BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Lords of Discipline

Average Rating 4.5
( 123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    Don't Miss Out!

    Pat Conroy put together an incredibly well written novel about the search for the true meaning of honor and integerty. Honor is something that can be absolutely different in every single person on this earth; it is not a word that can be defined simply by a dictionary definition. Conroy displays just that in this splendid page turner. He creates a protagonist (WIll McLean) that has to make several tough decisions throughout his college career. Many readers will be able to relate to the situations he was put through. He also is very creative with certain characters. For example, he builds the lovely lady, named Abigail St. Croix, up. Readers will think she is marvelous and can do no wrong, but that is a brutal mistake. The last few pages show the real Abigail and how she has hurt Mclean terribly. Conroy strives to make all the characters within this fantastic novel very relatable. "Lords of Discipline" most definitely deserves some type of literary significane. The only reason the book does not recieve five stars is beacsue the beginning is kind of slow. It takes a while for the book to take off, and this is only beacsue Conroy is intently describing the main characters and setting up the plot with a respective amount of detail. The book is a page turner not just for myself but for anybody. It has a little bit of everything. It has romance, action, suspense, history, and mystery. The theme is very impactful as well. The theme is like what I said earlier - Honor is not just a dictionary definition, but something that you must dig down deep within yourself to find. The coolest thing of all is that honor is different within everyone that walks this earth. That is what McLean discovers throughout his journey, and that is what you will discover too. Do not miss out on a spectacular read that will have your eyes glued to the text for days.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2010

    The best book I EVER read!

    I am 54 years old and in 2 Book Clubs so I have done my share of reading. I read this book about 10 years ago and I have never read a better one. I agree with so many reviewers that this book consumed me. The characters in this book stayed with me for a very long time. This is true storytelling at its best.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2007

    A reviewer

    I am 38 years old and this remians the best book I have ever read. I reccomentd it to anyone that asks me for a book you 'can't put down.' After reading it I was inspired to read every book Pat Conroy has ever written and he became my favorite author.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    RIVETING NARRATION OF THIS AMERICAN CLASSIC

    )
    A frequent Audie finalist and Earphones award winner Dan John Miller delivers a riveting narration of the book many have called an American classic. Also a film actor and songwriter Miller gives eloquent voice to protagonist Will McLean who attends the South Carolina Military Institute, which is a fictional military school and said to be inspired by Conroy's personal experiences at The Citadel.

    Not only is THE LORDS OF DISCIPLINE extremely well performed but a new introduction read by Pat Conroy is included in this edition.

    As compelling today as it was when it was first penned in 1980 this is the story of four young men, cadets at the Institute who have become blood brothers. Despite hazing, threats, mental duress, and violence Will McLean has reached his senior year. He has met and fallen in love with a beautiful young woman. Yet despite the challenges he has faced and the changes in his life Will remains very much his own person with a code of honor developed in his own mind and heart.

    However, when the first black enters the Institute and Will is instructed to look after him Will discovers even more than he had ever imagined exists not only at the Institute but in Charleston.

    With THE LORDS OF DISCIPLINE Conroy, who also authored The Great Santini and The Prince of Tides, wrote a brilliant scenario, a vivid commentary, true and bold. This is a book that stands tall in the annals of American literature.

    Enjoy!

    - Gail Cooke

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2008

    Absolutely Wonderful !!!!

    I finished this book a few days ago, and just can't get it out of my head. The characters were so real, and the story line was incredible. I learned a lot about military academies that I almost wish I didn't know, but of course education is always a good thing. Mr. Conroy's description of the dolphins in the water and the sunset that followed were written so beautifully, I read those parts a second time aloud to get the full effect. I loved this book!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    The Lords of Discipline

    I really enjoyed this book. It is about the Citidel! Great read. Best of Conroys' books!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    Best book i've ever read

    this is an amazing book! at first i thought it was gonna be just another boring summer reading book for school, but boy was i wrong! pat conroy does an amazing job capturing and keeping his reader's attention with everything from sex to death to racism. suspense builds throughout and follows through the an ultimate twist at the end. i HIGHLY recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    Excellent

    Excellent book whose characters will stay with you long after you put the book down. Conroy's style may be a bit fluffy in some portions of the book, but his coming of age themes will certainly hit home with most readers. One of the dominant themes of the book, and my favorite, was the power of true friendship and the benefits that flow from it, but the crushing effect of friendship lost or betrayed. Just read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    Book much better than the movie, but isn't that almost always the case??

    "Lords of Discipline" is the most readable of Conroy's novels. Conroy gives this book all the drama and thrills of John Grisham at his best, while gracing the story with a literary style that Grisham lacks.

    I read "Lords of Discipline" when it first came out back in the 80's and looked forward to the film adaptation.

    As is almost always the case, the book is so much better than the movie, which was badly miscast and took liberties with the plot that made no sense.

    In literature, the unexpected demise of a seemingly invincible character is always one of the more dramatic plot elements. Dante Pignetti is such a character ... why alter his fate? Also, the character of "Mark" was developed in the book as dark and dangerous. The actor playing him in the movie was neither.

    All these years later, I suppose it serves no purpose to say these things knowing that most have probably seen the movie and many have read the book. But, for those who have done neither, please read the book first and then seriously consider skipping the movie altogether.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2005

    the best book I've ever read

    This book was assigned to me as a high school reading requirement. After being warned of it causing quite a disturbance among the school board concerning approving this book for its profanity and disturbing events occuring within it, I stand by the fact that it was a complete work of art and a perfect picture of reality in all aspects of life. The military has always been a cautiously discussed topic but also at many times viewed as a blank canvas for writers and readers alike with many delicate aspects left out, such as the horrors the characters in this novel faced. This book was truly Pat Conroy's master piece with the perfect balanced of drama, humor, suspense and an appreciation for the history and scenary of the novel along with an excellent building of characters with all of their good qualaties and shocking flaws bluntly unveild.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2014

    I read a lot. I don't even know how many books I have read. The

    I read a lot. I don't even know how many books I have read. The Lords of Discipline is one of the best books I've ever read. I cannot get over how much I connected with this book. I usually do not read military style books but I could not put this down. Thank you Mr. Conroy for a great story that I will not forget, I rarely read a book twice but this one I will read again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read in Life

    Becoming a Whole Man, Institute Man and a person who can proclaim “I wear the Ring”, is the purpose of Carolina Military Institute (The Citadel). To make men from boys is the goal, but the cost of one’s integrity, honor and love lost or an aberration of what it once was, is the result.

    Will McLean student plebe, star basketball player and advocate for the underdog lives thru 4 years of becoming a man in a military college. McLean has 3 roommates that grow together not only in personal depth and development, but grow together as dependable and enjoyable friends. Conroy’s ability to convey thru words the emotions, efforts and rewards of developing relationships is amazing. He effortlessly writes the reader through experiencing the feelings, joy, love and pain of each of his characters. Also through the setting of Charleston, SC the author allows you to experience the seasons, the town, the South both at its best and the worse.

    This was not only a good read for me; it is a great read for anyone. This was the first of Conroy’s books I have read, but assuredly there will be many more, starting next with The Great Santini. Savor the language, highlight the lines that touch your heart, and enjoy the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

     

     

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    The Lords of Discipline by Pat Conroy is the first military boo

    The Lords of Discipline by Pat Conroy is the first military book I’ve ever read, and I was very impressed. I was not only impressed by
    Conroy’s writing style, but by how well he portrays military school and what the cadets go through on a daily basis. The main character,
    Will McLean attended the Carolina Military Institute in Charleston, SC. At the opening of the book, Will is entering his senior year at the
    Institute. Pat Conroy tells the story of a military college senior’s freshman year and the challenges he faces in his final months of his
    senior year. Conroy’s work is so good because he uses his own experiences in military college to help develop this book. He attended
    the Citadel Military Academy in South Carolina, under his father’s insistence. We learn that Will McLean was attending the Carolina Military
    Institute for the same reasons. When his father was dying, he had asked Will to follow in his footsteps and go to the Institute just like
    him. Will is an English major at the Institute along with his roommate Tradd St. Croix. Pat Conroy was also an English major when he
    attended the Citadel and later became an English teacher. Conroy growing up was a big fan of basketball and found it as an outlet for
    his stress. He started playing basketball when he was in 5th grade. His character Will McLean played basketball for the Institute, to Will
    basketball was the only thing in the world that he could do and be free to play how he wanted and control a game if he needed to.  
    Conroy’s opinion of the military is kind of scarred due to his father and his experience at the Citadel. So in his writing he places his
    opinions about the military and the Institute into Will and projects them to his readers throughout the whole novel. The personal
    experiences like his plebe year and the rest of his college years at the Institute that are placed into this novel by Pat Conroy are what
    makes this book so great. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Highly Reccomend!

    This book is painfully wonderful. I couldn't put it down. The things these young men endured were not in my realm of imagination. Knowing the author went to this school leads me to believe this is the way he and his classmates were treated. For me, it was shocking. I highly recommend reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Pat Conroy's writing is fantastic. I can read sections of this b

    Pat Conroy's writing is fantastic. I can read sections of this book over and over and just marvel at his use of the language and descriptions. The book is very different from the movie. The movie focuses more on the "The Ten' while the book is more about the protagonists overall experience during his four year residence at the institute. I will surely be reading all of Conroy's work. Highly Recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    This is a great book as usual from Pat Conroy.

    It takes you to the life of a military school. Very insigtful. I enjoy his southern stories, makes me wantto travel to this place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    This book was not good at all. Just about nothing happens in eac

    This book was not good at all. Just about nothing happens in each chapter until about the fourth part of the book. Some things made it a little interesting to read, but The Lords of Discipline is by far, not a page turner. If you must read this good luck, if you do not need to, stay far away. It's a complete waste of time.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    You will not be disappointed.

    I read this book in college and it remains as one of my favorite books of all time... (I am now 38.) I literally had a crush on Will McLean, for years! Witty, smart, and such eloquent writing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE Pat Conroy!

    He never disappoints! This book, as all of his books are, just amazing, heart-wrenching and always with an added twist of humor! My favorite all time book is Pat Conroy's "Beach Music". I stumbled upon this book while back-packing in the Swiss Alps, I found myself looking down at the book more than keeping my head high to see the mountains.......enough said! Give me MORE Mr. Conroy!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7