Customer Reviews for

Lord of the Vampires: Lord of the Vampires\The Darkest Angel\The Amazon's Curse\The Darkest Prison

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I highly recommend this book especially if you are into the paranormal

    I read this after reading Gena's series the lords of the underworld, I wasn't disapointed I loved it and I have recommended to my friend who got me involved with the paranormal romances. I have already pre-ordered the newest book to be released soon. I can't wait

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A great collection and a strong start to a new series.

    Gena Showalter's work is always a must read for me, so I was thrilled to see that some of her anthologized pieces were being offered as a collection, and that within that collection would also be the first story in a new series. ~~~~~ The titular piece in this collection, The Lord of the Vampires, is the start of the new Royal House of Shadows Series. This tale focuses on Nicolai, a vampire prince being held captive in another world, and Jane, a researcher struggling to recover from a life-changing car accident that killed the rest of her family. Nicolai is the oldest of four siblings (Breena, Dayn, and Micah) whose parents were killed by the Blood Sorcerer. The dying king and queen used the last of their magic to send their children away before the sorcerer could get to them, but their attempt to protect Nicolai wasn't fully successful. After being transported away, he was captured and taken as a sex slave to the Princesses Odette and Laila; the women stole his memories and kept him caged. When the story opens, Nicolai is searching for a way to free himself from captivity. He and Jane meet in their dreams, and eventually he uses his magic to bring her to his world. Together, they free Nicolai from his captors and fight to stay safe in a world filled with ogres, enchantments, and dark magic. As Nicolai works to keep Jane by his side, he must also recover his stolen memories in order to find his way back to his family's kingdom. ~~~~~ While the conclusion of this story feels a little abrupt-the couple gets their HEA, but it's quite clear that there's much more to come in the series-it was a great start and made me anxious to read the next segment. ~~~~~ As for the other stories in this collection, they've all been published elsewhere but it's nice to have them together. "The Darkest Angel" and "The Darkest Prison" are part of the Lords of the Underworld series, and "The Amazon's Curse" takes place within the Atlantis series. A particular favorite of mine is "The Darkest Angel", which features the archangel Lysander and the harpy Bianka, but they're all great reads.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    A must have

    Every story in this book is amazing! Gena Showalter is the best at paranormal and sexual tension and keeping you guessing. A must have for lord of the underworld lovers as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    A Must Read

    I finished my last Anita Blake Book, looking for another thrill and was recommend to Gena Showalter. Can I say she doesn't disappoint! I loved this bundle so much I ordered the whole series the next day. The Lords stories are not only intriguing you find yourself hoping and rooting them on! Great work! My only disappointment was I just finished her last book available, and have to wait for the next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love it

    Love love love Gina Showalter
    Great writer great stories, I'm addicted

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    LOVE IT!!!!

    I love Gena Showalter. This book had a few stories they were a bit short but good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Fantastic Read

    Time tripping, dimension hopping adventures are in store for readers as they embark on another journey of amazing romance and sensual delights from the creative mind of Ms. Showalter.

    There's a vampire in trouble, a land in siege, a corrupt and deviant royal house, and a simple woman with a brilliant brain who has to accomplish the impossible - free the vampire, trust him that he won't kill her, and somehow heal him. That's a lot to ask a regular human woman and yet, there's that thrum of sensual interest, a yearning and the heart of a lioness inside that won't let the heroine, Jane, back down. It's her journey that I found most interesting because she goes through the most change. She has so much to lose and more than she could imagine to gain. The part I liked best about her personality was that she's not just book smart. Some braniacs are fine in an office but completely fall apart in dealing with other people in real life situations. Not so, Jane. In fact, Ms. Showalter created a very unique character. She's been through her own brand of torture in her young life and it was a great emotional hook. I also liked how the author took that tragedy and made it into a strength. One the heroine could emotionally heal from and the hero could respect.

    The hero, Nicolai, is a mixed bag of tortured hero fun. He's got it all. If he knew about Murphy's Law, he would have hunted Murphy down and had him run through with a sword. The poor guy has one indignity after another heaped upon him. Nothing goes right and his life is an existence of never ending nightmares. No matter that he can't remember anything, he is smart, cunning and hyper-focused on his goal - escape and kill .someone. He's just not sure who. From certain descriptions in scenes when he loses his temper, he's going to be incredibly effective with his vengeance. I can't wait to see that happen. And, despite all that the twisted and ugly princess tried to do and did to Nicolai, he has this inner core of goodness and light that can't be corrupted. The only one that can tap into it is Jane. The heroine inspires a healthy dose of lust too which made for some spicy and entertaining reading. I adore how Ms. Showalter writes those scenes. They're so vivid and fun.

    The conflict is clear. The dialogue is often funny between Nicolai and Jane, many times insightful or endearing and definitely a compliment to the characters. The drama and suspense is well balanced without getting too dark and depressing. It was well done enough that I didn't have the need to bite all my nails because of stress. Some chocolate was good though.

    Princess Laila and her mother were whack jobs. Great villains who seemed unstoppable, they were darkness and sadism personified. How fulfilling it was when there was finally a confrontation between Nicolai and Jane and those pains in the neck. Even better, answers were revealed. The author was very sneaky in how she wove hints and revelations throughout. It took awhile before she allowed me to have the full picture of just how much the hero had lost and how motivational it was to find out he could reclaim most of it back. There's a price to be paid, obviously, but he's man enough to see it through, especially with Jane by his side.

    Read the Full Review at the Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    You can't go wrong with Gena Showalter!

    Nicolai was known as 'The Dark Seducer' until that fateful day when he was swept from his bed, and the arms of his current lover, and into the role of sex slave for the vile princesses of the kingdom of Delfina. Now, without his memory, magick or his timepiece, Nicolai's only hope of escape is the mysterious woman who appears in his cell, unseen to all others but him. Summoning her to this magical realm, he must earn Jane's trust to gain her assistance and then escape the evil clutches of the jealous princess. But the lands that surround the castle are just as dangerous; can Jane and Nicolai make it past lusty ogres, fearsome guards and the powerful magick that the princess Laila wields? Or will they have to give up one another in order to save each other?

    Fast moving and action packed, Gena Showalter immerses you into a world of magick and fairytales; with paranormal creatures, time-travel and alternate dimensions, in this first novel in the Royal House of Shadows series. And being Gena Showlater; a sexy alpha male, strong female, page scorching sex scenes sprinkled with witty humor. She puts her own little twist on the fairy tale classic Alice in Wonderland with our heroine, Jane Parker, falling into a different realm instead of the rabbit hole but time is still an issue. Damn that rabbit and his time piece! LoL With detailed and imaginative world building, the foundation for the rest of the series is set up here.

    As Lord of the Vampires begins, the story flows somewhat choppy and it was difficult to become engaged in it at first because facts about these two main characters, Jane and Nicolai, are slowly revealed one little piece at a time so we are missing a lot of background information at the start. But as the story progresses we find out that the characters have had their memories messed with and we are learning the important details right along with them. This short novel starts right off with the action though and doesn't let up until the very end, keeping you on the edge of your seat the entire time. There is an irrefutable chemistry between Jane and Nicolai that develops instantly, which may seem somewhat unbelievable at first but not to worry; this is not the first time these two have met.

    Nicolai was instantly intriguing and downright sexy with his fierce protectiveness towards Jane and his possessiveness. The world alpha in the dictionary should literally have Nicolai under it. With a tendency to go all caveman, when he growls the word "mine" you will get naughty shivers all along your body! Jane herself starts of as a regular, everyday, human. She could be you or me, but she is one strong and determined woman that I admired and connected with. Together these two are hot hot hot, despite several interruptions and a few horny ogres. The memory and time-travel aspect of the story was bit hard to follow and the ending belt abrupt but there were a few surprising twists and over all this was a unique tale that I really enjoyed, I can't wait to see what else is in store for this series with the collaboration of these four awesome authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Highly recommended

    Awesome book. Love Gena showalter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sexy Thrilling Read

    The Blood Sorcerer on his quest to rule Elden slaughter's the ruling family but what he didn't count on was the power of a parents love. Using his last breath, the king filled his children with an unbreakable need for vengeance and the queen uses her power to send them all away to different kingdoms with one link to the Royal House of Elden, a timepiece.

    In the first installment of the Royal House of Shadows we are introduced to Nicolai, the Dark Seducer and crown prince. He has been kept in a cage and has been the toy for the witches Princess Odette and Princess Laila and used as much magic as possible to try to bring his salvation over. Nicolai has no idea who he is, only that he will have his vengeance on his tormentors.

    Jane Parker has just recently learned to walk after a horrific car accident that claimed her parents and ruined her life. Jane hasn't felt arousal in over eleven months and worries that she never will. She discovers a leather-bound book resting on her doorstep and her inquisitive nature leads her to opening the mysterious book. After reading aloud from the text she is transported into Nicolai's world. A world that isn't foreign to her. Jane knows all about vampires and other realms. She has worked in the fringe science area and has studied these creatures of "myth" and "legend." She will also find out that this isn't the first time she has been here.

    Together Jane and Nicolai are unstoppable; working together to figure out the puzzle of who they both are and whether they can co-exist in the same realm. Jane's character is strong and intellectual. She may not have magic like Nicolai but she does have heart. The mere fact that she feels something when she is around Nicolai proves that she is not dead. Nicolai is all about the vengeance but something about Jane leads him to claim her as "his" and protect her.

    Lord of the Vampires is a sexy thrilling read leaving you breathless at times. There were moments that I was confused because of Nicolai's teleporting abilities. We are also introduced to a few other members of the family as Nicolai's memory returns and he flashes back to his childhood. Fantastic read for paranormal romance readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2