Customer Reviews for

The Lords of Discipline

Average Rating 4.5
( 122 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    internal error ?

    '...device does not support file type. On my NOOK color? Then why is it offered as a nook book and what do l do with a book I've paid for and can't access to read?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    Awesome book

    If you haven't read this book, read it. If you have already read it, read it again. This is a great book. Conroy puts you so close to the story, you can smell the breeze coming off the South Carolina coast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    Awesome!!!

    This is by far one of the best books I have ever read. Pat Conroy is an excellent author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Better than Prince of Tides

    The whole man. The man of integrity and honor. The product created by the harsh discipline and loyal brotherhood of the Charleston Military Institute. This "whole man" is the professed goal of CMI, but when Private Will McLean learns the Institute's horrible secrets during his senior college year, he is threatened with discipline he never imagined from men of honor. As I read this novel, I was often reminded of Lord of the Flies. Golding suggests that ritualized violence occurs when mature, civilized rule is absent; Conroy demonstrates, however, that mature, civilized rule may simply hide the most sinister rituals and violence. I think readers will enjoy the well-developed characters and the beautiful descriptions of Charleston. Because much of the conflict centers on Will's senior year, 1967, when the first black is admitted to CMI, some readers may find the situation and language offensive.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2010

    Who i an institute man?

    In my opinion i strongly believe that Mark was the true "institute man."
    What do you guys think?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Lords of Discipline

    The novel Lords of Discipline takes place in South Carolina during 1966, specifically at the Carolina Military Institute. It is written from the point of Will McLean, a senior at the institute. Will's life in South Carolina is different from most of the other cadets, whose families have livened in South Carolina for centuries. However, Will finds himself accepted by his best friend Tradd St. Croix's family. The St. Croix's view Will as one of their own sons. Life at the institute is not easy, and Will describes the harshness that goes on there through the plebe system that is practiced on the freshmen, otherwise called plebes. The plebes endure abuse and ridicule there first year at the institute by all upper classmen. Will however, refuses to participate in the abuse of the plebes. Will also acquires the responsibility of protecting the first African American cadet that has ever been accepted into the institute from an institute based group known as "The Ten". Protecting Pearce proves to be an even bigger challenge than Will expects, and a series of unfortunate events and betrayal test his commitment to protecting him.
    Pay Conroy, the author of The Lords of Discipline does an excellent job of creating dynamic characters. He does this by giving descriptions of them though other characters, as well as through their personality. For example, Will McLean is often made fun of by his friends because of his big nose, and Irish background, and Will often responds with a witty comment and sarcasm. Some other important characters are Will's roommates; Tradd St. Croix, Will's best friend and South Carolina native, Mark Santoro, and Dante Pignetti nicknamed Pig. Will's roommates are his closest friends, and they all helped each other survive their plebe year. They also help Will with his task of protecting Pearce, even though they are not required to. One other important character is Annie Kate, a native to South Carolina whose family history exists there for centuries. She meets will one night as he's on his way back to the institute from the St. Croix's house. Annie Kate is as witty as Will, and equally sarcastic. Annie Kate and Will become very fond of each other despite some undesirable differences, and apparent distaste for Will by Annie Kate's mother, who in the end, ends up loving Will as much as her daughter. The characters in the novel add an interesting prospective to the book.
    Overall, I really enjoyed this novel. It was a good read and kept my attention. In certain areas of the book I found that it was hard to put down. I think the plot was set up well, and fit in with the 1960's time period where racism was rapid, especially in the south where the book takes place. The book has everything from action and suspense to keep your heart on edge, but also has a decent amount of romance for those romantics out there. There is also some comic relief in stressful situations of the book which I especially liked. It I had to rate the book out of a scale of 1-10 I'd give it an 8 or a 9, it's definitely worth reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2006

    High School Freshman Reader

    The book was a strong read intellectually and had some strong moral dilemmas. But I feel that the results were easily anticipated and the surprise factor wasn't in the book for me. Overall okay book, a good challenging read, but not the best book every by far.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2005

    Powerful Read

    I had a hard time putting this book down. Pat Conroy does an excellent job portraying the life of a young cadet in a military school. There are many interesting characters and subplots to follow as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2005

    The Lords of Discipline is Everything You Could Want in a Book and More

    Great books appeal to the masses. Great books make you laugh until you are breathless with pleasure and great books will make you shed tears that you didn't know you had to shed. Great books capture you and refuse to let go. The Lords of Discipline is a Great Book in every way. It should be shared and recommended whenever possible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2005

    college student

    The Lords of Discipline was definately not what I was expecting when I picked it up... It was better. It's been along time since I've read anything that I couldn't put down or I couldn't figure out the ending until the end. This book really suprised me. It was drama, romance, horror, suspense, and very well organized, if it's possible to get a book with all of that in it at once, this is it. Pat Conroy truly did a magnificent job of portraying the thoughts and actions of a 22 year old boy in a Military based school during the late 1960's in the south. I do suggest that you read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2005

    Could not put this book down!

    I know it is sort of a standard cliché when discussing a great book to say, 'I couldn't put it down.' However, I honestly could not put this book down once I started reading it. I found myself wanted to read more and more after every page. This is one of the best works of fiction I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2005

    Action Packed Emotion

    Lords of Discipline is what opened my mind up to reading more novels. I was a stubborn kid who thought books were boring until I picked this novel up for my junior year English class. This book is full of action and excitement. It can be classified under romance, mystery, or fiction. It explores the ins and outs of a son's dream to fulfill his family's wishes, even if they aren't his own.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2004

    Mind Blowing

    Lords of Discipline was amazing. Although it was difficult to begin, after the first 50 pages I could not put it down. I cried several times throughout the horrific picture Conroy paints of military schools, yet I admire the boys who suffer through it. This book absolutely blew my mind. I would recommend it to anyone 17 or above.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2004

    Awesome Book

    the Lords of Discipline was an awesome read. I'm going into the 11th grade and it was a little above my head...but the parts i fully understood & the importance of them...it was just mind blowing. I would reccomend this book to everyone, over high school.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2003

    Best Book I have Ever Read!

    I loved this book! Although the beginning was a little slow, the last 250pgs are amazing! I couldn't put it down. This moving novel about the innerworkings if a military institute is truly captivating, and I would reccommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2003

    Great Book

    I enjoyed this book very much. I couldn't put it down. However, my family is from Charleston and the desciptions of the old Charleston families were less than flattering. I read this book before going to the citadel and have to admit it was enlightening. The way Mr. Conroy describes Charleston in 1964 is exactly the way I had pictured it from my dad's stories. Pat Conroy is definitely the best author I have ever read. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a book filled with constant surprise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2003

    Genius!

    Recently a friend of mine mentioned her reading of this book and recomended it too me, so i got a copy. Once I actually got around to picking it up I really couldnt put it down, I read way over half the book in the first day alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2003

    The Best Book That I Have Ever Loved

    Though not a particular fan of military life, the book delves into the human side of what men must go through to prove themselves to other men and to themselves. The is my favorite book of all time, and I would recommend it to everyone. You will find something in this novel that you will relate to.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2003

    My first book read by Mr. Conroy

    Read prior to my son's attendance at The Citadel. Very graphic and challenging. Any cadet wearing 'the ring' is surely to be a fine individual and a success in life unlike many college graduates.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2003

    A True Masterpiece in Literature

    The Lords of Discipline is a well written masterpiece that should be recommended to anyone who is looking for a good read. It teacher so many lessons through its fantastic writing style, theme and overall concept. This novel wonderfully depicts the themes of racism, sadism and pride of the Carolina Military Institute and its cadets.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7