Customer Reviews for

Lose Weight Without Dieting or Working Out

Average Rating 4
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

I Lost 16 Pounds On My First 3 Weeks on DEM System!!

First let me start by saying the DEM system works and it makes sense!! I had 'aha' moments throughout the entire book! I just completed my 3 week detox phase, in the first week I lost 5 lbs! I remember my boyfriend telling me my face was getting skinny and there was a g...
First let me start by saying the DEM system works and it makes sense!! I had 'aha' moments throughout the entire book! I just completed my 3 week detox phase, in the first week I lost 5 lbs! I remember my boyfriend telling me my face was getting skinny and there was a glow about me.. I was super motivated after that! .. Now let me tell you it was tough for me that 1st week.. Those sugar cravings were calling me!.. I almost gave in to those cravings but would grab a piece of fruit instead and the cravings would fade…. By week 2.. I had lost another 6 lbs..and feeling pretty amazing, my cravings were gone and I honestly began to crave fruit and salads.. I remember having lunch with a friend who had a greasy burger fries and soda.. It didn't bother me at all , I had my lavish Salad and I was fine, I couldn't believe it!! By week 3, I had lost another 5 lbs.. So my total weight lost for the 3 week detox has been 16 lbs!! Let me tell you, I got my confidence back and it's soaring!.. I celebrate non scale victories like.. my favorite jeans now fitting looser and being able to comfortably cross my legs.. I can now button up one of my favorite coats.. I can wrap the bath towel around my body .. Most importantly I have asthma and sometimes i have to remind myself to take my medication , I'm breathing so much better!!.. My sleep is even better and more restful! .. All the benefits that comes along with being on the system is incredible!..These are my immediate victories after completing the 3 week detox,I'm not going to say it was easy, it was NOT for the first week or so, actually was one of the hardest things ive done in my life..trying to break the addictions ..but it works if you stay committed ..and it gets better you soon begin to realize you can do this and win.. You begin to realize you have the power to get yourself back! The DEM system has been life changing for me.. And although I want to rid of this unwanted weight…(and I will) It's not about fast weight loss..for me it's no longer about a quick fix.. It's about me evolving, changing from the inside out.. And changing my relationship with food! .. I had no clue as to what healthy eating truly meant until this book..even with me being a healthcare professional!… This book teaches you how to be aware and make the right choices.. I'm a label reader now! .. I'm conscious about every single thing I put in my body! ..and what I love it's not a diet.. DEM is a life change..this is the only thing I have found that I can honestly do for a lifetime.. In fact I'm back on the DEM 3 week phase.. I loved the results and how I felt.. So why not stay here for a while?.. It works I'm a testament to that.. It works if you stay committed ..Stick to it, stay the course, you've got everything to lose! I'm Getting My Sexy Back :)

posted by JenniferIvy on February 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Master Clense in sheeps clothing!!!

The author presents this as if she had discovered something new! Sadly it is just a long way around to the Master Clense. Dress up but still the same old same, nothing new. I feel conned out of money with nothing new learned. Please do nit buy, look up the Master Clense...
The author presents this as if she had discovered something new! Sadly it is just a long way around to the Master Clense. Dress up but still the same old same, nothing new. I feel conned out of money with nothing new learned. Please do nit buy, look up the Master Clense for free on the internet and save your money! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!!

posted by 5194561 on September 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    The book changed my life

    This book is very very good. I thank JJ Smith for writing it. It has changed my life..I am finally free of bad habits. I feel great about my health and body for the first time ever

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    Lost Weight, Lowered Cholesterol and my body is bouncing back FINALLY!

    I read the entire book in one day and started the next and have never felt better. I never thought I would be able to break my addiction to sugar, sodas, breads, pastas but I've done it. I actually thought I wouldn't succeed but I decided to try this program anyway. I am 49, was tired, unhappy, and overweight. After just 4 days on the program my energy levels was up and I was feeling great. After two weeks, I lost 11 pounds and I just couldn't believe it... I jumped on and off the scale in excitement. I have the motivation and KNOWLEDGE to continue my journey.


    Also, a few weeks before I started the DEM program, I had bloodwork done and my triglyceride level was a little high at 180. After these first 2 weeks, I have lowered them to 135. You can try anything you want to lose weight but this is the first weight loss program that ALSO improves your health while changes your eating habits. This DEM Progam is the way to live! My body is finally bouncing back to something I can be proud of. Thanks for writing this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    This book is very repetitive, but the concept is okay. I do no t

    This book is very repetitive, but the concept is okay. I do no think it is realistic though. To me this would be just like other diets that will allow you to lose some weight but once it is over, you're right back to square one or worse. I think the practice of a healthy diet and exercise is the true staple of a healthy weight. When I stick with that simple concept, I accomplish a lot more.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    A New Person...New Found energy

    This book is one of the best health books I have ever purchased. And believe me I have purchased a number of them. JJ Smith has really covered areas that most diets never cover or most people don't think of covering. The information in the book is wonderful for losing weight, but also provides information for those who are trying to live a more productive and healthy life. There are 1000's of people who go to doctors day after day and never uncover the real issue. They leave with numerous prescriptions to treat issues that are never solved. I was one of those prior to reading this book. I am proud to say that I have begun a transformation process. I lost 9lbs the first week. The biggest accomplishment is I now have more energy and the daily migraines are no longer an issue I would like to thank JJ for taking time to respond to my emails and blogs. Continue to share your knowledge, the world would benefit from more “JEWELS” like you! I was so happy with the book that I purchased a number of them as gifts for my sister and friends. One of them suffered with IBS and problems with elimination. I know this is “TMI” but she now eliminates on a daily basis. :) I would give the book 100 stars but there are only 5:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    This was the first self help book that I have ever purchased and I loved it. It's an easy read and soo informative. I couldn't put it down. If you're looking for a book that offers a quick fix and lots of different ways to count calories this isn't the book for you! It's much more because it focuses on why we have bad eating habits and how to conquer them with a lifestyle change.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    Lost 17 pounds in first 3 weeks and still got to eat!

    I bought this book and read it in one day. Let me first start off by saying I have read tried every popular diet book in the world but I must say I have NEVER learned so much about why I have been fat my entire life until I read this book. The book is truly AMAZING. I’m not even gonna start by telling you how much weight I loss, although that has me jumping for joy. I want people to understand something that’s changed for the very first time, something NO other diet book did for me. I’ve changed my lifestyle. I don’t crave unhealthy foods, I don’t want them. I’m not trying to avoid them like when you’re “on a diet” I truly desire salads and fresh fruits, nuts and seeds. My mind has changed, my cravings have changed and my body is thanking me for it.



    The book starts off with a detox phase and has you avoid unhealthy foods, do supplements, colon cleansers for 21 days. This was the part that changed my cravings and eating habits. The detox phase was easy to me because I got to eat…and eat abundantly. But it was just different stuff than I was used to eating. The book helped me to understand I was a sugar addict. I was addicted to pop, candy, cakes, energy drinks and hardly ever ate anything healthy. This is why I always gained the weight back after my diets, I never really broke the addictions and always went back to unhealthy eating. After the three weeks on the detox phase, I was delighted to be down 17 pounds.



    I just didn’t lose 17 pounds in the first three weeks. In fact, there are many diets where you can lose weight, but the trick is how do you keep the weight off? Unlike any other diet I’ve tried (and geeesh I’ve tried them all), I am feeling better than I have in about 20 years. I am 49 years old, was tired, fatigue, unhappy, dull skin and hair and thoughtthis is just what happens as you get older. But my co-workers are telling me I look good, they say I look slimmer, younger. People are noticing which is great but I tell you the information in this book has literally made me feel 20 years younger. I’m sleeping better, I feel more solid, happier. I just LOVE the way I’m feeling and for the first time in a long time, I CANNOT wait for summer to get here! Bring it on!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    Broke my addiction to sugar!

    First and foremost, let me say I love this book! I finished the 21 detox phase of the DEM system and lost 14 pounds and love that I'm finally eating healthier and better. The detox phase actually had me EATING fruits, vegetables, nuts/seeds. Whereas I would have a donut or coffee cake for breakfast, I now eat oatmeal with fresh fruits and finally feel full after breakfast. I don't have any cravings, no more acne breakouts and I even lost some belly fat. I'm feeling energetic and I got rid of those dark, under eye circles. I love drinking the green drinkk every morning too. My biggest and best surprise was that I BROKE MY ADDICTION TO SUGAR! Such a huge accomplishment!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    I lost 19 pounds in the first 22 days!!!!

    I'm a 38 year old male. I started on the DEM system on Feb. 5th at 203 pounds, now on Feb. 27nd, the scale said 184. I've lost 19 pounds in 22 days on phase 1 of DEM system. It works. The hardest part was giving up the sugar, but I ate a lot of fruit to get through the hardest part of the Detox phase. I also called it DEM-Lite because I avoided all of the foods except chicken. I would eat some chicken on my salads but other than that I did pretty well. If I had gave up chicken in my salads I would be visually missing by now. I didn't do the green drink everyday as required but still got great results! I plan to add the green drink very soon, but I am feeling really great now. I plan to continue the eating selection life style changes going forward.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    The book is a GIFT of optimal health..the author is special too!

    I have told so many people about this book and about detoxing and cleansing the body the way JJ describes it in her book… plain, easy to understand English! Everything is explained "JJ style" with love, clarity and simplicity. The “love” part because she makes herself available to everyone on the Forum on her website and answers questions from the book. I RECOMMEND everyone I know get this book immediately if they want to live a healthier lifestyle. In my opinion, the suggestions outlined in your book are simple and economical, and have dramatic and immediate, positive effects. Thank you for giving us the gift of optimal health! YOU ROCK JJ!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Brilliant Book!

    Brilliant from cover to cover... I could not put the book down! WOW! It has info that I have never heard about as it relates to managing my weight and getting healthy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    Book is a life changer for me

    I feel my life has been transformed by this powerful insight in this book on healthy living. I want nothing but the ultimate best for my body, my health and life now (and Chapter 17, Motivation for a New Body and a New You... INSPIRING AND POWERFUL) This book has become my guide. Thanks so much for writing it. I recommend it to everyone i know.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    This book is the BOMB!!

    I'm going into week 3 of the detox phase of the DEM System and I'm already down 9 pounds in the first 2 weeks. I had a stomach pooch/bulge that I could not get rid of and it's actually starting to slim down. I could lose weight easily until I hit my 40s, and then it all went downhill. I like that the book had a chapter on hormonal imbalances that cause weight gain because i believe that is my problem. I'll be looking into that at teh end of teh detox phase. The other thing, in preparing for all the foods and supplements i needed for the detox phase, I've come to love the smell of fresh fuits and veggies in teh produce section. It feels like I'm in the right place and doing something good for my body. I'm thankful for this book as it has given me a healthier lifestyle for the next phase of my life. In other words, this book is REALLY all that!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Disappointed

    This book is just a fluffed up version of the master cleanse diet. Waste of money.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    Great book for Weight Loss.. Great Health...

    I really enjoyed reading this book! The information in it is SO complete. It is quite an impressive book. I am 43 years old and this book was just what I needed. I am pre-menopausal and could not lose weight even though I am working out 3 times/week. As I read the book, I realized I had several of the issues you discussed in your book, I am pre-menopausal, insulin-resistant, and suffer from estrogen dominance; And reading your book, I realized that all of these reasons were why I could not lose weight. I started on your DEM system and started to lose weight in the first week. WHOA! I am finally on the right path. I was getting so depressed at not being able to lose weight no matter how hard I tried. I wanted to share this review because women who are like me with similar weight loss challenges can finally begin to lose weight with the wisdom in this book. JJ Smith has made this book easy to follow by outlining the DEM (detox, eat, move) system in one comprehensive book. JJ also motivates you and makes you feel really good along your weight loss journey.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2013

    This Diet requires a lot of additional things. Like colon cleans

    This Diet requires a lot of additional things. Like colon cleansers, saunas, green drinks, so on and so on. I wasn't as happy with it as I thought I would've been. If you want to spend alot of extra money then buy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Helps

    Helps

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Tigersnow

    She moans and Cindy again then grabs her own ti.t in her mouth and sucks it. "Ohhhh!!!! God your amazing!!!"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Metalheart

    *3 growled and griped her with his forepaws and pounded her*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Sunny

    Keeps licking her puzzy and spits in it ming her even weter

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    Highly Recommended - Check it out!

    This is an easy read book with explanations that have been researched and make sense. I didn't even follow closely but have lost 8 pounds without trying. I have only changed my eating habits. Not only have I lost a few pounds, but I have more energy. A must for your library!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4