Customer Reviews for

Lord of the Vampires (Royal House of Shadows Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 245 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(114)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Hot

I have been reading Gena Showalter books ever since Awaken me was released from the Alien series! I enjoyed reading the lord of vampires. it was so hard to put down. A must read for paranormal readers!

posted by evanescenceSE on September 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

More paranormal than romance!

Review by Jen:
I'm a huge fan of Gena Showalter. Her Lords of the Underworld books are on my limited auto-buy list. So, when I saw she was doing a new series with a couple other romance authors, I snagged the book at NetGalley.

The concept of this series is intere...
Review by Jen:
I'm a huge fan of Gena Showalter. Her Lords of the Underworld books are on my limited auto-buy list. So, when I saw she was doing a new series with a couple other romance authors, I snagged the book at NetGalley.

The concept of this series is interesting. There are 4 siblings, children of a royal family. When their parents rule is threatened, their mother, a witch, casts a spell sending her children to the far corners of their realm with no memory of their royal lives. As they age, they have this compulsion of revenge. Each of the books, written by a different author, follow these siblings as they make their way home.

Lord of the Vampires is the first book in the series and follows Nicolai, a vampire, the oldest of the siblings. he's been enslaved and using magic he learned from his mother, he summons Jane to help free him. Jane is all alone in the world and can't figure out the steamy dreams she's been having. And when she's suddenly face to face with the star of those dreams and he's asking for her help, what's a girl to do?

Parts of this story I really enjoyed. I loved Jane. A strong, smart woman who has overcome a lot of adversity and is able to suspend belief and make her way in this magical realm she finds herself in. Nicolai is a little harder to like. He takes the alpha male role to the extreme at times. And I wasn't too keen on his, "after she helps me, I'll ditch her" attitude. Obviously since we're talking about a romance, he gets over that. But the romance aspect was very much overshadowed by the paranormal, borderline horror, story line.

I was left wanting with this book. Gena Showalter is still on my favorite list, but this book didn't help her case. I am however, looking forward to the future books in the series. Up next is Lord of Rage by Jill Monroe.

posted by RtBBlog on July 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 114 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    Guilty Pleasure

    Loved it and couldn't bring myself to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Must read PNR!

    281 pages of addicting action! Be it action or action, if you catch my drift. Yes, I'm saying this book has some serious sexual tension and which makes for hot scenes later on, not for prudes trust me. So, let's get into the story!
    ~
    Nicolai has been held captive in the castle of Queen of Hearts, used as a slave by the queen's daughters, he has no memory but a sense of vengeance like no other, he has to kill someone but who? What little he knows is he's a vampire and someone is blocking him from using magic to free himself. But as he finds himself able to tap into little magic he summons help.
    ~
    In the normal world Jane is recovering from a car accident, just having learned to walk again her life is constructed of mourning the loss of her family and keeping up the sad routine of her life when a book waits on the footsteps of her cabin as she comes home one day, unable to stop reading it she dreams of the man in the book, Nicolai. Falling asleep in her bed, she wakes up in a castle being called a princess.
    ~
    Luckily Jane isn't a dumb girl, when she used to work, before the accident, she studies fringe science, quantum physics, so teleportation and dimensional travel aren't foreign concepts - but that said experiencing it is different! Having a cool analytical head on her shoulders saves her from panic and a hissy fit, and soon she discovers that the book she read before falling asleep is now her reality, and coming face-to-face with Nicolai awakes desires she never knew existed before this. And having Nicolai practically hunt and stalk her makes her knees wobble. But then again there is the trouble of a different dimension and the fact that Nicolai is chained and held captive with no memory of who he is. What can Jane do?
    ~
    Oh I loved this book! I'm fully addicted and must immediately get my paws on the following 3 books!
    ~
    Nicolai is wonderful, just the kind of hero you want, an insanely powerful vampire bound from his magic, tall, strong and deeply obsessed with having his heroine no matter what. That type of lust and graving is just Delicious to read! Jane is damaged and doesn't think too highly of herself until Nicolai shows her just how much there is still to appreciate even if you have a scarred body and your just too thin after your hospital stay.
    You want these two to make it through their trouble and be together forever... you root for them from the first chapter on.
    ~
    There were parts that had me giggling, little embarrassed but somehow it worked - Nicolai when his scary temper flares turns to a beast, not civilized at all, and the way he speak become very clipped - almost as if he doesn't realize what comes out of his mouth and his thoughts are just blurted out. It's almost like his emotions become too much to handle and he looses his ability to be eloguent. Heh! It's actually fun to read! (see the quote above and below)
    ~
    He snarled a sound of pure menace, his scary animal nature racing back to the forefront. "Mine." He stopped just in front of them, daring them to act.
    ~
    This was so good I want to go and read it again even though I just finished it! ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    WOW - What a way to start a series!!

    This is the first book in the Royal House of Shadow Series. Each of the four books in the series will be written by a different author. The books each feature the four children of the King and Queen of Elden who are murdered by the Blood Sorcerer and their kingdom stolen. Before they die, they bespell their children with one spell to protect them and one filling them with a lust for vengeance. Each child is also gift with a magic timepiece. This first story is written by Gena Showalter and features the eldest child and heir to the throne of Elden, Nicolai. Nicolai is a vampire and a sorcerer, gifted with abilities from each of his parents. During the attack on the castle, Nicolai is magically sent away and ends up at a sex slave market (talk about out of the frying pan and into the fire). He is purchased by Princess Odette and Princess Laila, the ugly and evil daughters of the Queen of Hearts. Although they take his memories and most of his powers, Nicolai manages to "visit" a human, Jane Parker, in her dreams and sends her a magic book to bring her to Delfina to rescue him from his prison. Although I am a fan of Gena Showalter's Alien Huntress series, I was a little reluctant to pick this book up. Vampires with magic timepieces...really?? I finally picked this up and before I knew it I found myself 100 pages into the story. This story grabbed me and I couldn't put it down. I was mesmerized by Jane and Nicolai's immediate attraction to each other; intrigued by Nicolai's unfolding memories; and breathlessly on the run with Nicolai and Jane. Although I knew there would be no completion at the end of this story (as it is the first of four of a series), I still wanted to see them storm the castle at the end. I will be marking my calendar for the rest of the books in this series. Received advance copy from NetGalley, courtesy of the publisher. Thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    an exciting romantic fantasy

    In Elden, the Blood Sorcerer conducts a bloody coup killing the nation's rulers. He made two critical mistakes when he failed to prevent the dying king from sending to his offspring an obsessed need to avenge their deaths; and the queen using her last breath of power sends their four children into hiding so they could buy time to complete her husband's vendetta. Thus the Blood Sorcerer failed to kill the Crown prince Nicolai and his three siblings (Breena, Dayn and Micah).

    Two Kingdom of Delfina princesses capture Nicolai who they turn into their sex slave. He uses magic to call out for help. In Oklahoma, scientist Jane Parker recovers from a car accident that killed her family. She "hears" Nicolai's plea when she finds a tome by her door and reads it. She arrives but looks like the evil royal he killed. Nicolai plans to use Jane to escape but leave her behind. However he finds he cannot leave the intelligent woman behind even as he laments she may be the death of him.

    The first Royal House of Shadows is an exciting romantic fantasy in which the paranormal supersedes the romance. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Jane enters the Nicolai universe without blinking. Although her humorous commentary fails to fit in with the sex slave themes (his and hers), fans will enjoy the Crown Prince of Elden's tale while waiting for a sibling starring in Jill Monroe's series entry.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED THIS BOOK!!!

    OMG! LOVED THIS BOOK!! Gena Showalter is one of my favorite authors, and once again, she has proven herself to me! She has created a magical universe that is set back in time, and holds the magical creatures that we see as fiction. It was full of twists, turns, magic, and erotic love scenes. The two main characters, Jane and Nicolai, collide in a frenzy of passion despite the danger that they very quickly find themselves in. I love Gena Showalter's Lords of the Underworld series, and I have a feeling that I will love this brand new series just as much! I rarely give a book this high of praise, but this is a story that deserves every bit!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 114 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6