BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Lord of the Flies Centenary Edition

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

This novel is truly one of the classics. It's no wonder William

This novel is truly one of the classics. It's no wonder William Golding won the Nobel Prize for literature. This story tells us a great deal about how we can react and change in a survival situation. It also reminds us of something about children. They can be just as vi...
This novel is truly one of the classics. It's no wonder William Golding won the Nobel Prize for literature. This story tells us a great deal about how we can react and change in a survival situation. It also reminds us of something about children. They can be just as vicious as any adult. It all depends on how desperate the situation is. The tale could be a reality very easily.

posted by Damon_M_Bohley on June 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Disgusting and discriptive

Way to vivid. Oiggy dies by a bolder hitting him, falls onto rocks and blood and brains go everwhere. Simon gets beaten to death and stabbed to death. And pig heads r bloody and stuck on a stick anf worshiped dont read!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on March 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Easily one of my most favorite novels of all time. There's so mu

    Easily one of my most favorite novels of all time. There's so much to discect, and the dark humor is appealing to many ages (the sexual metaphors, not so much). Just absolutely brilliant.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    A definate must have for those 16 and up

    Im not a big fan of sitting still and getting through a book but this is a must have for both your digital and physical world libraries. We read this in my senior english lit class and ead it again 20 years later and it was just as amazing to read now as it was then. Think of it as Lost meets Hunger Games. It is definately a pg-13 read so dont let the younger ones get into it as it does get quite graphic and a little disturbing,but its a fun book to try and put yourself into,what character do you think you would have been like and or what would you have done? Its one of those books even a person like me that hates reading cant put down.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    What an amazing book

    This is a good book for those who like to read or want a bigger challenge in reading.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    Phenomenal work! I wish I had read it sooner.

    Clear and creative and unique are good ways to describe Golding's writing, and King's introduction wets the taste buds for the twists, turns, and intensity coming one's way, as the book is read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Yes for 1st review

    This is about the movie but the only thing that's diff is that Stephen King,an author, made an intro. Does that answer ur question?

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2014

    Altime 10

    Has to be in my all time top ten best books. You cant beat the classics. So much symbolism. PIGGY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    Question

    What happens in the book what is it all about because i am a reader that is at a college reading levle in sixth grade and i want to know if its a good book because a lot of books compare to this aparently and i want to know if im interested and all i can find besides this are notes on it and i dont want to pay the 2.99 for it. And the summary on this book tells me nothing on what its about so can some people explain what its about because im confused what it is about. If you will tell me please respond to me as organ777

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Amazing

    This is a great novel!! I ha to read it in a class because i was working ahead but this is amazing slow at first but it get so good and twisted you wont expect what will happen!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Hey there Freshman in highschool ;D

    Hey there. :D You are so descirptive.
    You: "and im a freshman in highschool..."
    Heh you amuse me sir. :P

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Cool

    My class is reading it and i'm a freshman in highschool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    To abby

    Yes read it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    I found this book really good! Its use of imagery is very vivid.

    I found this book really good! Its use of imagery is very vivid. It was amazing to see how all the boys worked together but as time went on
    things started not to work out between them. Very good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Should i?

    My social studies teacher recommended it. Is it a good read? - respond to Abby

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    2/12/12 Fly Trapped Lord Of The Flies By: William Golding Pgs. 2

    2/12/12
    Fly Trapped
    Lord Of The Flies
    By: William Golding
    Pgs. 203, Penguin Group, $9.99 (Young Adult; Age 14 and up)
    Teenage boys don’t normally like to read, but they should take up the opportunity to read ‘Lord of the Flies’ by William Golding. I am not an avid reader, but I found it hard to put the book down once I started reading. The book could fall in the genre of action or drama. The story is intriguing because; Lord of the Flies shows how at first a place can be considered a utopia, but after a while, it can reveal itself to be a dystopia.
    Lord of the Flies starts off with a plane crash that leaves a group of boys stranded on an island. The island contains rocks, cliffs, steep slopes, and a castle. The island is also in the shape of a boat. There are no adults on the island, so at first the boys find it awesome because there are no rules. Then the boys realize they need to have some rules, so the boys chose Ralph to be the chief. As they spend more time on the island, a boy named Jack starts to feel animosity towards Ralph because Ralph is in charge and got to make the rules. Jack says, “Bullock to the rules!” (90). Jack thinks hunting is most important while Ralph thinks keeping the signal fire going is more important than hunting. Jack ignored his duties to go hunt which upsets Ralph to where he explodes and says, “You said you’d keep the fire going and you let it out!” (70). Then, Jack and Ralph split up because they couldn’t agree on what was the most important and because of the animosity between them, which made the younger boys have to decide who to join. This is the end of the unity between the boys, and they spilt into rival tribes which begins the descent into chaos.
    Lord of the Flies is written from an omniscient 3rd person perspective, which means that the story is told from a narrator instead of somebody on the island. That was the best possible way Golding could have written the book because it allows the reader to understand and learn the character’s thoughts. You can make predictions about what will happen later on in the book by looking at what the characters are thinking.
    An important symbol in Lord of the Flies is the Lord of the Flies. The Lord of the Flies is a head of a pig that Jack and the hunter’s had killed and were using as a sacrifice to the “beast” (137). The Lord of the Flies shows all of the evil on the island. The Lord of the Flies is the main reason Simon ended up dying because, had Simon not seen the Lord of the Flies, he wouldn’t have been bleeding so the boys wouldn’t have thought he was the beast when they saw him come back from to the group (154).
    The author used a lot of great descriptions while writing the book, but the best technique he used was how he developed the characters. There are three main characters on the island, and they are Ralph, Jack, and Piggy. Ralph is the one boy on the island that most of the boys look up to, but slowly the boys begin to dislike Ralph and to disobey him. Jack is the one who goes against Ralph because he is power hungry and wants to hunt all the time. Piggy is arguably the most important character because Ralph stands up for him when Jack bullies him, which shows that Ralph is caring while Jack is rude, and Piggy is the mother figure on the island.
    The theme of Lord of the Flies is you have to work together as a team to succeed. This is the theme and the main conflict. This is a theme because if Jack was following the rules of the leader and working on the fire, then they could have potentially been off the island. The ship was in the ocean and could have possibly seen the signal fire, but Jack went hunting and left the fire unattended to, so the fire went out.
    Overall, this is a phenomenal book that should be read by every young adult. The movie doesn’t do justice to the book, so if you want to really be able to appreciate the story, then you should read the book and not just watch the movie. The story is intriguing because, Lord of the Flies shows how a place can be a dream at first, but can then shwos itself as a dystopia.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2