Customer Reviews for

The Lord of the Rings

Average Rating 4.5
( 2085 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1753)

4 Star

(167)

3 Star

(82)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(54)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

493 out of 502 people found this review helpful.

All three books in one

Since others were asking, it is all three books in one.

posted by werewolfgirl on March 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Falsely advertised

Does not include all three books. So if youre looking for that dont buy. On the plus side they will refund your money. They should really fix it so that you know youre only buyimg volume one.

posted by 371484 on September 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Falsely advertised

    Does not include all three books. So if youre looking for that dont buy. On the plus side they will refund your money. They should really fix it so that you know youre only buyimg volume one.

    8 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2003

    Leatherette?

    Of course, the Lord of the Rings is a great story. But, we are reviewing this item. I ordered this item for my nephew for Christmas. At that time, it was listed as 'Leather'. Now, it is 'leatherette'. Did I give my nephew fake leather? I feel ripped off and disappointed that my gift was not a quality that I thought it was.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Good

    Good

    2 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2006

    Abridged. Very abridged.

    All 6 books are percolated down to only 12 cassettes, and the voices of the hobbits are silly, goofy and annoyingly childish. The entire story is horribly truncated and misrepresented. I'm astonished the producers are even allowed to call it 'Lord of the Rings'. If you want nothing but an overview of the story (while missing out of most of the subplots and all of the history of Middle-Earth) and you don't mind very annoying voices, by all means buy this. If you care at all about Tolkien's LotR (or Jackson's for that matter), don't touch this.

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2004

    WONDERFUL BOOK, TERRIBLE AUDIOBOOK

    I loved the book, but this is not an audiobook, they don't read the story, they act it out. It was a waste of money. If I were you, I would buy the actual audiobook and stay away from this! Some parts make you just want to gag they're so terrible: Like the voice of Gollum (its sickening). It just turns a masterpiece into something that should be burned! Better off just reading the books or seeing the wonderful movies from director Peter Jackson!

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Anonymous

    Honestly, this has got to be one of the worst books I have ever read

    1 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Im not rating

    Hell no

    1 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    So, before I irretrievably spend my money on this Nook book, is

    So, before I irretrievably spend my money on this Nook book, is this the complete trilogy?? or just the first book? It would be nice if the B&N description was useful.....

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2004

    This is NOT an unabridged reading of the Fellowship of the Ring

    The editors have attached the wrong comments & review to this set of CD's. It is a BBC dramatization, very entertaining but NOT an unabridged reading of the Fellowship of the Ring. It is a highly abridged version of the entire Lord of the Rings trilogy.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2001

    Ouch!

    I'm with the majority here. I read LOTR as a kid and was looking forward to reexperiencing it during my daily commutes. Either I was an easily impressed youth, or this performance is just awful. I hope the latter is more the case. I wish I'd seen these reviews before punishing myself with these disks. The 'acting' (if you want to call it that) is painful, especially the most important character (Frodo)! This sounded like a bunch of guys who decided one weekend to read the book to each other in their garage. The 'action' wasn't explained by narration, and you have to guess what's happening by the lame sound effects most of the time. Voices are muffled and often hard to understand. Sorry, try again!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2001

    Don't get this one!

    I really disliked this audio series. The narrator was often non-existant and did not help me understand the settting. I got lost in the story and was often confused about who was talking. One really annoying problem was that the characters were often wispering one minute and the there was loud, blaring music and screaming the next minute! It made it impossible to listen to because of the extreme volume changes. Half the time I could not hear what they said. The other half they are screaming, singing and fighting. Very strange and disappointing.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2000

    Do not on any account buy this version!!

    This version is the worst mockery of the Lord of the Rings ever. The voices are terrible, the scenes used pathetic and the reccording terrible!! If you want to listen to the Lord of the Rings, then get either the CD version from the BDD (Bantam Doubleday Dell company) ISBN: 0553456539 or the cassette version by the BBC. Please do not get this or you will be dissapointed. Ihave listened to both versions, because I bought this one by mistake. I brought it back the next day, because it is so awful. I even regret giving it one star, since it doesn't deserve even that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    to dr who

    YOU ARE RIGHT! LOTR IS NEGETIVIE INFINITY STARS!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Worst book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :(:(:(:(

    Hi!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    What

    WHO THE HECK IS BOB "!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?"

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Im writing a book like lord of the rings

    Im writing a chapter book like lord of the rings. It has wizards dwarves and stuff like that. It starts off with this greedy dwarf king whobfinds this stone and names in the adriel stone known for its beauty. The stone sight reads. WHen the king looked into the stone he saw death because he was so greedy. He started aging quickly and crumbled to dust. Then his servant mencedren saw him die and couldnt resist the stone beauty and looked into the stone. He mistook and questioned the power of the stone and turned into a skinny miserable creature like gollum. He dropped the stone seeing his reflection with the peices of the stone shattering everywhere. The evoluttion of thw dwarves wa lost. There is more to the story. I still have not finished.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    I'm a HUGE Doctor Who fan...

    And Doctor Who is like 100000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000
    0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 times better than the lord of the rings. Who wants a stupid war with stupid bows and arrows and swords and only thretening middle earth, when you can have an awsome time traveling adventure that invvolves the fate of the universe at hand!??!

    0 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Sto-

    Stupid

    0 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Fgcggty

    Ggggt

    0 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Suckish

    Poop it sucks butt hole it is f*ckish

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3