Customer Reviews for

The Lord of the Rings

Average Rating 4.5
( 2039 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1714)

4 Star

(164)

3 Star

(78)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(54)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

452 out of 461 people found this review helpful.

All three books in one

Since others were asking, it is all three books in one.

posted by werewolfgirl on March 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Falsely advertised

Does not include all three books. So if youre looking for that dont buy. On the plus side they will refund your money. They should really fix it so that you know youre only buyimg volume one.

posted by 371484 on September 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2006

    What I really need from a review

    Folks, What I'm really looking for in a review here is your opinion of this particular printing of the books, not your opinion of the story. Is is worth $52 for this edition? What is the quality of the paper, print, maps, illustrations, etc. This work is pretty well known these days so I don't need another review of the story.

    23 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    Recommend highly

    I've enjoyed these books for years in printed form. These are a replacement for loaned and never returned books, it is a joy to read them on my Nookcolor.

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Just starting out

    My eight year old grand daughter and I are reading this together. She is in Fairfax VA and I'm in Houston and we read together using SKYPE. We're less than 100 pages in but we're both enjoying it immensely. I can't believe that I never read this as a child - it is the kind of book I would have loved.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Great story and good ebook

    I love the story and have the printed book, but I wanted a version I could easily take with me so I purchased the Ebook. So far I haven't seen any typos, which seem to crop up quite a bit in ebooks, paid and free (mostly in the free ones, however). I am disappointed in how the links to footnotes and such are handled. I would have preferred to have the footnotes be on the same page as the text (as is done in the printed work) rather than placed at the end of the ebook. It leads to a lot of skipping around. I have read LOTR a few times, so I know what the footnotes are about and it isn't a problem for me, but might be for someone reading the book for the first time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Exciting

    I bought this book for an English course. I haven't actually started reading it since it's for the end of the semester but I am excited to start because I hear wonderful reviews from lots of my peers and close friends. I guess I should have read the Lord of the Rings trilogy way back in middle or high school haha!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    The Lord of the Rings are great epic fantasy masterpieces.

    The Lord of the Rings are great. If you like a good fantasy this is the best book out there. The one probelm with it is the way it is written. Most of the time Tolkien wrote great, but in other parts he drags out descriptions or encounters that are not needed. These encounters really drag out the story. In the end these are the best fantasy books ever, in my opion. They pack an epic story, beliveable characters, interesting places, and good writing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2014

    Want a free ipad

    Kiss your hand three times and pist this book check three times then look under your pillow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    My character bio

    Name-aiden looks-black hair blue eyes muscular wears nike and jordons. My mom is hecate and my weapon is a spear

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    very good

    very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    A

    A

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Rings

    Asume

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Great book

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Jack

    "Not for me."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    It happens happly ever after

    Bilboe gandolf arogorn legolas and sam pippin and mary go on a aventure and defind there selfes with only daggers and not so sharp sorwds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    To "slow moving but good books"

    I jear ya. Ive been trying to finish return of the king forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Great story

    This is such a wonderful book! Yes, it gets alittle too into detail sometimes about the trees/forests etc causing me to take a long time to finish it but Im so glad I did! If you like the extended editions of the movies, this book is for you! Theres so much more to the story line they couldnt add it all to the movies, this is a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    It's okay

    Maybe this is one of those books that people read when they are young and still love as they grow older. However, as an adult that has read many books I couldn't put down, this is not one of them. The story line and characters are good but there are so many parts where they just sit around talking about the ring that it makes it hard to get through. At times I don't even want to pick it back up even though I still want to find out what happens (as I haven't read it before or seen the movies). I did read the hobbit first and found it much easier to get through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    J.R.R Tolkin

    It is a good set of books.I guarantee you willn't regret buying this set.The details of J.R.R Tolkin's creations is amazing.The journey the series sends you on will keep you reading.I'm only nine (going on ten) and I love the books.














    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Hi

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Does this have all the books?

    Does this have all of the books except The Hobbit ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9