BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Lord of the Flies (Literature Made Easy)

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    Lord of the Flies

    If you are into the whole island tropical adventures then this would be a very interesting book for you. The author does a very good job about giving details about the way things are and who does what. It makes you feel as if you are on the island with the boys. There are so many details in the way the characters feel that it makes u sad or scared as well. Its a very actionious book, it always keeps you second guessing who's going to do what or what's going to happen next. You defiantly learn to always stay on your toes when put in a tough situation and to work problems out verbally not just to act out without thinking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great story and wonderful moral to the story ! i recommend everyone take the time to read this great book !

    Man, without the rules of civilized people, becomes a beast, a savage, an animal himself. The "Lord of the Flies" by William Golding describes young boys who are deserted on an island and how they gradually lose their innocence of the moral ethics society teaches us and become savages.

    William Golding believes that savagery lives in mankind, but needs the proper situation to come out and cause the transformation. He shows that the beast lies within each boy and represents the evil which dwells inside humanity.In the beginning the boys were trying to organize an assembly which could keep things in order. The first plan was to keep smoke from a fire going so that they would be rescued. But without adult supervision, rules of obedience and order were easily broken which was greatly demonstrated, especially by Jack who let the fire go out and only thought about hunting and killing pigs:

    "Look! We've killed a pig-we stole up on them-we got in a circle"

    "The pig squealed"

    "There was lashings of blood," said Jack, laughing and shuddering, "you should have seen it!" (Golding pg. 67,69)

    " In Lord of the Flies, Jack was driven by his innate sense of survival and was able to dominate over the other children. This allowed Jack to become the master and controller of the others. Ralph, Simon and Piggy, In order to be rescued they knew that they must keep a fire burning and that the smoke signals were their only chance of rescue. These boys weren't easily persuaded into the domination of Jack. They wanted rules and order and wanted to act like how adults would act if they were left in same situation.

    This aggressive and barbaric behavior of the children had killed Simon. "Aggression is a behavioral characteristic that refers to forceful actions or procedures (such a deliberate attack) with intentions to dominate or master. It tends to be hostile, injurious, or destructive, and is often motivated by frustration." (The Merriam-Webster Dictionary, 1995). This is shown in Lord of the Flies when Jack and Roger have the taste for blood and the hunger for hunting just like animals do, but now the hunt isn't for pig, but for Ralph:

    "They hate you, Ralph. They're going to do you."

    "They're going to hunt you tomorrow."

    "But why?"

    "I dunno. And Ralph, Jack, the chief, says it will be dangerous"

    "And we got to be careful and throw our spears like a pig." (Golding pg.188)

    Without the empathy and guilt from the killings of Simon and Piggy, the others now felt powerful and in control. There were no rules to worry about; no punishment for savage and barbaric behavior, just the satisfying fulfillment an animal feels after it kills. And because Ralph held strong to his civil and moral character and didn't agree with the barbaric and savage behavior like the other boys, he now became the outcast and now the hunted.

    I think that man is capable of becoming a savage and a beast when he is left in a situation that would allow him to release those deep innate animal instincts which lie deep within each living human being. I believe that the children in Lord of the Flies were more susceptible to releasing the beast from within, beginning with Jack, whose first instinct was to hunt and kill. The fear of a beast on the island forced the others to join Jack's tribe, which is a survival instinct, but for a few, Ralph, Simon a

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    Good book one of the best and grasping books i have ever read and I Read tonnes of books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2007

    Waste of time.

    It is like poems that don't rhyme, and don't make sense. A lot of people think that these poems are incredible, and worth a medal, others realize that they don't actuaully state anything, and add nothing valuable to ones life. The book might have secret 'meanings', and 'symbolism', but in reality, what stops me from thinking it was just another normal book, and the author had no intention of making reference to these 'beyond comprehension symbols'? A group of stranded boys tries to survive in an island. They kill a pig, beat a kid to death, and slam another with a boulder, which ultimately killed that kid also. They try to kill another kid, but a ship comes and saves the children. I know kids that are afreaid to kill a roach, so unless these were juveniles, I don't see how a kid who is the leader of a choir would have 2 kids killed. I must admit, I don't know any choir leaders that... I just highly doubt the entire scenerio, because comparing humans and evil to bees and honey, (as Golding remarked after his war experience) doesn't seem like a fair comparison.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2007

    Interesting Book

    The book was great, i would recommend this book any one just because i was so inerested in the story. Im not a big fan of reading but this book changes my opinion. I think the book teaches a great lesson in survival, war and betrayal. Free from the rules that adult society imposed on them. When the boys are stranded on the island they struggle with the conflicting human instinctd that exist in each of the boys. This is a great example of good vs evil but with surviving the elements of the island thrown in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2007

    Lord of the flies

    A bunch of kids that were in a plane crash ended up on an island do to war. They were not sure what would happen to them. Especially when their families all thought they were dead. 'Lord of flies' written by William Golding is an amazing book. The main characters of the book are Ralph, Piggy, Jack, and Simon, and others who were stranded on the island with out any adults to take care of them and supervise them. So they voted on some one to become chief and that¿s when Ralph was called upon and took the spot of being chief. But together they all have to help each other to survive. However, though jack trys to find away to over throw Ralph by telling the kids stuff that they want to hear. But will something else go wrong? Yes something does go wrong that¿s when a mysterious beast appears on the islands and splits them up in two to groups that end up hating each other. But when one of the kids Simon was out in the forest the kids thought it was the beast so they went after the beast and jumped on him and tore him apart with their teeth and pig bones. But once they had murdered him they then realized it was Simon. The kid¿s probably felt guilty and ashamed after murdering one of kids. But this didn¿t stop them from fighting their way off the island and getting rid of the beast. The only thing they could do is to work even harder and to stop fighting and just get along. Do you think they will make it out alive? Well in order to find out you have to read the book. Some may think this book is horrible, but I thought it was an outstanding book to read. And I do recommend it to kids and adults if you like books about people having to survive or plane crashes? But if you don¿t like violence then I suggest not to read it. The author sends out a lot of messages into the book like what is happening or how they feel. When reading it you may feel like you are there on the island with them. My favorite part of book is when the mysterious beast comes along and they don¿t know what to do. The author, William Golding, did an excellent job putting out details, themes and morals throughout the novel. The way he presented the numerous themes and morels that give the reader something to think about was done perfectly. I think a lot of kids should read this book to feel the theme and moral truly through out the book. When reading a book about what young kids had to go through to survive made it kind of seem real to me but that¿s just my point of view from when I read it. I think Golding is an excellent writer and he has a lot to say in his books about how society holds everyone together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2006

    Lord of the Flies

    The book Lord Of The Flies is a thought provoking book by William Golding, published in 1954. I think the novel should be read by every kid my age. The book is priceless to me. The book describes in great detail the horrific events that occur to a group of children, all male, that have to adjust to a life style of being barbaric from the civilized world, for if they don't, they won't survive. William did an excellent job putting out these themes and morals throughout the novel. The way he presented the numerous themes and morels that give the reader something to think about was done perfectly. What basically happened was a plane filled with the kids was shot down during a war that was going on in the outside world, and through the rest of the book, everyone will be isolated from it and put into their own world. Their own world is the island which they luckily crashed on. The young kids have to work together in order to survive. In the world with no adults, the kids have a life with no rules, but that wouldn't work. So, the first thing they all did was elect a chief, which became one of the main characters, Ralph. The first person Ralph meets that becomes a good friend later in the book, was piggy. Ralph and piggy together represent the struggle for order and democracy, which is very important within the island. Then there is Jack, the red head that eventually overthrows Ralph as chief with his way of telling the kids what they want to hear. There are many other boys on the island, such as Simon, Roger, and Sam and Eric, who are twins. They are all important main characters too. There is also the littl'uns, which are a bunch of small boys, ages ranging from 6 to 7 years of age, that just run around and play. What I think the author, William Golding, was trying to say through this book is that society holds everyone together, and without these conditions, our ideals, values, and the basics of right and wrong are lost. Without society's rigid rules, anarchy and savagery can come to light. Also, without civilization, people will abuse power when it's not earned, when given a chance people often single out others to degrade to improve their own selves, and most importantly for this book, it's better to examine the consequences of a decision before you make it than to find out afterward. I think the book Lord Of The Flies was The author, William Golding, did an excellent job putting out these themes and morals throughout the novel. The way he presented the numerous themes and morels that give the reader something to think about was done perfectly. I think all kids my age should read this book to understand what the theme and such truly mean.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2006

    Who is the Lord of the Flies?

    Ralph looked for other survivors of the plane wreck. He sees other survivors, that don¿t yet know what will happen to them. The Lord of the Flies, written by William Golding is an extraordinary book. The main characters, Ralph, Piggy, Jack, and Simon, are survivors of a plane crash that left them stranded on an island without any adults. Together they must fight to survive on the island and keep everyone else calm. The only problem is that there¿s a beast that doesn¿t want them to survive. It makes the kids think different of their leader, Ralph, and split into two groups who hate each other. Also, mysterious character appears. William Golding¿s Lord of the Flies is an excellent and exciding book. Lord of the Flies is an intriguing book. In my opinion, it¿s one of the best books I¿ve read. I enjoyed reading it throughout the book. The author sends messages throughout the book such as how the characters feel or what¿s happening. You can also relate to the book in many ways such as feelings that the characters feel. In the book you can feel like your there. The description that the author uses is brilliant, such as when they crashed and Ralph was looking around. You can imagine all the sand and how the sky looks. In my opinion Lord of the Flies is an outstanding book. Lord of the Flies is an amazing book. I recommend this book to people who are interested in books about plane crashes and people stranded. I would because they get stranded on an island, without and adults, and cannot escape. People who are older should read this book too. This book contains some harder vocabulary and violence. Also, if a younger person read it they might think violence would be okay. William Golding¿s Lord of the Flies is a marvelous book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2005

    10th grader

    I found a list of books that Im supposed to read before Im out of highschool and I have to say this is the worst book I have ever read....it was disgusting and very stupid...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2004

    One of the best!

    I was actually in 8th grade the year that I read this on my own. I don't know how anyone could say it was terrible because this book was incredible detailed and enthralling. I loved the symbolism and great plot along with the great ending. Anyone who is halfway mature or intellectual will greatly enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2004

    Ignorance

    Those who say this book is boring or terrible are rather ignorant. This book contains brillaint themes and symbols that necessitates thought in order to comprehend, and those who are aloof to these themes should still be reading James and the Giant Peach. This is an excellent book recommended to mature individuals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2004

    Couldn't put it down!

    I absolutely loved this book! I read it for 12th grade honors english and enjoyed it- it was by far the best book I have read in highschool. When I finished it the first time, I picked it up again and read it a second time before I had to hand it in. I highly reccommend Lord of the Flies if you are interested in symbolism, originality, and even disturbancy. The characters were intense and complex which made for an outstanding work of literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2004

    Very in depth

    This book goes into much detail and is a little tricky to get at times, but it is overall and amazing story. Golding really shows how man can be born innately evil and can be easily corrupted if given the chance. If you read this book, you'll see how a group of boys gets marooned on the island but soon start to become consumed by a manifesting evil deep inside of them. A true classic and a serious page turner! To understand it's true meaning you have to be at least in the 10th grade and in an advanced english course. I noticed some of the other critics said they were in 9th grade and even though it is just a year younger, they clearly don't have the mental capacity it takes to read such a brilliant book. I definitely recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2004

    beware

    i read this for ninth grade english also, the first half of the book was about nothing, it took me the whole summer to get through it. when i did get through it, i had gotten nothing from it. it is by far the worst book i've ever laid my hands on. there were 2 pages that were kinda good, and those were toward the end when some people die, but i might have liked it because i knew the book was finally coming to an end! i do NOT recommend this boring book. classic or no classic, it was terrible!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2004

    a reader

    I had to read this one for 9th grade English. This is about English schoolboys marooned on a desert island and turned into evils. Please do not read. It's so boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2003

    I can't believe I actually read 200 pages

    How can it be a page turner?? I read this for 9th grade language arts..how can I put this..BORING!!! Kids turn evil..having intense hatred against eachother and ending up being savages. I had to pull myself together in order to finish this book. It was highly disturbing and confusing. Golding uses too many symbols for his book.god what is the beast?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2003

    my favorite part

    My favorite part of Lord of the Flies when Simon was murdered by his companions. Simon came out of the forest and into the tribal gathering. His companions thought he was the beast. They jumped on his and tore him apart with their teeth and pig bones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2003

    Horrendous

    I had to read this book for 10th grade honors English, and it was not only badly written, but the story was horrendous as well. Sure, if it had been well written, the descriptions not something that an 8th grader is capable of, it may have turned out nice. However, as it is, I recommend not reading this book. You will become depressed, and if it is depression you're looking for read 1984, which leaves you depressed but definately something to think about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2003

    It Really Does Keep You Involed!

    This book is so interesting! I couldn't stop reading it! I usely dont read books becuase i think there boring, but this one was awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2003

    Disturbing, Demenrted, Disgusting, Just plain DUMB

    I had to read this book fro ninth grade english and what can I say..... hmmm..... I couldnt help but wonder what the critics that raved about this book were on when they read it. This book has a quite disturbing and unbelievable poltline with biblical ties that are in my opinion border line blasphamey! If forced to read this book do get out of it at all costs!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2