anyone else think Ellie should totally be with Bel? Or was that just me? Now the story certainly had its sweet moments. How could it not? At just over 400 pages, it never gets beyond the courtship stage of Rain and Ellie's relationship. But even then, I didn't feel like they got to know each other well. But I didn't feel like I knew them either so it wasn't that great a loss. I do have to say that this book (and series) is dearly beloved by many so, clearly, your mileage may (and probably will) vary. It may very well fly for you. But, for me, it never got its feet off the ground.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Review for the whole series

    I'm writing this review for the whole series because you do need to read all 5 books.

    This is one of my favorite series. The characters are great from start to finish. You do get tiffed at them sometimes, the story needs conflict, but Wilson always brings them back to a place that you like them again.

    Its a long journey but definitely worth your time and your money.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2007

    The best book I've read in a long time

    Once he had scorched the world. Once he had driven back overwhelming darkness. Once he had loved with such passion, his name was legend... C.L.Wilson¿s debut novel, LORD OF THE FADING LANDS, has everything a romance novel should. Tortured hero, misunderstood heroine, great love, evil villain, humor, passion, mystery - it¿s Cinderella set in a land of Tairen, Celerians, and humans. No wicked stepmother or sisters, but certainly plenty of mean and nasty peers. The Tairen are fey, gifted in magic and mystery. A thousand years after the Mage War, however, they are facing extinction. Rainier vel'En Daris Feyreisen is the last of the Tairen Soul, and in an effort to consult the Eye of Tairen as to how to help his people, he is guided to find a woman surrounded by flame. He finds Elly, and discovers she is his shei¿tani, the mate of his soul. Ellysetta Baristani suffered from horrendous nightmares and seizures for years, although they finally ceased, to her adopted family¿s relief. Raised by strict but loving parents, Elly is fascinated by the tairen, and especially Rain Tairen Soul. An awkward, gawky, and unattractive child, Elly is finally coming into her own beauty. Because she is nearing her 25th birthday, her mother, in a genuine loving gesture, allows her to be betrothed to a man with the personality of a toad who only wants Elly so he can exploit her. Our H and H meet and it is not love at first sight. Rain recognizes her as the woman shown to him by the Eye fo Tairen and forces himself into her life. Elly, while admiring him from afar, is afraid of him and his magic when he rescues her from a stampeding crowd. It¿s a good romance, believable and heartwarming. Most of the story is about Rain and Elly adjusting to the idea that they are destined to be together. Neither are inititally thrilled with the idea. Ms. Wilson moves the story slowly to allow the reader to get to know the nuances of the characters and to immerse ourselves into their world. She masterfully uses details to create a seamless and richly detailed story. The quality of her storytelling is absolutely rock solid. I found the book to be magical, dramatic, romantic, tense, and thoroughly entertaining. It is everything I like in a book. My only complaint is that I wasn¿t ready for it to end. The sequel, LADY OF LIGHT AND SHADOWS, is set for release at the end of October. I can hardly wait.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    entertaining opening romantic fantasy

    When his beloved Sariel died in combat Fey king Rain Tairen Soul went berserk and destroyed much of the realm even as his side defeated the evil wizards of Eld. Now a thousand years later he still grieves, but worries that soon his people the fairy will become extinct. Desperate to save his race, Rain ignores the taboo of touching the sacred Eye of Truth in order to learn if there is some way to save his people. What the Eye showed him after beating the arrogance out of his soul, is a secret. Rain heads a half of continent away to the mortal city of Celieria where apparently resides his lost soul mate, Ellysetta Baristaini, an unacceptable female for their Tairen by the Fey nobles as she is a woodcarver¿s daughter. At the same time that Rain begins courting, the wizards of Eld want to use this expendable woman as a pawn to enable them to destroy the Tairen. --- LORD OF THE FADING LANDS is an entertaining opening romantic fantasy that will please fans of both genres. As with many epic fantasies, the story line focuses on introducing the key characters and the setting so that action is somewhat limited to the romance and to a degree the plotting of the malevolent wizards. Still C. L. Wilson provides a fascinating tale with a solid premise of a dying race, which will bring plenty of fans to this debut, who also will eagerly look forward to the sequel. --- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2007

    Utterly Terrific!

    Rain Tairen Soul, King of the Fey, the most powerful Fey alive, takes matters into his own hands to help save the tairen -- magical winged cats of the Fading Lands -- from extinction because if they no longer exist, so too would the Fey die out because they are so closely related, their existence dependent upon one another. Taking the Eye of Truth -- the oracle a trained seer can use to garner answers from any realm of time -- in his hands, something that should never be done, he demands how he can save his people but receives only mind-bending pain and scenes of the past that are just as painful - the Mage Wars, the death of Sariel, his heart mate, and his Rage on the world in his grief at her passing, scorching anything and anyone is his path during his grief in his tairen form. As suddenly as the pain was upon him it is taken away, and in its place is the vision of a woman and of a city he knows well and despises just as much. But now he knows what he needs to do. His soul mate awaits him. Ellysetta Baristani, a woodcarver's daughter, is fast approaching her 25th birtday, the time when a woman is considred a spinster if not married, but although she is happy with her family, that same poor family and her own strangeness keeps eligible men from her door asking for her hand. All except one, the butcher's son, who Elly refuses to marry, even when her parents insist on the union. She prays to the gods to send her anyone but that despicable toad, and she learns very soon that you must be wary what you ask for. But when she meets her destiny and learns more about him and his kind, both of which have always fascinated her, life is never the same quiet peacefulness she's known all her life. But would she give Rain up for any aspect of a life that seems so far away now. Not for anything in the world. Lord of the Fading Lands is a beautiful love story, bringing together soul mates, one magical and thousands of years old and the other a young, innocent girl of common unbringing, but when they touch, desire and need threads through them both, one having to control his desires and keep his tairen in check, the other slightly afraid of such intense feeling but wanting to experience it nonetheless. Dark forces are stirring to keep this union from happening, to take over the world and be all powerful, but being a soul mate transcends love and when it happens, no power in the land will be able to conquer them and their passion. These characters plow right into your heart and stay there. Even the secondary charaters, good or evil, make you sit up and take notice. And the tairen alone is the worth the reading of this story. This is one unique and wonderful book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2010

    Fairy Tales Don't Always Have a Happy Ending

    My purpose is to tell the audience about the book- including how enjoyable it was and that some fairy tales can be exciting and don't always have a happy ending. I think Lord of the Fading Lands is an excellent book and is a good book to prove my point.
    Lord of the Fading Lands is the first in a series of five books, called the Tairen Soul Saga. The first one is mostly a love story, but it does have some action/adventure and is full of suspense. It could also be a mystery novel, too. I really like this series, even though it is a fairy tale.
    The book is about a girl, Ellysetta, who has been haunted by what she thinks are demons all her life. When the Fey- a magical, immortal species- come to her hometown of Celeria City, she goes to see them. But when Rain Tairen Soul, - a Fey who can transform into catlike Tairen- flies from the sky and claims her as his truemate, Ellysetta learns about her true heritage and how to use her powerful magic. The author, C.L. Wilson, has written only five books, all of which are part of the Tairen Soul Saga.
    plot: A couple, Ellysetta and Rain, trying to complete their shei'tanitsa bond- or a bond of their souls. Characters: Ellysetta, Rain, Ellysetta's guard (Bel, Kieran, Kiel, Adrial, and Rowan), Ellysetta's family (Laurie, Lillis, Sol, and Lorelle), and Vadium Maur, the High Mage of Eld. Setting: Celeria City, the Fading Lands, and Eld.
    My thesis is that all fairy tales don't always have a happy ending. I can support this with an event in the book when Ellysetta had a nightmare near the end that changed her and Rain's life forever- in a frightening way.
    The goal of the book was to entertain its readers. It was full of suspense- the book would come to a very important part, then it would change perspectives, like tell it from Rain and Ellysetta's point of view to Vadium Maur's. It was many genres- romance, mystery, action/adventure, drama, fantasy- so people who read a variety of genres would enjoy the book. So I think the author achieved her goal of entertaining readers.
    Compared to other books in the fantasy genre, Lord of the Fading Lands is one of the best. Unlike most fantasy books, it is well over three hundred pages. It also has many other subgenres.
    Some fairy tales don't always have a happy ending. Lord of the Fading Lands was a perfect book to prove that, considering it didn't have a happy ending.
    All in all, though parts were sad, I liked reading Lord of the Fading Lands and the rest of the series.
    Whether you like fantasy stories, action/adventure stories, or romance stories, people will adore Lord of the Fading Lands and the rest of the Tairen Soul Saga.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Breath of fresh air in the world of fantasy

    I have read a lot of books over the years, but this is one of my favorites. The characters are complex and real. Their reactions feel genuine and for a fantasy book, that surprised me. Rain is your typical broody, loner male lead but its his unexpected gentleness that captivates the reader. Elly is strong and courageous, with a nice family background. The development of the each individual character is quite interesting to see. I literally could not put this book down until I was finished with it. And if you love fantasy and plot twists, this is definitely the book for you. C.L. Wilson breathes a fresh new life into the tired old stories that line fantasy book shelves.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best books I've ever read

    I've read so many books I can't even try to count them all. If you're a "Twilight" fan I doubt this book will fall under your category as Twilight is written at a fourth grade reading level and this book is extremely well written. Also the characters are very dynamic and original the storyline will keep you on edge through the whole series if I had the ability to do so I would give C.L. Wilson donate money for her amazing ability to write. The story involves an alternate world with some similarities to our own world but with a wonderful magical twist riddled with romantic ideas some of them even a bit on the primitive side. I have read and re-read this book so many times that the pages are worn I recommend this book to ANYONE simple because it is the most amazing storyline you will likely ever read and have a nice little romance to go with it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2007

    Great read!

    Great book! Fantastic story with all of the right combinations - changlings, magic and mystical places! Lots of twists & possible twists that leave you wanting more! Good, strong, characters in this book and great ground work in plot development for the next book. You can find yourself really immersed in this story! Can't wait to get the sequel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2007

    A reviewer

    I can only wonder if the author is really a character from this fairyland because I have been spell bound by this story. It has mistery and has romance. It is wonderful to know that the heroine does not always have to be a great beauty but that her beauty comes from within. Lord Rain and the Fey are beautiful and enchanting characters. I can't wait for the next book to take me back to the beautiful Fading Lands fantasy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2007

    Wilson is destined to skyrocket to the top!!

    I was enthralled from the first paragraph to the last. I sat up all night to read, not wanting to put it down, afraid I might miss something. While the book was closed I was so caught up in the story, as if I too was there, part of the story. When there was danger, I wanted to warn her somehow. I believe I may have fallen in love with Rain even faster than she, and I was aware I was falling. The romantic way he courted her took your breath away. I am not a young girl, yet I found myself giggling at times. When my husband wanted to know what was so funny, I told him I would tell him later-and I SHOWED HIM. I wanted to read faster, then wanted to slow down so as not to finish. I wanted it to go on for ever!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    This has to be the best series i have ever read. i couldnt stop reading it, and now i can barely wait for next year. Please do yourself the biggest favor by picking this book and lady of light and shadow. it has everything, action, intrigue, love. Written beautifully with everything fitting together so well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2007

    This book is a MUST read!

    I'm not even sure where to start with this book. C.L. Wilson has struck a home run with Lord of the Fading Lands. From the very first page of the prologue, I was captivated. How could I not be with the spellbinding weave of magic that Wilson has woven for us? This book is a gem and a must read for anyone seeking a breathtaking paranormal romance novel. If I had one issue with it, it was that I started reading it in the evening. I had to force myself to put it down at three in the morning! So my recommendation would be that if you start reading this in the evening, make sure you don't have work or classes early the next morning, and if you do, make sure you have the coffee pot handy! The world of Celieria is world and inviting, and yet not above it's petty problems as seen with all societies. The plot twists and intrigues will make your mouth fall open in shock. Ellysetta is a woman in which we can all smile about. Her back bone lends strengths to others in times of need, while still allowing us to chuckle as she learns the path that she must walk. Rain is a man not without his faults, but with the help of his Shei'tani and Fey warriors, there is nothing that he cannot achieve. A diamond in the rough, this book is a must read for anyone who desires to feel that physical spark in their heart when they read something truly great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2007

    A MUST READ!!!!!

    A must read!! C.L. Wilson captivates you from the beginning and leaves you waiting impatiently for Lady of Light and Shadows to continue the story. I was up until 3am reading the book and tried several times to put it down and go to sleep, but I couldn¿t. The characters are well developed and the story is told so that you can actually visualize what¿s happening. The interaction between the hero and heroine is sharp and witty. No simpering weak heroine in this book. Ellysetta¿s fear of her own magic and her struggle to accept Rain, are well done without leaving you aggravated at her stupidity (like in some books). Rain supports and encourages Ellysetta emphasizing to her how important SHE is and not who she was or how she acts. C.L. Wilson is a bright light in the world of books and will be on my must buy and read list from here on out. If you take a chance with no other new author..PICK THIS ONE!!! C.L. Wilson has a lot of background information on her website about this world. She has put a lot of forethought into the history and people of Eloran and it shows in her writing. The story flows smoothly and is rich with detail and emotions. Ellysetta is a girl from a common family, swept into a world of royalty, magic and intrigue. Her struggle to understand and accept her truemate, Rain, is at odds with her fear of magic, her own magic. Ellysetta has always longed for Rain, been fascinated with his people, even without knowing he is her destiny. She is strong, brave and compassionate without being haughty or belligerent. She will be a good Queen. Rain is King of the Fey a shapeshifter who battles to control his beast from claiming Ellysetta too soon and causing her fear. His people are dying and Ellysetta is their only hope for a future. He lost his first love a thousand years ago in violence and caused mass destruction during his revenge. Now he struggles to accept his feelings for Ellysetta fearing the loss of his truemate will cause world wide destruction. He allows no insult to his Queen and neither do his people. He will have her and no one..not even her betrothed can stop him. The dark mages of Eld will stop at nothing to kill Ellysetta. They desire the death of the Fey and ruling of the World. Rain will protect Ellysetta at all costs. His people will defend her with their lives. Rain and Ellysetta must work together and become one to triumph. Ellysetta must learn to become a Queen, with all its trappings, quickly for she is due in court in a few days time. Colleen Sergent, Dedicated Reader Culloden, WV

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2007

    Terrific Read

    What a fresh, creative and evocative world CL Wilson has created in the book Lord of the Fading Lands. I was entranced by the story of Tairen Soul and Ellysetta and the world they inhabit. Once I started reading, I found that I couldn't stop and I raced to the end. I can't wait for the continuation of the story in Lady of Light and Shadows. Until then I will have to go back and re-read some of my favorite chapters. Lord of the Fading Lands is an exciting mix of science fiction, intrigue, deception, and love. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2007

    Wow - great 1st book

    C.L. Wilson has done an outstanding job of creating strong central charaters and vivid descriptions that suck you in from the first page and hold you spellbound until the last page. All I can say is I can't wait for her 2nd book to find out what happens next to Ellie and Rain.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2007

    Christine Feehan is Right

    This book IS one of the best I have read in years. Witty, fast paced with unexpected plot twists. I love the characters and just had to read it a second time. Can't wait for Book 2

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2007

    One of the Best Fantasy Books I've Read so Far...

    I received this book as an advanced reading copy and I finished it within 24 hours of starting it.....and that is with work and family related doings. It was a hard book to put down and I can't wait for the next installment to come out. I won't spoil the plot, but, if you like books that are a combination of JRR Tolkien 'elves, mages, magic' and Christine Feehan 'shapeshifters and a dab of romance', you will really like this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2007

    Cannot wait for the next book

    I won't repeat what others have written before me, but to say that this book was a great start to a series. The best thing was thing was the way C.L. Wilson brought the characters to life. I felt Elli's confusion at the way her life was changing when only day's ago her life was so normal and every-day. I love it when the male character sees the inner beauty of the female. That he desires her above all others. I cannot wait till the next book, Lady of Light and Shadows. Applause! Applause! for C.L. Wilson

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2007

    Wonderful reading, hoping for a long series

    What a wonderful beginning of (hopefully a long) series by C.L. Wilson. This book has a wonderful, grab your attention beginning and never stops. It is almost impossible to put this book down once you start, and wishing you could get the next book in this series NOW. The love scenes are marvelous, not just physical but what dreams are made of and provides you with wonderful moving feelings. The descriptions of the characters and places come to life vividly in your mind and the plot just holds you to see what is next. Thanks Cheryl for a wonderful story and lovely poems and lyics, cannot wait for Lady of Light and Shadows, and hopefully more about the people introduced in this book. Can't wait to see if anything comes of various plots involving the sisters of Ellysetta, maybe even with one of the Fey guards of Ellysetta(?) What wonderful twists and plots to imagine coming to life from Cheryl Wilson. I certainly hope there is more after Lady. visit Cheryl's site and click on the 'Wish' list here to get your books as fast as possible. Well worth the full price and if you are like me, not a book I would resell. this is a book I will read again and again. Mere words cannot convey how wonderful this story is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 236 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12