Customer Reviews for

Lord of the Vampires (Royal House of Shadows Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 246 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(115)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Hot

I have been reading Gena Showalter books ever since Awaken me was released from the Alien series! I enjoyed reading the lord of vampires. it was so hard to put down. A must read for paranormal readers!

posted by evanescenceSE on September 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

More paranormal than romance!

Review by Jen:
I'm a huge fan of Gena Showalter. Her Lords of the Underworld books are on my limited auto-buy list. So, when I saw she was doing a new series with a couple other romance authors, I snagged the book at NetGalley.

The concept of this series is intere...
Review by Jen:
I'm a huge fan of Gena Showalter. Her Lords of the Underworld books are on my limited auto-buy list. So, when I saw she was doing a new series with a couple other romance authors, I snagged the book at NetGalley.

The concept of this series is interesting. There are 4 siblings, children of a royal family. When their parents rule is threatened, their mother, a witch, casts a spell sending her children to the far corners of their realm with no memory of their royal lives. As they age, they have this compulsion of revenge. Each of the books, written by a different author, follow these siblings as they make their way home.

Lord of the Vampires is the first book in the series and follows Nicolai, a vampire, the oldest of the siblings. he's been enslaved and using magic he learned from his mother, he summons Jane to help free him. Jane is all alone in the world and can't figure out the steamy dreams she's been having. And when she's suddenly face to face with the star of those dreams and he's asking for her help, what's a girl to do?

Parts of this story I really enjoyed. I loved Jane. A strong, smart woman who has overcome a lot of adversity and is able to suspend belief and make her way in this magical realm she finds herself in. Nicolai is a little harder to like. He takes the alpha male role to the extreme at times. And I wasn't too keen on his, "after she helps me, I'll ditch her" attitude. Obviously since we're talking about a romance, he gets over that. But the romance aspect was very much overshadowed by the paranormal, borderline horror, story line.

I was left wanting with this book. Gena Showalter is still on my favorite list, but this book didn't help her case. I am however, looking forward to the future books in the series. Up next is Lord of Rage by Jill Monroe.

posted by RtBBlog on July 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great start to a fun and imaginative series...

    The Royal House of Shadows is the brainchild of four bestselling paranormal romance authors, coming together to create a fantasy world for Harlequin's Nocturne series. Each subsequent book is written by a different author and Gena Showalter kicks it off with Lord of the Vampires, the story of Nicolai. Nicolai is the eldest of five royal siblings who are separated after their parents, the king and queen of Elden, have been murdered by the Blood Sorcerer. Each sibling is faced with their own obstacles to overcome, including their loss of memory, in order to be reunited with one another before time runs out and the Blood Sorcerer can't be stopped. Nicolai, after being stripped of his memories, has been taken against his will as a sex slave by witch princesses. His only chance to gain his freedom is by the help of a human scientist, Jane, who he has magically transported into his mystical world for his own gain. What he didn't count on was falling in love with her. I enjoyed Lord of the Vampires very much. Before diving in, I had perused a few reviews on it, most criticizing the book for its brevity. Yes, it was a fairly quick read but I in no way thought it took away from the great story. Nicolai is strong and sensual. You bare witness to his intense internal conflict over his insatiable need for vengeance and his new found desire to make Jane his own. Jane is smart, believably strong throughout and an overall well developed heroine, characteristics I crave in my female leads. I found myself pulling for this couple throughout their journey and hoping that the circumstances surrounding these two was not insurmountable in the long run. The book is at times graphically gruesome, but I myself enjoy the dynamic of gritty action and hot sex. I also think it showcased the excellent range at which Gena can write. The next book, Lord of Rage, penned by Jill Monroe, is the story of the lone female offspring, Breena. Jessica Anderson and Nalini Singh are the authors of the following installments. I would definitely recommend this series. I know I am looking forward to see how the story changes and progresses from author to author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2013

    I just completed this book, and am waiting for the next book in

    I just completed this book, and am waiting for the next book in the series...where is it??? Slow start, but then it became more interesting, I find the idea of transferring magic or absorbing it fascinating. Good job, but where is the next one??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Nice

    Was a good read. Characters were solid, the plot was smooth and didn't make me have to backtrack to try to figure out what in the world is going on. All in all...i really liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    Good read

    This book makes for a good weekend read. The story is different from Ms. Showalter's normal path, but is good just the same. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    Great start to a new series

    Lord of the Vampires is the first book in the ROYAL HOUSE OF SHADOWS series. This series consists of 4 books written by 4 different authors. The second book "Lord of Rage" is written by Jill Monroe, the third book, "Lord of the Wolfyn" is written by Jessica Andersen and the fourth book which concludes the series, "Lord of the Abyss" is written by Nalini Singh.

    The premise of the series is about an evil sorcerer that has killed the king and queen of the magical world of Elden. Before the King and Queen died, they used their combined magic to cast a spell upon their 4 children to save them. The king filled them with a burning need for vengeance; while the queen cast them from the castle to safety.

    "Lord of the Vampires" is about the first born son Nicolai. After his mother's spell whisked him away from the castle he found himself being sold as a sex slave in the world of Delfina. An evil princesses, who also happens to be a witch, bought him and had his memory erased. He has no memory of who he is, but his need for revenge still burns strong inside him. He knows he is more than a slave and is determined to gain his freedom and find out the truth at all cost. Nicolai decides to use his magic and casts a spell to summon Jane to appear in his world to rescue him.

    Jane is scientist that is recovering from a bad car accident that left her body battered and broken. Jane starts having dreams of a sexy man chained in a cage and she feels a deep need that she must help and rescue him. When a mysterious book shows up at her doorstep, and strange things start to happen to her, Jane thinks it's imagination. That is, until she goes to bed one night after reading a phrase from the book and wakes up in a room that is not her own, a land she is not familiar with and people think she is a princess that was thought to be dead.

    I liked this story a lot. I think the storyline is great. The characters were intriguing as well. Nicolai is the typical alpha male Vampire who will stop at nothing to get what he wants. Jane was a strong heroine. Once she decided to trust in Nicolai and help him escape and reclaim Elden, she would stop at nothing to help him.
    I am definitely looking forward to reading the other 3 books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Funny vampire romance

    After a blood sorcerer breaks into the palace and slaughters the king and queen (Nicolai's parent's) he and his 3 other siblings are separated and sent away by a spell cast by their mother with her last dying breath. Poor Nicolai ends up at a slave market and is bought by Princess Odette. In an attempt to escape his situation of being a sex slave, Nicolai sends a magical book to Jane, in which tells the story of his enslavement and begs her to come and rescue him. Jane at first thinks that this is a joke until she gets to the end that says "You, Jane Parker, you are Odette. Come to me, I command you. Save me, I beg you. Please, Jane. I need you." When she goes to bed that night after reading the book she wakes up in another world, where she is thought to be Princess Odette, who everyone thought Nicolai had recently killed. With Jane there, now Nicolai can escape, get his revenge and go back home to take back his rightful place as king.

    I am a fan of Gina's work. She has a great way of developing a world that the reader can envision. The characters in this story were developed really well. After reading about Nicolai's enslavement you felt for him and not only that but you wanted revenge too. Gina did a great job adding new elements into the story as it progressed to keep things interesting and fresh, without making it seem like she was randomly throwing things into the storyline. Everything tied together nicely and in the end you were left with a well crafted story.

    None of the characters in this book were one dimensional. Well, except for the ogres, they were kind of stupid and simple minded but you sort of expect that from an ogre. I don't know if I could believe in an ogre that went to Yale. HaHa. I also liked the dialogue in this story as well. Since Nicolai isn't from Jane's world he doesn't know what cars are or things of that nature. He gets really upset when she tells him how she was in a car accident and tried to explain what that was. He offers to slay this beast called a car. It sort of reminded me of the movie "Enchanted" where the cartoon characters end up in our world and the prince goes from fairy tale land to the middle of NYC and stabs his sword through the top of a bus and shots "The steel beast is dead peasants. I set you all free!" If you have seen the movie you know what I am talking about. That is how Nicolai is when compared to things from our world, which made for fun dialogue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    great book

    great story, steamy scenes. somewhat hokey at times. But, a really good paranormal romance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    One of the best

    Vampire books to date. Sexy, does not quite cover our lead Vampire. Great story line, believable which makes it a page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Beginning was awkward but in the end a good read!

    Nicolai is a vampire, enslaved to two evil witch princesses. He has no memory of what or who he once was only a drive to regain his memories and escape his captors.

    Jane finds things vaguely familiar about the man who begs for her help and the world she's been sucked into via a magic book that ended up on her doorstep. All she knows is that she's strangely attracted to him and he to her.

    The longer they are on the run, the more of Nicolai's memory returns and with it, he finds time is running out.

    Right off the bat, I'm going to warn those that can't handle a lot of heavy sex scenes. This book was really hot and heavy as far as those go. I was okay with it as I read erotica and things like The Black Dagger Brotherhood series. Although, I do like to have a little more story than sex to my romances.

    This is one of those books that picks up later on. You don't have to fight to read it, this wasn't a book that I wanted to put down but I felt like it was missing something in the beginning. When heroine meets hero and there's an instant carnal attraction that practically has them on top of each other by the second scene, there needs to be a reason for that. I feel that Showalter started giving us hints when the book showed up at the door and how Nicolai knew Jane by name. I feel she also did when Jane started saying certain things felt familiar. All of this is explained later but it makes for a really uncomfortable beginning. I feel this could have been made better with more clues from Nicolai's end.

    Other than that, it was a great book. I got it from Netgalley so I don't get to keep the review copy. I went and bought it as soon as I finished it. I don't think it's every day we get to see the heroine almost end up on the bad end of an ogre gang bang. So it was definitely an interesting read. I look forward to the next book in the series and reading more from Gena as this was my first book by her.

    Thank you to Harlequin for the review copy through Netgalley. It in no way influenced my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    Interesting new series

    The book starts off slow only because Showalter has to setup the series. Once she has that done, the book is a fantastic read. I cannot wait for the other 3 books in the series which will be written by different authors. Wonderful concept and an exciting new twist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Doo Good read!

    Can't wait for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great beginning to a new series.

    Once upon a time there were a King and Queen who were loved and respected throughout the land. A viscous Blood Sorcerer wanted their power so he slaughtered them and their people. With their dying breath the King and Queen worked magic that would separate and send their three sons and daughter far away. Their dying wish was to protect their children; giving them the drive to stay alive and get revenge for all that they lost.

    Lord of the Vampires is the first book in the Royal House of Shadows series. I'm not big into fairytales but love Gena Showalter so I figured that I would enjoy this and that it might turn me on to other authors as well since I haven't read anything by them. The first book sets up the series nicely and drew me in. It told the story of Nicolai, the Prince and heir to the throne of Elden.

    Nicolai the Vampire was known as "The Dark Seducer" as he would rather be in bed with a woman or two than deal with his family or politics. The Blood Sorcerer twisted his parent's magic so Nicolai woke in the kingdom of Delfina without his memory or his timepiece and was turned into a sex slave. He was left with nothing but the need for his freedom, vengeance and the woman destined to save him.

    Jane Parker is a scientific genius and spent the last year recovering from a tragic car accident that killed her family. At night she dreams of a beautiful vampire not knowing that he is real and using his dreams as a way of making contact with her. Nicolai then sends her a book drawing her into the magical realm. Jane is the key to Nicolai's memory and regardless of his feelings for her he will use her to get what he desires.

    I thought this was a great beginning to a series. Nicolai was a super sexy, brooding, violent, alpha male whose drive and determination intrigued me. Jane was a good match for him. Like all of Gena's work there were some really steamy moments and well as some really funny ones. The more I read the more I wanted to read. I'm really curious how the four books being written by different authors will work out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Steamy modern fairytale with a kickass heroine

    Fans of Gena Showalter are sure to devour her latest novel, a steamy modern fairy tale. Jane Parker is a scientific genius who has spent the last year recovering from a horrific car crash that killed her entire family and left her unable to walk for months. When she is finally released from the hospital, she returns to her small home in Oklahoma to live a life of boring and monotonous routine. But one day a magical book is left on her doorstep, and after reading it she is transported to another world, where she meets Nicolai, a vampire and a sex slave. He has magically called her to him to help him escape, and has glamoured her to appear to be the sadistic witch princess he killed. Nicolai's original intentions are to escape at any cost, leaving Jane behind. But he does not anticipate being intrigued by Jane's intelligence and bravery, and attracted to her at a primal level. When the Queen of Hearts has Jane whipped for defying her, his plan to escape alone disappears, as his need to protect and rescue Jane overrides every other emotion. When Nicolai goes animal/alpha, he goes ALL the way. He is soon ripping out throats, removing limbs, grunting in one word sentences, and protecting the hell out of Jane. Hubba hubba!
    After a bloody escape from the palace, Jane returns the favor and protects Nicolai as he recovers. Their intense sexual attraction is enhanced by mutual respect, and pretty soon they are exploring their attraction. Lots of steamy, erotic romping ensues. Then sex-crazed ogres kidnap Jane, there's more fighting, rescues, danger and falling in love.
    Jane is a great heroine. She is incredibly smart, but also brave, strong, and willing to fight. Her year of loss, surgeries and pain has molded her into a woman capable of handling almost anything, and she is not going to let a hot, animalistic, incredibly experienced vampire get away from her.
    Nicolai is the personification of the alpha male, brooding, violent when necessary, protective, and EXPERIENCED. He has, after all, been a sex slave, and before that he was a horny, spoiled prince.
    The action keeps the plot moving along at a rapid pace and the characters are both likeable. The story was greatly improved with the well-developed main characters, as well as their detailed histories. Nicolai is slowly starting to recover his memories, and realizing he has siblings to find and murdered parents to avenge. Jane is struggling with the guilt that she spent her career studying magical creatures that somehow came into the human world.
    As with other books by Gena Showalter, there is genuine humor in this story, and I laughed out loud several times. The ending is very satisfying. I can't wait to read the next story in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4