Customer Reviews for

Lose Weight Without Dieting or Working Out

Average Rating 4
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

I Lost 16 Pounds On My First 3 Weeks on DEM System!!

First let me start by saying the DEM system works and it makes sense!! I had 'aha' moments throughout the entire book! I just completed my 3 week detox phase, in the first week I lost 5 lbs! I remember my boyfriend telling me my face was getting skinny and there was a g...
First let me start by saying the DEM system works and it makes sense!! I had 'aha' moments throughout the entire book! I just completed my 3 week detox phase, in the first week I lost 5 lbs! I remember my boyfriend telling me my face was getting skinny and there was a glow about me.. I was super motivated after that! .. Now let me tell you it was tough for me that 1st week.. Those sugar cravings were calling me!.. I almost gave in to those cravings but would grab a piece of fruit instead and the cravings would fade…. By week 2.. I had lost another 6 lbs..and feeling pretty amazing, my cravings were gone and I honestly began to crave fruit and salads.. I remember having lunch with a friend who had a greasy burger fries and soda.. It didn't bother me at all , I had my lavish Salad and I was fine, I couldn't believe it!! By week 3, I had lost another 5 lbs.. So my total weight lost for the 3 week detox has been 16 lbs!! Let me tell you, I got my confidence back and it's soaring!.. I celebrate non scale victories like.. my favorite jeans now fitting looser and being able to comfortably cross my legs.. I can now button up one of my favorite coats.. I can wrap the bath towel around my body .. Most importantly I have asthma and sometimes i have to remind myself to take my medication , I'm breathing so much better!!.. My sleep is even better and more restful! .. All the benefits that comes along with being on the system is incredible!..These are my immediate victories after completing the 3 week detox,I'm not going to say it was easy, it was NOT for the first week or so, actually was one of the hardest things ive done in my life..trying to break the addictions ..but it works if you stay committed ..and it gets better you soon begin to realize you can do this and win.. You begin to realize you have the power to get yourself back! The DEM system has been life changing for me.. And although I want to rid of this unwanted weight…(and I will) It's not about fast weight loss..for me it's no longer about a quick fix.. It's about me evolving, changing from the inside out.. And changing my relationship with food! .. I had no clue as to what healthy eating truly meant until this book..even with me being a healthcare professional!… This book teaches you how to be aware and make the right choices.. I'm a label reader now! .. I'm conscious about every single thing I put in my body! ..and what I love it's not a diet.. DEM is a life change..this is the only thing I have found that I can honestly do for a lifetime.. In fact I'm back on the DEM 3 week phase.. I loved the results and how I felt.. So why not stay here for a while?.. It works I'm a testament to that.. It works if you stay committed ..Stick to it, stay the course, you've got everything to lose! I'm Getting My Sexy Back :)

posted by JenniferIvy on February 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Master Clense in sheeps clothing!!!

The author presents this as if she had discovered something new! Sadly it is just a long way around to the Master Clense. Dress up but still the same old same, nothing new. I feel conned out of money with nothing new learned. Please do nit buy, look up the Master Clense...
The author presents this as if she had discovered something new! Sadly it is just a long way around to the Master Clense. Dress up but still the same old same, nothing new. I feel conned out of money with nothing new learned. Please do nit buy, look up the Master Clense for free on the internet and save your money! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!!

posted by 5194561 on September 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    I Lost 16 Pounds On My First 3 Weeks on DEM System!!

    First let me start by saying the DEM system works and it makes sense!! I had 'aha' moments throughout the entire book! I just completed my 3 week detox phase, in the first week I lost 5 lbs! I remember my boyfriend telling me my face was getting skinny and there was a glow about me.. I was super motivated after that! .. Now let me tell you it was tough for me that 1st week.. Those sugar cravings were calling me!.. I almost gave in to those cravings but would grab a piece of fruit instead and the cravings would fade…. By week 2.. I had lost another 6 lbs..and feeling pretty amazing, my cravings were gone and I honestly began to crave fruit and salads.. I remember having lunch with a friend who had a greasy burger fries and soda.. It didn't bother me at all , I had my lavish Salad and I was fine, I couldn't believe it!! By week 3, I had lost another 5 lbs.. So my total weight lost for the 3 week detox has been 16 lbs!! Let me tell you, I got my confidence back and it's soaring!.. I celebrate non scale victories like.. my favorite jeans now fitting looser and being able to comfortably cross my legs.. I can now button up one of my favorite coats.. I can wrap the bath towel around my body .. Most importantly I have asthma and sometimes i have to remind myself to take my medication , I'm breathing so much better!!.. My sleep is even better and more restful! .. All the benefits that comes along with being on the system is incredible!..These are my immediate victories after completing the 3 week detox,I'm not going to say it was easy, it was NOT for the first week or so, actually was one of the hardest things ive done in my life..trying to break the addictions ..but it works if you stay committed ..and it gets better you soon begin to realize you can do this and win.. You begin to realize you have the power to get yourself back! The DEM system has been life changing for me.. And although I want to rid of this unwanted weight…(and I will) It's not about fast weight loss..for me it's no longer about a quick fix.. It's about me evolving, changing from the inside out.. And changing my relationship with food! .. I had no clue as to what healthy eating truly meant until this book..even with me being a healthcare professional!… This book teaches you how to be aware and make the right choices.. I'm a label reader now! .. I'm conscious about every single thing I put in my body! ..and what I love it's not a diet.. DEM is a life change..this is the only thing I have found that I can honestly do for a lifetime.. In fact I'm back on the DEM 3 week phase.. I loved the results and how I felt.. So why not stay here for a while?.. It works I'm a testament to that.. It works if you stay committed ..Stick to it, stay the course, you've got everything to lose! I'm Getting My Sexy Back :)

    34 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    This is not a diet book...it's so MUCH more!!!

    I loved this book! I read it in less than 2 days. I've read tons of weight loss books but this one showed me how to improve my health and energy....what a huge bonus! I take it with me to the grocery store so i can shop for the foods that help me get slim and healthy. Just in phase 1 of the DEM system, I've lost 5 pounds in one week, and even though some of it might be water weight, my digestion has improved and i am less bloated. It's just a really, really AWESOME book! My new weight loss bible!

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    Amazing Book: Everything I ever needed to know to lose weight is in this book!

    This book is PROFOUND! I read the book in one day and it's over 300 pages. I felt like everything I didn't know about weight loss was explained in a manner that made perfect sense to me. I mean, I feel like a now know WHY I could never lose weight permanently. The messages about why diets fail you, why exercise won't make you thin, and how to help my body burn fat more effortlessly, and then the biggie was understanding how hormonal imbalances cause weight gain...it was all written so clear and easy to understand, it really resonated with me. I found out I had 2 of the hormonal imbalances that causes weight gain.

    I started on the DEM System and in the first week, I lost 5 pounds but I really feel healthier. Another thing I noticed was that my digestion is so much better, less bloating, cramping and gas...much better bowel movements (I know TMI). I take this book with me everywhere I go and reference it throughout the day. I guess I expected something gimmicky from the title, but oh my, it's so much more than I could have ever imagined. Now that I have this book, nothing will stop me in my weight loss journey!!!!!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    Great results right away!

    I bought this book and have lost 4lbs in the first week. The DEM is giving me GREAT results and I feel good with lots ot of energy. the book is great, easy and I still get to eat....but eat healthy, which is making me feel better. My body feels like a new person in just 2wks. JJ is amazing I thank her for writing this book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    LOVED THIS BOOK!

    Loved, loved this book... WOW!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    Highly recommended!

    The book had a ton of useful info. I love the detox suggestions. I learned I can eat while detoxing and not starve myself. This will helped me eat healthier and since I already workout, this will get me to the next level. I hadn't lost any weight from exercising for the past 7 weeks, but just in the first 7 days on this system, i've lost 4 pounds and Istill get to eat. So I am LOVING this new DEM system! Next I'm going to follow the suggestions to check my hormones because what I learned in this book has encouraged me to check my hormone levels for imbalances causing me to gain weight. Ive learned so much about my weight struggles!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    It's not a Diet - It's a Way of Life

    With all of the information contained...the following stuck out for me the most..."Self-love is the key to maintaining your healthy, ideal weight." I started the book in December and just finished it in February... I couldn't face up to what I new would be coming... the info on sugar (I admit it - I'm addicted - and will be breaking the addiction) based on completing ALL of the book. The book is more than what to eat and not to eat - as it proclaims, it's not a diet but a way of life. It's full of so much common sense and WONDERFUL education, motivation and inspiration. I encourage you to read it and others recommended by the author to better educate yourself and love yourself to a better, more beautiful and healthier you. Learn about what to eat; what not to eat and WHY. Learn how to better care for your body, motivate yourself and remove toxins with your body (and some that may be in your life). Some of the secrets shared for a healthier you, really go beyond just food. I am so glad I got over my sugar phobia and finished reading it...Next I'll actually report on my progress via Sisters Getting Slim.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    MOST AMAZING WEIGHT LOSS BOOK I EVER READ!

    What an AMAZING book…. The book has over 300 pages of information on how to lose weight PERMANENTLY and get off diets!! It talks about a DEM System which is a way to lose weight by detoxing the body, balancing hormones and eating clean. But what I like is that finally explains what detoxifying the body is, and it gives you 10 different ways to detox the body. I honestly never really understood it but there are several chapters that explain in so anyone can understand. Also, in the appendix, it gives the best overview of the Master Cleanse, which it calls a Detox Fast, since many people are confused about it. The Master Cleanse is NOT a part of the DEM system, it’s something optional that one can do as a detox method. It was in the appendix, but I’m glad I read it to understand what it is and what it’s not. I’ve already begun the DEM System phase 1 and I just finished the first 2 weeks and I lost 9 pounds; better mental clarity, more energy or rather not so rundown and fatiguesd. I love having control of my cravings and eating habits too. YAY!!! I love this new DEM lifestyle introduced in the book. Another favorite part is the author’s explanation of why a sugar addiction is worse than a drug addiction…WHOA if you read this chapter, you will be so serious about getting sugar out of your diet. It has a quiz to help you determine if you are a sugar addict... and I was, but the books gave several good tips to help break the sugar addiction. I also like the tips for being young and vibrant if you’re over 40…I now have strategies to get rid of cellulite, aging dry skin and wrinkles. This is perfect for me since I’m 45 and dealing with these issues now. HIGHLY MOTIVATING BOOK!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    THE DEM System is working for me!

    The DEM system provided in the book, which stands for detoxing-eating-moving is working well for me. I lost 4 pounds in 6 days. I'm through the first week of the the detox phase and although the book said the detox phase is the hardest, i have been doing well, more energy, clearer thinking, weight loss. I feel in control of my eating habits. I really love this book... was skeptical, but LOVE this new DEM lifestyle... Highly recommended... I very excited about this!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Waste...Literally!!!

    Heard about it on the Steve Harvey morning show. I wasted my money...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Waste of time

    I just purchased this book, and was very disappointed after searching for this book for 2 weeks I've come to discover like the previous reviewer this is just the Master Cleanse extended don't waste your money. I was have love to support this but it's the Master Cleanse when it comes down to it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Master Clense in sheeps clothing!!!

    The author presents this as if she had discovered something new! Sadly it is just a long way around to the Master Clense. Dress up but still the same old same, nothing new. I feel conned out of money with nothing new learned. Please do nit buy, look up the Master Clense for free on the internet and save your money! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    The DEM system is amazing!!

    This book helped me experience how good I could feel by eliminating bad foods from my diet during the detox phase. I now feel more alert, mentally sharp and don't have the highs and lows that I used to experience each day. I've never considered myself "really" overweight but... I'm 44 years old and like most men, I have always dreamed of having a 6 pack. I have worked out off and on my entire life but never could achieve that elusive 6 pack until I discovered the DEM system. I lost 14 lbs in 3 weeks and am constantly looking or taking pics of my abs.. My abs look better now than they did when I was 21 years old!! I am so tickled!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    My Weight Loss Bible!

    Everything i ever wanted to know about weight loss...finally in one book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Fake Reviews

    Too many fake reviews on this book. No science behind this plan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    Lost 44 Pounds on the DEM system which is simply amazing!!

    Ok everybody!! I am so excited, just bubbling over about the DEM system. I honestly feel like running and yelling down the street! LOL! I started the DEM System 3 months ago (I wanted to wait to do my review after the 90 day mark) and right now I stand 44 pounds lighter. I cannot believe I have actually lost 44 pounds on the DEM system. My body is turning into a fat-burning machine as I am losing 3 -5 pounds each week on this system WITHOUT WORKING OUT! In the first 2 weeks during the 21 day detox phase I lost 14 pounds alone. And to be very clear, you do eat on this detox phase… the DEM System has nothing to do with the Master Cleanse… I could never go without eating. The DEM system allows you to eat abundantly but just different foods that help the body get healthy and burn fat!!

    I’m actually surprised that I have lost 44 pounds without working out. Everyone already knows that you SHOULD work out but sometimes you can be too heavy or too fatigued to even begin working out.…it was too hard on my knees and joints but now, starting next week I will start walking on my treadmill that has been collecting clothes for years. LOL!

    This book is simply amazing! I still think my favorite chapter is the one on 10 ways to detox the body. These are some of the most fun ways to detox that I never knew about. I learned about body brushing which has helped smooth out that deep cellulite I had on the back of my legs. This book has so many secret tips for getting slimmer and looking and feeling better.

    Here’s the best part. My co-workers are stopping me telling me how great I look and I tell them go get this book…it is THE TRUTH!!! One of them is a diabetic and I showed her the section about insulin and she was convinced she needed this book too. Now we have about 6 of us at work, all going to start the 21-day Detox phase together… I’m gonna redo the detox phase with them too as I just love this healthy lifestyle this book promotes!!

    I love this book… it is HIGHLY recommended to all!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    ?

    Is this book good for tweens?????? Plz reply

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    love this book it reinforced a lot of good points

    good read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    Lost 10 pounds in first 7 days....i can do this!!!

    I started the DEM program 10 days ago and have already lost 7lbs! YAY TO ME!! I also feel very energized like I can do this. This book has given me my life back. I'm now loving vegetables and fruits. Unlike other diet plans that exercised strict portion control, even on produce, this program is so easy to follow. This books makes getting healthy and slim so doable!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    Thank you...Thank you for writing this book!

    THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU for writing this amazing book. I just started the DEM Program a week ago and have already lost 10 pounds. I couldn’t believe it when I weighted myself. This book has really opened my eyes and changed my entire outlook on the way I eat. This book has changed my eating habits for life forever! THANK YOU!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4