Customer Reviews for

Lord of the Shadows (Cirque Du Freak Series #11)

Average Rating 4.5
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    Excellent page turner with great twists

    Darren Shan is a vampire prince who at the time is traveling with a "freak show", the show has stopped in Darren's hometown and it brings him nothing but trouble. Several years ago, Darren faked his death to join the show so he cannot interact with his childhood friends without ruining destiny. Unfortunately, one of Darren's friends, a world famous goalkeeper, stops at the show and meets Darren. When he invites Darren to his game, a mass murder breaks out. Darren chases after the killers then is shot by their leader's son, and eventually rescued. Darren is faced with a big decision at the end of the story, will he accept the dare?

    I liked everything about this book, the twisting plot, the psychotic villains, heroic sidekicks, and the detailed setting. My favorite part was the ultimatum at the end of the book between Darren and his archenemy.

    I recommend this book to anyone who likes action books, mystery books, murder novels, or even science fiction. It is a great book for any reading level or interest.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    AWEZOME

    This was so far the best of the series.But, I can not wait to read the last book. : )

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2013

    So, that happened. Series getting crazier it seems but you can't

    So, that happened. Series getting crazier it seems but you can't help but what to know what happens. Guess we have one more book left then? Sad to see it end.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2008

    this is a great book for teens

    In this book darren and his friends have a very exciting aventure they have alot of challengese so are very sad and some are very scary. The book should have more volience and should have more killing in there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2006

    war of the shadows

    The book is the 11th one in the saga of Cirque Du Freak. There are 10 more before this one. So you might want to read the first 10 before this one. It al starts off like this. Darren Shan is a regular 13 year old boy. One night changes it all his whole life will be completely different. He becomes half vampire. The person bloods him is Mr. Crepsly. He has been a vampire for about100years. Not quite that much though. Full vampires can get up too 500 years old. Amazing uh. Well let¿s get to the book. The title is Lords of the Shadows. Darren Shan goes back to his home town. Only to find destruction, sadness, and death. Not to mention shock. Darren will meet old enemies¿ old friends and he will meet his nephew. Annie his sister had a son through the years. That means Darren is an uncle. I liked the book because it will keep you in suspense. Just like the other books do in the saga. It takes a while to pick up the action but when it does you can¿t put the book down. It was hard for me to put any of the books down. I get so into the really good books. At the beginning Darren retells every thing that has happened in the last few years to recap the other books so you don¿t forget what happened in them. To read this book you have to read the first ten. Trust me you will want to because you won¿t get any of this book. You won¿t understand anything of what there talking about. People that would enjoy the like to learn about vampires and ones that like action, suspense, and horror will love these books. Even if you are girl you might like theses books. But mostly boys will like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2006

    Lord of the Shadows

    With the Cirque du Freak Darren arrives at his hometown and finds that everything has changed from his friends to his family. He meets up with his old school friend who dies before his eyes and meets up with Steve who has captured his friend's Evra's son and must make an exchange when he has taken hostage Steve's kid. At the end a starling discovery is revealed leaving you wanting to know what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2006

    Was it that good??

    i have read many of Darren shan's books. It is rather good but it has some loose threads that needed to be tied up, but he failed to do it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2006

    Getting Closer

    I have been an avid reader of this series. All of the books before this one have been great, and this installment was no exception. It was a quick read - I finished it in about six hours - but it was entertaining nonetheless. I can't wait for the final book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2006

    AWESOME!!!

    This book was really good. It was full of suspense and action. You won't want to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2