Customer Reviews for

The Lord of the Rings

Average Rating 4.5
( 2026 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1704)

4 Star

(161)

3 Star

(78)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(54)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

441 out of 449 people found this review helpful.

All three books in one

Since others were asking, it is all three books in one.

posted by werewolfgirl on March 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Falsely advertised

Does not include all three books. So if youre looking for that dont buy. On the plus side they will refund your money. They should really fix it so that you know youre only buyimg volume one.

posted by 371484 on September 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Book is Muccch better

    Started out a fan of the movies, but I love this trilogy of books way more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    No Illustrations!

    This is a lovely -- and expensive -- box set of the fabulous trilogy, but disappointingly, there are no illustrations. Other versions, comparably priced, have lovely illustrated plates. There is a map in the back cover, but for the price, I would expect something nicer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Is there a fan fic person here?

    If so then say so...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    Hey!!!

    Who wood reed thiss buuk???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Creepypasta

    Once there was banana. He was a yellow banana. The end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Eden

    Not for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Sadly undewhelmed

    I will never understand why this story is so highly acclaimed. I liked some of the characters, namely Gandalf and Gollum, but the story itself just drags on forever. The movies are the same. The ideas in the story have great potential, but overall the writing is just boring. The Hobbit, on the other hand, is brilliant. I realize that The Hobbit is written at a younger level, but in this case that is a good thing. At least that book gets to the frigging point!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Review

    Good storyline but very slow moving. The climax was way to short, took to long to occur, and then did not sastify. Ignoring all the faults there is an undeniable magic to these books, which I believe made them the classics they are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2013

    slow moving but good books

    slow moving but good books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    STUPID FAT HOBBITSES

    Why does it cry?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Spoiler alert!

    Gandalf falls off the bridge yelling to the bal'rock, you shall not pass!!! Then he becomes Gandalf the white insteqd of Gandalf the gray.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    #15

    GOD SORRY! People might want to chat withothers like me i would love to chat with someone!! :3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Is it a comic !?

    Plz aneser

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    This is awesome

    ILoVe These bOoKs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    READ THIS!!!

    YOUR MOMS FACE!!!!!!!!!

    derp

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Y

    Rgdkhfrffffffffgffffffruuuuuuuuuuuuucccccccccfuq

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    People

    A new movie titled the hobbit comes out in theaters this christmas!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Great book

    I herd its a great book and ther movies are great too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Should i read?

    Im 12 should i read this

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Worth it if you're super dedicated

    I read The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings, and watched Peter Jackson's The Lord of the Rings trilogy for a fiction class at Crafton Hill College. As part of the class I would like to both review the books and compare Tolkien's novels to their modern screen adaptation. While I do think that The Hobbit is a charming fantasy story that readers of all ages can enjoy, I cannot say the same for The Lord of the Rings. I feel that Tolkien was writing for the wrong generation of readers. Though the Lord of the Rings is broken up into three novels, the story is overall still too long winded. Too much of the story is focused simply on some character or another wandering through the woods. I understand that it is basically the story of a journey, but it is boring. Sure, if this was 1800 and a proper novel was massive by today's standards then The Lord of the Rings might have fit in perfectly, but it isn't 1800, and it wasn't 1800 in 1960 either. Contemporary novels as a general rule are shorter and The Lord of the Rings would likely be more relevant to modern readers if it were trimmed down. The Lord of the Rings does have a huge fan base as novels and the books in many ways shaped much of today's fantasy genre, so if you are still looking to experience The Lord of the Rings there is always the more accessible way, the movies. In places the movies do in diverge from the books (which is to be expected), but all of the changes do not detract from Tolkien's original story. If anything the movies are more to the point, faster paced, and more enjoyable than the novels. Don't think I'm simply saying that the newer generations are lazy and that movies are more enjoyable than books because they are "less work," I just don't feel like the length of The Lord of the Rings was necessary. Unless you are a very dedicated reader I would not recommend buying The Lord of the Rings; the books might just end up sitting on your shelf gathering dust. I would, however, recommend reading The Hobbit and watching The Lord of the Rings trilogy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4