Customer Reviews for

Lords of Chaos: The Bloody Rise of the Satanic Metal Underground New Edition

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

BLACK METAL IST KREIG

I read this book and I have to say, this is an AMAZING BOOK. the supposed 'critics' of this site know nothing about black metal or its traditions--this is not 'wannabe' gangster black music. In the words of Nargaroth: ...And the quintessence: they realized that black me...
I read this book and I have to say, this is an AMAZING BOOK. the supposed 'critics' of this site know nothing about black metal or its traditions--this is not 'wannabe' gangster black music. In the words of Nargaroth: ...And the quintessence: they realized that black metal is not just entertainment anymore.' Anyways, this is a great book, although i found it talking about varg's point of view a little more than the mayhem side of things. LONG LIVE TRUE NORWEGIAN BLACK METAL!

posted by Anonymous on December 8, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Redundancy of Chaos

As a fan of Heavy Metal music, I was looking forward to an educational, multi-textured history of the Satanic Metal underground scene. What I got was a justification for stupidity. Music is made by musicians wishing to express certain points relevant to the listener's l...
As a fan of Heavy Metal music, I was looking forward to an educational, multi-textured history of the Satanic Metal underground scene. What I got was a justification for stupidity. Music is made by musicians wishing to express certain points relevant to the listener's lives. Music can be a helpful and destructive tool, depending on the hands it's place in. The bands featured in the Lords of Chaos were very young at their time of infamy. The philosophy behind their music was on going to the point of ad nauseum. This book would've been cool when I was teenager, but reading it as an adult really makes me wish I had not wasted my time and money. this book will not inspire you to become fans of these bands. It's a black and white informercial on Scandanavian metal scenes, which include infantile crimes and wierd philosophies. The musicians represented in this book change their views like Madonna changes costumes. It's somewhat chaotic to follow, hence the title. Actually, this book inspired me to give up on Black Metal all together. Most of the information here is not new, especially if you're a fan of this type of music. If you are completely ignorant of this type of music, then it might be a pretty goo read. Hwoever, church burnings, Nationalism, and corpse paint are pretty much what this book is about. I was hoping for a more musical approach rather than a police report.

posted by 994413 on February 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    The Redundancy of Chaos

    As a fan of Heavy Metal music, I was looking forward to an educational, multi-textured history of the Satanic Metal underground scene. What I got was a justification for stupidity. Music is made by musicians wishing to express certain points relevant to the listener's lives. Music can be a helpful and destructive tool, depending on the hands it's place in. The bands featured in the Lords of Chaos were very young at their time of infamy. The philosophy behind their music was on going to the point of ad nauseum. This book would've been cool when I was teenager, but reading it as an adult really makes me wish I had not wasted my time and money. this book will not inspire you to become fans of these bands. It's a black and white informercial on Scandanavian metal scenes, which include infantile crimes and wierd philosophies. The musicians represented in this book change their views like Madonna changes costumes. It's somewhat chaotic to follow, hence the title. Actually, this book inspired me to give up on Black Metal all together. Most of the information here is not new, especially if you're a fan of this type of music. If you are completely ignorant of this type of music, then it might be a pretty goo read. Hwoever, church burnings, Nationalism, and corpse paint are pretty much what this book is about. I was hoping for a more musical approach rather than a police report.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2003

    BLACK METAL IST KREIG

    I read this book and I have to say, this is an AMAZING BOOK. the supposed 'critics' of this site know nothing about black metal or its traditions--this is not 'wannabe' gangster black music. In the words of Nargaroth: ...And the quintessence: they realized that black metal is not just entertainment anymore.' Anyways, this is a great book, although i found it talking about varg's point of view a little more than the mayhem side of things. LONG LIVE TRUE NORWEGIAN BLACK METAL!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Very interesting in parts and a bit repetitive in others. over a

    Very interesting in parts and a bit repetitive in others. over all its a good read but I found myself skipping over bits when it was waffling on about the same point for too long

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    5 stars!

    I got this for a friends bday gift, It has cool pictures and is interesting to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Everything you wanted to know and then some

    Covers everything anyone would ever want to need and know about the genre of black metal from is history to its most important bands and single individuals. Also has interesting sections that while are not on the musoc are other thinhs outside of it that have influenced black metal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    black metal at its best

    This gives you the gory details along with the shocking intelligence of the worlds most feared people in the black metal scene. Everything from murdering thier own band members, church burnings, and their outlook on not only black metal...but life as well. If you are an open minded person that is willing to learn about others...this is definatley a book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Twisted and Disjointed, but Great

    The Norwegian black metal scene of the 1990s is, in some circles at least, quite infamous. This book, originally published at the end of the 1990s, was and remains one of the definitive volumes on the subject (be sure to also check out the Norwegian TV documentary "Satan Rides the Media" on Google Video). As far as its value, this book is relatively unequaled; no one else has approached the subject with such academic fervor, and no other source chronicles so fully the twisted musical genre that sprung from Norway's disenchanted youth. That said, it's not organized in the best of fashions. Interspersed with full interviews that sometimes provide little additional insight, various events that happened concurrently are separated by pages of other material. Thus divining the precise order of events isn't always so easy. That is it's main flaw. In my opinion, it would have worked better, been easier to read and understand, and perhaps could have more pop sensibilities if it was written as other historical works are. The second flaw, which it can't help, is that is was, in a way, written too soon. Events that have unfolded since then, such as the trials of Gaahl from Gorgoroth or the mass-popularization of extreme metal worldwide, provide additional insight into the events, but are absent from the book. However, if you're curious about the genre and its disturbing emergence, this book is, simply put, THE source to consult. Recommended, even with its flaws.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    astounding

    truly captivating read. at some points, grotesque, but will always hold your interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2005

    Lords of Chaos: The Bloody Rise of the Satanic Metal Underground

    Most of it is true but not everything. I belive there is more to the truth then was written. But overall i must say that if you think your Black Metal when you are wrong until you read this book and get an idea of what it really is about!!! BLACK METAL!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2005

    Lords of Chaos: The Bloody Rise of the Satanic Metal Underground

    well to begin with i've read varg vikernes's private statements about this book, therefore i have to say that 90% of this book is real and the rest ficiton or exageration, but overall if you are a true believer then this is the begining of a new life and new believes you will have about black metal and where it came from and what it stands for. LONG LIVE VARG!!! enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1