Customer Reviews for

Losing Faith

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    Mysterious and Edgy

    This book was extremely well written and has an intriguing mystery that left me wondering what really happened until the final reveal. Brie is your typical self-involved teen until the night her super religious sister falls off a cliff. Others want to deem it a suicide, but Brie just can't believe that her sister would do that. She starts digging into her sisters last days and everything just becomes more and more confusing. Things also become more and more dangerous for Brie.

    As for characters, Brie was self-involved at the beginning, but while mourning her sister, and trying to get to the bottom of what really happened, she changes into a much more likable character. Faith and her friend Candace were the goody-goody, sweet religious type, but just good people that you just can't help but like. Amy and Dustin were the type of "friends" that make you think of the saying "with friends like these who needs enemies". Snotty and popular and the exact opposite of loyal. My favorite character, Tessa, who is the scary goth girl that everyone steers clear of unexpectedly becomes Brie's new best friend. She's tough as nails, but also loyal and has a really good heart. She cracked me up several times through the book. And last but not least Alis, he ends up being a great romantic interest for our MC. He's a home schooled boy whose a little quirky but so sweet and cute.

    I recommend this one to YA and adult fans alike. Mysterious, action-packed with romantic, and religious aspects, but all rounded out nicely to form a great read. I'm excited to see what Denise Jaden comes up with next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Tour-de-force of Emotion and Snarky Humor

    Brie is the not-so religious one in her very religious family. She's the black sheep compared to her devoutly Christian sister Faith, but when Faith dies of an apparent suicide, Brie realizes that she's no longer the black sheep, the bad child in her house; she's the only child. With Faith's death, Brie decides to unravel the mystery that was her sister and is determined to get to the bottom of her death.

    Part grief-stricken story, part mystery, Losing Faith is all-engrossing. Denise Jaden writes so fluidly and with so much emotion that Faith becomes an enigma, a tangible person that is now lost to the world. Brie's search for answers drives the story, while her slowly dissolving family creates this backdrop to the grief that Brie isn't allowing herself to let out.

    After Brie opens up to Tessa, the badass girl that people avoid, the Veronica Mars in her really takes hold. Brie and Tessa, along with Alis, the good-looking homeschooled guy who happened to show up at Faith's funeral, investigate what happened to Faith and how Alis' sister is involved.

    Jaden takes this story laced with religious beliefs and, remarkably, doesn't preach at all. Religion is absolutely essential to the plot, but Jaden never forces it upon the reader. It's there, but not a controlling aspect. The characters control the story throughout. Jaden develops the three main characters so well and with such distinct personalities that it's impossible to not be absorbed with them.

    Losing Faith is a tour-de-force of emotion and surprisingly snarky humor. At times it's a story engulfed in grief, but it's always full of mystery and heart. Jaden has weaved a remarkably realistic story that is a stellar debut.

    Opening line: The statue has got to go. ~ pg. 1

    Favorite line(s): "I'm sorry," I say when we bump into each other at the kitchen sink. And I am. Sorry they got stuck with me. I'm sure they've wondered about it too: Why couldn't we have kept the good one? ~ pg. 107

    And this one:

    "Yes, I own a jacket, and I've also had a boyfriend, but neither have brought me any real comfort." ~ pg. 306

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Losing Faith

    I was very interested to read Losing Faith as soon as I heard what it was about. I have never read a book with a religious cult before and I wanted to see how this author would handle it.

    The main character, Brie, was a very realistic teenager. Her life was wrapped around hanging with friends, impressing her boyfriend, and all around having a great social life. I remember those days all too well. Faith was very different than her sister. Faith lives and breaths her religion, where Brie didn't even go to church. Needles to say, these two sisters weren't very close.

    When Faith dies, Brie's whole world gets turned upside down. Her friends treat her like a social leper, her loser boyfriend still only cares about getting in her pants, her mom spirals into a deep depression and ignores her, and her dad would rather not talk about ie and try to pretend life is back to normal. With all that aside, Bries starts to find clues that point towards Faith's death being more than a suicide. My heart broke for Brie. This is a lot to handle for anyone who has just lost a sister. I wouldn't even be able to imagine it.

    My favorite characters were the two new friends Brie makes after Faith dies, Tessa and Alis. 'Terrible Tessa' is in your face and down right scary, but she is the type of person that will do anything for a true friend, including breaking and entering. Brie and Tessa's dialogue together was hysterical. I also loved finding out about Tessa's background story. Alis was such a sweetheart. Being homeschooled, he was entirely socially awkward, which is the opposite of Brie. I didn't know if I was going to like him in the beginning; I was afraid he would go all creeper on me. But he surprised me in the best of ways.

    Jaden did an excellent job pacing the story and revealing more of what happened to Faith at the right times. While the story obviously had religious themes, it was never told in a preachy way. My only complaint would be that nobody besides Faith seemed to put a few obvious clues together. Things like finding out Faith wasn't going to the youth group her parents thought she was at all the time should have had more people looking into it. Other than that, I really enjoyed this story.


    While emotional and heart breaking, it also had it's humorous parts that I couldn't help but laugh at. Losing Faith takes a realistic look into the grief of a family, and a faith soured by the wrong intent. Jaden has a wonderful debut under her belt. I can't wait to read more from her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Beautiful Story

    As originally posted on my blog Ticket to Anywhere

    I wasn't really sure what to expect when I decided to sign up for the Losing Faith tour on Traveling ARC Tours. I had heard some discussion surrounding the book and so thought hey why not? The book begins shortly before Brie's sister Faith is found dead of apparent suicide. However, despite how things look Brie doesn't believe that her sister killed herself. Brie and Faith might not have been the closest of sisters but there are some things that you just know about someone else. And so as a way to deal with the grief of her sister's...or avoid dealing with the grief...or both...Brie decides to investigate the events leading up to it.

    Losing Faith is the sort of book that is perfect for a lazy day of reading. Its great for sitting out on the balcony, curling up on the couch on a winter's night or relaxing on the beach. Its not a book that is filled with car chases or gunfights or overly intrinsic plots. Its a book that is filled with following words that you just fall into. The plot itself is a bit slow moving but I loved the beauty of the words and so I didn't mind that it took awhile for events to develop. I also didn't think that the cult in the synopsis was an actual cult - although it certainly has the earmarks of the beginning of a cult. Hey, even cults don't grow to David Koresch bigness overnight.

    I really loved the character of Brie. She was a genuine girl who was dealing with the loss of a sister and only really got to know her after it was too late. As with many Young Adult books Brie's parents were almost non-existant but they were seen on the peripherals. But what you saw of them showed that they each dealt with the grief and horror of losing a child in very realistic ways. Which left Brie in a weird state of limbo. It also didn't help that those Brie thought of as friends weren't really friends and those that Brie didn't were the ones that provided a pillar of strength. Also, a special shout out to Alistair (aka Alis) who is a wonderfully sweet boy that I think many will swoon over.

    There were some scenes that were cliched but over all there was a realism to the story that its hard not to enjoy the prose of the words. Losing Faith is a story about love, loss, and having faith in the world around you. Its a story that reminds you how easy it is to lose track of those that we should be closest to and so hopefully those that read Losing Faith take it to heart that people are only here for a brief moment and you should hold tight to your loved ones for as long as you can. I really enjoyed Losing Faith and its one that I will be recommending to others.

    As originally posted on my blog Ticket to Anywhere

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Should i read it?

    It sounds good and i lov mysteries. Should i?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Characters, Great Mystery!

    When I first received Losing Faith, I wasn't sure what to expect. I was familiar with Denise Jaden's writing so I knew it would be quality work, but I wasn't certain it would be my cup of tea. I imagine I'm well outside the intended audience. As a mystery lover, a few pages in I was hooked. Losing Faith is centered around a great, believable mystery that builds steadily and has a very tight conclusion. Strong characters with natural voices really brought the story to life. They have serious, often heart-wrenching issues, but the main character Brie is presented in a way that is thoughtful, entertaining, and often funny, despite the tragedy she is working through. I instantly liked her. With a strong supporting cast of friends, Brie confronts her trials with intelligence and a refreshingly positive attitude. Because of this, I always felt touched by her loss, but not depressed and never annoyed by the way she handled it, so the mystery and story stayed at the forefront while reading. That's a good thing, because the story itself is unique. I enthusiastically recommend Losing Faith, not only for the teen reader, for but for anyone that likes a good mystery/adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Joan Stradling for Teens Read Too

    Brie found her older sister, Faith, irritating with her spiritual outlook on life, but when Faith dies in a fall from a cliff, Brie discovers there was more to her sister than she thought. As she struggles to come to terms with the loss of her sister, Brie must deal with parents who seem to have forgotten they have another daughter, a boyfriend who betrays her, and a school full of people who no longer want to associate with her. If that weren't difficult enough, Brie uncovers some shocking clues that indicate her sister's fall may not have been an accident. The closer Brie gets to the truth, the more she learns about her sister's role in a twisted religious cult. Brie knows the only way to discover the truth is to get closer to the cult members, but she may end up paying for the truth with her life. I thought LOSING FAITH would be difficult to get into because of the subject matter, but I was pleasantly surprised. Jaden's ability to create life-like characters and the touch of mystery she added to the plot kept me reading straight through to the end. I've added this book to my re-read pile and look forward to opening the covers again soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1