BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Lord of the Rings Trilogy Gift Set

Average Rating 5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2002

    Best Read Aloud

    Bob Inglis is the best for reading the Lord of the Rings aloud (although James Earl Jones would be cool also). Are you reading this series to your children or going on a long drive? This set is a must purchase! My voice gave out and I'm thankful for the back up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2002

    The best thing I've ever bought

    This is great for people who find it hard to read. I've tried to read the Book 'Lord of the Rings' and failed but this Cd set has opened the Tolkien world up to me. Also the great thing is it's 52 hours long, which means your money is well spent. I would recommend this to anyone, it's excellent

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Tolkien is Hobbit Forming!

    In 1967 I was introduced to The Hobbit. Halfway through that book I knew I had to find The Lord of the Rings. I soon found myself drawn into the realm of Middle Earth with all its intricacies. Since that first reading I have re-read the books a number of times. Through the years I have collected several "dramatized" versions of this timeless classic. I have always looked for, but was unable to find, an unabridged rendition of the books until now. Bob Inglis' masterful reading makes each character spring to life as your imagination is stirred with colorful images of the unfolding war of the ring. This is a must for all fans of J.R.R. Tolkien.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2007

    Lord of the Rings Review

    I have been reading these books over and over for 30 years. I like Tolkien's books better than any books I've ever read in my life. Mr. Inglis, while he gets a lot right, doesn't have the emotional attachment to the story that I do. At some parts, especially the really good parts, I am disappointed with how he misses the gravity of the situation, and reads it like it is any other part of the book. Also, during Pippin's oath to Lord Denethor of Minis Tirith, he reads Denethor's part of the oath in Pippin's voice, kind of taking me out of the story. It's kind of like getting splashed unexpectedly with cold water when sunbathing. However, he gets Gollum so right that it is scary. I don't like the way he gives Merry and Pippin the poorer dialect. They should both be posh, like Frodo and Bilbo. He could do better on Gandalf's voice as well. But the story is amazing, and to hear it unabridged is very wonderful. I recommend it, though I can think of other people who might read it better. Wouldn't Sean Connery be excellent?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A great epic

    I can say enough about this series. I love everyone of this book and the many characters in it. Elves... I love Tolkien elves... They are the most awesome race and a very uplifting people. Their beauty and characteristic are of nobles heroes. The places and their description are mystical. The kings and kingdoms are written in an awesome way. I highly recommend all Tolkien books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1