Customer Reviews for

Lord of the Wolfyn (Harlequin Nocturne #123)

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Romancing the Book

    Reviewed By: Jen
    Review Copy Provided By: Net Galley
    I've been working my way through this series that had so much potential. This third installment fell short for me and is so far the weakest link. The story arc of the children of Elden trying to return t overthrow the evil Blood Sorcerer is advanced. While this book may stand alone, it's going to make much more sense if you start at the beginning of the series.

    Lord of the Wolfyn is "based" on the fairy tale Little Red Riding Hood. Ms Andersen does a good job linking the two, which may be the strongest aspect of this story. What didn't work for me was the characters. I had trouble caring for Reda, in particular, and Dayn. Reda was just too whiny through much of the book, and while she grows, in the end I just wasn't caring and wanted Dayn to get home so I could move on to the last book.

    I'll finish the series since I'm invested and want to know how it all works out. But if this one had been my introduction, I'm not sure I would have continued.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Training Camp Central Area

    Surrounded by limp black flags on tall wood posts. If someone wishes to leave, they must reach the top of the post and take the flag. If they can accomplish that, they are escorted 'out'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2011

    Red Riding Hood and her Wolf...with a Twist.

    "Lord of the Wolfyn" by Jessica Anderson was interesting at first because I definitely love the comparison with Red Riding Hood and the Wolf...but it seemed this book lacked what I'm used to in a paranormal romance. I love Jessica Anderson's reading style, don't get me wrong, but I feel this book could've had more to it. It seemed to be rushed liked the other books in the series. I understand the authors were only allowed certain amount to write in a short period...but I feel that maybe each book could've had more. That's my honest opinion though.
    I did love the character Dayn in this book and it seems he has become my favorite so far in the series. A hunky vampire who also turns wolfyn...that definitely is my dream come true in paranormal romance. He has a lot of power and sexiness to him.
    As for Reda though, there were moments I just didn't like her character. She always seemed scared and I understand what she went through losing her partner, Benz...but she had a hard time getting over it and also learning that she was tough, she just had to let go of her past and look to her future. I don't really like weak heroines, but at the end of the book, she finally decided that maybe it was time to step up and finally conquer her fear. I wish she would've found that out in the beginning.
    There wasn't much action in this book also, which the 1st book and 2nd book had. There wasn't much obstacles for the characters. It seemed it was mostly a love obstacle for them both. Could they or would they be together or would Reda have to go back to her world and leave Dayn to focus on his world and conquer the Blood Sorcerer. It was driving me crazy at times and I had to put the book down for awhile and come back to it later.
    I will give Jessica Anderson this, when Dayn and Reda finally made up their minds to be together and bond, she had a great scene between them both and I also loved how she showed the bond between them both afterwards and how Dayn was able to track down Reda after she was captured.
    I've actually read a short book from Jessica Anderson from one of the Anthologies I have on my book shelves and I've been meaning to read more from her, but just hadn't had the time, but now I will put some of her books to my to-read list and definitely will keep up with her books now after reading this one.
    I may have gave this book 3 stars...but the Author I give 4.5 stars. =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A good contination to the story line

    I really like the element of different authors writing the story. Every author has a different perspective of what is going on and it you don't feel like you are reading the same book but with different characters. You really do notice the difference in personalities but it isn't so drastic that you are confused as to whether you are reading the correct book. I did like Andersen's development of the story and the incorporation of Red Riding Hood. However, for some reason I just wasn't sucked into the story. I liked it and found it entertaining but I wasn't engrossed with it. The story line progressed smoothly and there wasn't too much or too little action taking place.

    When Dayne is magically sent away by his parents, he finds himself in the wolfyn land... which just so happens to be the very creature that he hunts. For 20 years he keeps his identity a secret and lays low until his guide, Reda, arrives to take him back to Elden.

    Reda magically finds herself in the realm of Wolfyn and is terrified. She read the REAL story about Lil Red Riding Hood and saw how the wolf/wolfyn had enthralled her and seduced her until ultimately killing her when he was bored. So of course she is petrified that she will end up just as Red did. However, she finds herself being saved by a prince, Prince Dayne to be exact and has no idea that he isn't human.

    So far all three stories have ended with the siblings ending up in Elden. Up next is Lord of the Abyss which follows the story of Micah and I cannot wait how everything pans out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    3.5 out of 5

    This review is going to be a little different. My mind is all over the place on this book so I figure the best way to sum up my thoughts without spoilers is to list what I did and didn't like. Likes: A) I absolutely love the premise of the book. Imagine a kingdom being overrun and a king and queen who would do anything to save not only the people of the land but also their own children. Throw in some magic, sorcery, vampires, werewolves, unusual creatures and you have the makings of a fascinating tale. A+ B) Never having read any of Jessica Andersen other novels, I find her voice interesting, easy to read, not too intrusive, and overall very descriptive. The world-building in this book was outstanding. For the most part, I felt that I was in the Wolfyn realm with Reda. Experiencing her world spinning out of control as much as she did. The pacing was decent and there was plenty of action, never a dull moment unless we were in Reda's head over thinking. C) The theme of "Little Red Riding Hood" fit well into the story. It was very believable and cleverly worked alongside the magical elements and other mystical creatures. It was a delightful twist on an old fairytale and readers should have fun discovering all the little twists and turns that Andersen takes. D) Love scenes in Lord of the Wolfyn were fantastic. There were only a few, but in actuality with the threat against a kingdom that's all the book really needed. The few scenes we did get (check the shower), were delectable and oh so yummy. Dislikes: A) Well it was a very short read. I feel as though as soon as I started getting invested in the characters, oh about page 100 or so, I was finished with the book without really having known too much about either of them. B) I would have loved more background on Reda's end. We get hints about her mother, a few hints about her father, a quick glimpse into her current life, and then we are transported to another world. I would like to more about a certain book that is often mentioned, more about her mother, and more about what she truly is. Maybe this was all explained in Book #1 or #2 in the series, and if so then my point here in null and void. If not I really think this would have added to the story and maybe given readers a little more insight to her character. C) Another thing I didn't particularly like about Reda was her internal dialog for the first half of the book. At times she came off wimpy, whiney, indecisive, and unsure of herself and everything around her. I really didn't start liking Reda until she started to get some fire in her blood and speaking her mind. She was not a complete waste of space as a character, but as a main character she did fall kind of flat. I'm thinking that if we were given more back-story then this would not even be an issue. Seeing as this review is short and to the point, I should express that having read the series out of order, I now wish I had started with the first book. In my mind there are still several unanswered questions and since the book was so short (under 300 pages), it's leaving me longing for more. Guess I will be picking up Lord of the Abyss (Royal House of Shadows, #4) to calm the rumbling in me to see how the saga concludes. Don't get me wrong, Lord of the Wolfyn can work as a standalone title but I must warn you once you get to the end you will want to know what happens in the final battle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    3rd Book of a Fun Series

    The beginning was very promising, as we meet Reda, a former cop traumatized by the shooting death of her partner. Reda's consumed with guilt, believing that her partner's death was her fault because she was frozen with fear. She is soon sucked into the wolfyn realm by a magical vortex, and must fulfill her destiny of guiding Prince Dayn of Elden back to his home realm to defeat the Blood Sorceror. But while Dayn seems to be the sexy woodsman of her childhood Little Red Riding book, he is also a vampire. And the wolfyn, who have the frightening ability to enthrall women, are actually shapeshifters involved in a political struggle and pack infighting.

    Dayn and Reda have less than 4 days to reach Elden, and spend it hiking to the next vortex, getting to know each other, and shagging. Which is all well and good, except pretty soon Reda's internal dialogue of analytical self-doubt and second thoughts blends into the narrative voice, and every kiss is analyzed, and every glance is fraught (yes, fraught!) with meaning. I appreciate the emotions leading to lovemaking as much as the next girl, but this relationship was talked to death. By the time the plot action heated up, and the evil witch reappeared, a wolfyn pack attacked, and a dragon assassin entered the action, I was frustrated and no longer cared much for Reda. When she suddenly changed from cowering, catatonic coward to warrior princess, I started skimming (a very rare thing for me) just to get to the end so I would be ready for the fourth and final installment of this series, Lord of the Abyss by Nalini Singh.
    As a stand alone book I can't strongly recommend this, but as part of a 4 book series it's worthwhile to know the backstory of each royal heir of Elden.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not as strong as the first two but still a good read

    Once upon a time there were a King and Queen who were loved and respected throughout the land. A viscous Blood Sorcerer wanted their power so he slaughtered them and their people. With their dying breath the King and Queen worked magic that would separate and send their three sons and daughter far away. Their dying wish was to protect their children; giving them the drive to stay alive and get revenge for all that they lost...

    Lord of the Wolfyn is the third book in the Royal House of Shadows series and the first book I've read by Jessica Andersen. I didn't like this book nearly as well as I liked the first two in the series. Lord of the Vampires set up the story and drew me in, Lord of Rage made me want more and Lord of the Wolfyn left me feeling under whelmed. Lord of the Wolfyn tells the story of Prince Dayn of Elden.

    Prince Dayn's story is a retelling of Little Red Riding Hood and though it had its good moments, I wasn't very impressed. I liked Dayn. I liked that we finally get a sibling that hadn't lost his memory. I liked that Dayn found himself in a realm of creatures he used to hunt and had to hide the fact he was a blood drinker from them. I liked that unlike Nicolai and Breena, Dayn actually spoke to his father using mindspeak at his time of dying and knew to wait for a certain person to be his guide and bring him back to save Elden to save his people. I even liked Reda, the disgraced cop with anxiety issues, even though I found her annoying at times and wanted to slap her. I'm not sure what it was about this book that fell flat for me; it just did. Maybe it was the fact that Lord of the Vampires was really good and Lord of Rage was excellent. Lord of the Wolfyn had a lot to live up to and it just wasn't as good. It was really slow at time and I found myself wanting to skip over scenes. I kept reading because I wanted to know what happened next overall, not because I wanted to know more about these particular characters.

    I'm really curious to see how Nalini Singh ends this series with Prince Micha's story. It seems to me that there is so much left to tell and it's all going to happen in his book. Doesn't leave much room for him to get a proper love story. Maybe there should've been 5 books, 1 for each of the siblings and book 5 to complete the storyline. I don't' know. I just hope Lord of the Abyss doesn't feel rushed and that it's better than the third installment. Also I wish it were available on netGalley so that I could read it now. I need to know how the series ends even if Lord of the Wolfyn wasn't the greatest. The overall storyline is intriguing and I'm hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Okay

    Lord of the Wolfyn is the third book in the Royal House of Shadows series. Although I was unable to tell the difference in authors for the previous two books, I did see a difference in this one. The bad news is that I didn't like this one as much as the other two, but the good news is that I still enjoyed it. Aside from the difference in writing, I wasn't a big fan of the time lapse. Actually, the whole time frame of the series seems off to me. I won't say how, in case someone finds it as a spoiler, but it is a bit confusing.

    In the beginning of the book, we are introduced to Dayn, the second son of the King and Queen of Elden. When their country is attacked, Prince Dayn is sent to the Wolfyn realm. Then we meed Reda, a cop, who has been searching for an antique "Little Red Ridding Hood" book that had been given to her by her mother but taken from her by her father. The story of little red ridding hood seemed to be a big part of the story, but its whole part in Lord of the Wolfyn was shortly thrown aside. While Dayn is portrayed as being a strong and brave character, Reda is introduced as a small, helpless, weak woman who froze when her partner was killed. But other than those small things, I did enjoy this third installment in the series. Overall, it was a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1