Customer Reviews for

Loser (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Average Rating 4
( 289 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(163)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Book Review of Loser

Book Review

By SeungJin Han

Recently, I finished a book called Loser, by Jerry Spinelli. It had an interesting plot that was simple yet enjoyable. The writer used different elements to pull off this lively book.
The story is just basically about the life o...
Book Review

By SeungJin Han

Recently, I finished a book called Loser, by Jerry Spinelli. It had an interesting plot that was simple yet enjoyable. The writer used different elements to pull off this lively book.
The story is just basically about the life of Donald Zinkoff, a loser who lives in a small suburban city. It tells about what happens at his school and what he does at home. So there are several exciting events, such as him delivering the mail with his dad, messing up field day, befriending Hector Binns for a while, and receiving his first but last A. However, near the last half of the book, there is one more emphasized event. A girl named Claudia goes missing during the night of a very snowy day, and Zinkoff sets out to find her.
Loser had great characters, an amazing plot, and an excellent setting. The reader will surely enjoy Zinkoff unknowingly growing, changing, and developing into a normal kid who can fit in. This book will give out several giggles and laughs.

posted by EsJay_Da_Aussum on April 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Boring

I Had to read this for school and in my opinion it's extremly boring and pointless

posted by 1356637 on January 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 291 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    Book Review of Loser

    Book Review

    By SeungJin Han

    Recently, I finished a book called Loser, by Jerry Spinelli. It had an interesting plot that was simple yet enjoyable. The writer used different elements to pull off this lively book.
    The story is just basically about the life of Donald Zinkoff, a loser who lives in a small suburban city. It tells about what happens at his school and what he does at home. So there are several exciting events, such as him delivering the mail with his dad, messing up field day, befriending Hector Binns for a while, and receiving his first but last A. However, near the last half of the book, there is one more emphasized event. A girl named Claudia goes missing during the night of a very snowy day, and Zinkoff sets out to find her.
    Loser had great characters, an amazing plot, and an excellent setting. The reader will surely enjoy Zinkoff unknowingly growing, changing, and developing into a normal kid who can fit in. This book will give out several giggles and laughs.

    36 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    I love this book

    This book is so funny but when donald zinkoff grows up it gets more interesting. I totally recomend it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    20 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    Loser

    Have you ever seen or heard about a loser that loves school? A boy named Donald Zinkoff's love about the school is more than red, hot, flames of fire even though he is a loser. This story takes place in a elementary school which Donald goes to. The sidewalks are ruled by the 4th and 5th grade. This book is just about Donald's life through 1rst to 6th grade in the elementary school.

    The big problem is that Donald loves school too much even though he gets all teased and bullied by the older kids or his classmates. Donald still gets to get friends but always gets in trouble. He's just a guy that never wins.

    You may think Donald will just stay as a loser through graduation day, middle school, and high school. The answer is no. He changes from a Loser to a Winner on the very last day. You might want to know how Donald changes to a winner from a Loser. If you want to know, check this book out. I don't highly recommend this book to you because it's just a story about a Loser's life through 1rst to 6th grade. Though Donald faces many situations and changes to a Winner (hero) from a Loser. If u want to know how he changes then check this book out!

    17 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Loser

    I'm a 6th grade student from Glendale, Arizona. I read Loser by Jerry Spinelli as one of my five books that I had to read for the second quarter. It was a really good book. When I would have to stop reading it, I just couldn't put it down. It really grabbed my attention. Loser is definitely one of my favorite books. It's about a boy named Donald Zinkoff. He's outgoing, brave, and is also really funny. The book didn't say when it took place, but it probably took place in the present. When the book starts, he's starting first grade. By the end of the book, Donald is in middle school. During these years, Donald has many adventures. A part that I really liked reading was when it was Take Your Kid to Work Day. Donald got to help deliver mail with his dad because his dad is a mailman. His dad didn't want him delivering real mail, though, so Donald wrote letters to all the people in his neighborhood and delivered those instead. One woman that he delivered mail to would always call him "Mailman" every time she would see him. Another part that I liked was Donald's first day of school. He had a really tall hat that looked like a giraffe that he got from the zoo. He wore it on his first day of school. Some older kids were bullying him and took his hat. They were rubbing it in the dirt, but Donald just laughed along with the boys. They finally gave up on trying to pick on him. I like the way Donald reacted because it showed that he's brave when it comes to bullies. I can connect this book to my own life because I'm a kid like Donald. I have to face bullies and stand up for myself just like Donald did in the book. I can connect this book to the world because there are a lot of scary things in the world and people can stand up for themselves, but still be kind, just like Donald. Loser, by Jerry Spinelli is a great book.

    13 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Loser

    This is an amazing book. Anyone who doesnt like this book

    either didnt understand it or just never read it and are listining to people who didnt understand it. Anyway the point is that this is one of the greatest books i ever read.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Great

    This is a really great book:)

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Its great book!!!

    I couldnt put it down after i started reading loser its just that great and funny of a book!!

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Auwsom

    Recremended for all ages!!!!!!:)

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    AWESOME BOOK FOR A 10 YR OLD

    Amazing book finish at my pubic library in 2 days. It will grab on to you likke posion lvy

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    I didnt finish yet but good do far

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Wonderful"

    Great book! Luv it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Good book

    I read this for a book report and i loved it. Recommended for ages 9-13

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2010

    Great book!

    Loser is a book about a young, awkward "loser" named Donald Zinkoff. It tells of his adventures from first through sixth grade. It's everything the average kid faces, such as snow days, the curious mystery of the cellar monster, and silly words like "jabip", but Zinkoff has his own quirky differences- like, an upside down stomach valve, a three foot tall giraffe hat, and the urge to yell, "YAHOO!".
    I would definitely say the reading level of this book is between fourth and sixth grade, but Zinkoff is a character anyone can love. He's goofy, yet lovable, and I can guarantee he will make you smile. It teaches the important lessons of growing up, in a fun, cute story. Kudos to Jerry Spinelli, because this is definitely his best.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Cool

    Best book ever! :^)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Boring

    I Had to read this for school and in my opinion it's extremly boring and pointless

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2009

    This book rocks the house dawg!!!!

    Number one: Zinkoff is so like hilarious!!!!!
    Great book.
    If you havent read it you should or you are making a big mistake!
    Thank you!
    YOur books are awesome jerry spinelli!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    keep writing!!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2003

    The best book ever written

    i loved reading loser it was so exciting but at the end J.S (the auther) had to leave us hanging. it was sad because zinkoff didn't know every on e was calling him a loser.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    BEST EVER

    SO AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:D

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Love it!

    This is a sweet and funny book that people of all ages will love it. I give it FIVE stars . .
    O

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    Loser by: Jerry Spinelli

    For my literature class, everyone had to read a Jerry Spinelli book. I choose this one because I wanted to see whats would happen to Zinkoff. Here's a sneak peek of what happens to Zinkoff.
    Zinkoff in multiple different chapters is moving up from grades.... In chapter 1 it's the first day of Kindergarten and Zinkoff is wearing his new hat he got from the zoo. Which is a giraffe hat, but someone steals it and says to the teacher that Zinkoff stole my hat. This is all I am going to tell you becasue it will give the whole thing away.
    Everyone can connect with this book!
    Jerry Spinelli writes in Pennsylvania and he also includes in one of his stories a middle school called Lionville Middle School.
    I would highly recommend this book at any age!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 291 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15