Customer Reviews for

The Lord of the Rings

Average Rating 4.5
( 2026 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1705)

4 Star

(160)

3 Star

(77)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(54)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

437 out of 445 people found this review helpful.

All three books in one

Since others were asking, it is all three books in one.

posted by werewolfgirl on March 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Falsely advertised

Does not include all three books. So if youre looking for that dont buy. On the plus side they will refund your money. They should really fix it so that you know youre only buyimg volume one.

posted by 371484 on September 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    50th Anniversary Edition: Buyer Beware

    This review is in specific reference to the single volume 50th Anniversary Edition of LOTR (ISBN-13: 97806185176570). First, let me just say, what a disappointment! Even if I had only paid half what I did, I would still be disappointed. The quality and finish are so poor, that upon opening, I instantly regretted purchasing it. Unfortunately, because it is shrink wrapped, the substandard quality is not apparent until after you have removed it from its packaging. It is hardly coincidental that once the shrink wrap is broken, so, too, is any chance for a refund. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt should be ashamed of producing such a shoddy book and then having the nerve to refer to this disgraceful edition as the 50th Anniversary Edition. The 50th anniversary is known as the golden anniversary. Rather than give us gold, they spray-painted a rock gold and didn't even bother to pick it up to paint the bottom.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Any body want to have sex?

    Write a sex story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    V

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    To shan

    Psst.. dumbass... if youre trying to not be seen dont post

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    P.S....

    I love the movie .the book is... ............................

    MY PREACICE!







    GIRLS DO NOT READ.Stay out .no girls allowed..........................

    Boys do you like blood,monsters,gollems,trees that fight,and alot more?If you do this is the book for you, just like me.




    DO NOT READ BOYS!BOYS STAY OUT!

    GIRLS IF YOU HATE BLOOD, WARS,GOLLEMS AND STUFF LIKE THAT DO NOT R EAD THIS BOOK!!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Not very good quality

    This book was very good, but was a waste of money for me because whenever I try to read it now, the screen goes all black and it doesn't work. I don't know if it has better quality on your guys' Nooks or what, but on mine it's a waste of time and batteries to try to read this. Hope it works for you! :D

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Puts me to sleep!

    After having seen and loved the movies (I can never pass one up on TV when I'm flipping through channels), I find the book to be supefyingly boring. Wordy in the extreme, sometimes almost juvenile in its prose, I can only read a few pages at a time before the need for a nap overcomes me. I will keep slogging through - just to say I've done it, but I won't ever read it again. I'm really glad I saw the movies first, because, after reading the book, I doubt if I would have been interested at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    test

    test

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Bah

    So, sadly, now as the LotR fanners are glaring at me:<BR/><BR/>I loved the movies more.

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2005

    How is this stuff so great

    These books are really boring. I had to force myself to finish them. The were so boring. AHGHHHHHHHHHHHHH

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2004

    In a word......... HORRENDOUS!!

    I'm a huge LOTR Fan! I read and collect everything LOTR. I have seen the movies many times and have read the books as well. I was looking for away to pass time on my long drive to work everyday and loving the Lord of the Ring as I do... this seemed like a wonderful way to have my cake and eat it to (If you know what I mean). I was so dissatisfied with this version that I couldn't bare to listen past the first disc. If you love the books or even Peter Jackson's version of LOTR I wouldn't recommend you buying this. It's a lot of money to spend on a poorly done version of a great story. It doesn't follow the story line of the book and has cheesy sound affects and character voices. I'll just wait for the day that the cast of the Peter Jackson trilogy to make an audio book thats unabridged (one can hope).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2004

    The Bible of the Alt. Universe

    THis is a book with words to smll that gives me a headache everytime i read t. Other books don't I guess it ian't too bad reading the bible of the alternative universe like some have said i think it is the bible for the alts.like all bibles boring!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2