Customer Reviews for

Losing Mum and Pup

Average Rating 4
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Grand

    Start to finish, just grand. A few people I recommended to demurred on the basis of not liking WFBs politics, or worried that it was going to be a Mommie dearest type . Couldn't be further from the truth, and those pople have retracted. Mr. Buckley's parents were large on the world stage but many of us have parents who are , on their own small stage, driven, smart, outrageous, loveable, frustrating-and you see sides of them that the public didn't. As a atheistic but "cultural Irish catholic ", DOB 1950, daughter , who lost her 88yr old Boston College cum laude-ex government officio - dad , this summer, I related to so much ( A week before he died he announced he was "very disappointed" I wouldn't help him get out of bed, into a wheelchair and sneak out of the hospital ). But anyone with a dying parent can relate-- anyone -who has had a parent can relate! And great stories about the Buckleys & other well known people, told / written marvelously. ( I had the audio book- he reads it very well and that Yalie accent does add to the enjoyment)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    a middle-aged man writes about becoming an orphan

    just because you're a full grown adult & the child of famous parents who you may have disagreed with, doesn't mean their deaths can't drop kick & sucker punch you -- a beautiful, beautiful book about your job being a child of parents that will have you proverbially laughing & crying at the same time...& bring your dictionary -- it's bill buckley's son after all!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    Read It!

    As an admirer of Mr. Buckly, I found this to be a treasure on paper. Who better to recall the life and times of a great man than his only son. I laughed a lot, cried a little, and thoroughly enjoyed this tribute to a man whose writings will live on for many decades!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Buckley remembers his parents adventures and staunch devotion to each other.

    A wonderful, poignant, funny and in many ways tearful recount of Christopher Buckley's parents' Patricia Taylor and William F. Buckley.
    Stories of their lives together and the adventures they experienced, keep the reader enthralled wondering how they will end.
    Buckley's humor brings out loud laughter on the antics of his most famous parents. Then, he will grab your heart strings with a warmth only those who have lost a parent or both can relate.

    Joan Didion's "The Year of Magicial Thinking" was an uplifting memorable book on coping with a loss and beautifully written. Buckley's has surpassed.

    The book is beautifully written. Each chapter flows taking the reader on a wonderful journey; right up to the very end.
    I loved the story, I loved the grace Buckley exhibits in his dealing with the loss of both parents in such a short time.
    A must read, for all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    MAP

    Hey!!! I set up my part of the oscars. Go to fanstasy oscars result two, four, six and eight to check it out. Now its your turn. -Chris

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    To LMS/MAP from SL

    Hey Chris!! I was reading the comments we have, and I was thinking, when we annouce the winner that we ask them for a speech as they accept their award. Sounds like a great idea right! Also to have DOS include these stories to be nominees nest time-- World of Lies, Griffin Feathers, and Daughter of Charm. And the fans want to have another oscars sooner.~ your lovable fan girl, Michelle

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    To to pup nap

    They arent even born yet..... post.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    Ur sick

    Really thats just wierd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    To pup nap

    POST POST POST!!!!!)) Yes they are. There arr five. I have been watching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    <p><p><p><p><p><p><p><p><p><p><p><p><p>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    Very Well Written!!! Will keep you hanging on every word!

    Christopher Buckley is an awesome author who wrote a poignant family story. I was always intrigued by the Buckley family and can relate to the era that Christopher grew up in. He had magical parents who stood together and raised a fine son. He also had so much love for his Mum and Pup. They cared deeply for their son as well. Very honest writing with some humor mixed in.
    I enjoyed this VERY much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    W

    N

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    A pug

    Whiper

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    On Losing My Mom and Dad Christopher Buckley is the only son of

    On Losing My Mom and Dad
    Christopher Buckley is the only son of William F. Buckley, Jr. and his wife, Patricia Taylor Buckley. He is a very experienced, well-educated writer, as one would expect. When I purchased this book, I thought I would read about how the death of both of his parents within a short time of each other had affected him. I thought I would find if his feelings of being an orphan would be similar to mine. We are, after all, all orphans when both of our parents have passed away, a fact with which many of us struggle. The flap of the cover even talks about the writer offering solace and comfort through his experience. However, that was not what I found. Mr. Buckley has written about the events around his parents&rsquo; deaths, almost as they happened, a chronology, so to speak. The difference between his experience and mine, basically, is that his parents were famous, mine were not, and he wrote with exotic vocabulary, whereas I would not.
    I was very disappointed in this book. For a &ldquo;common&rdquo; reader, a dictionary must be in one hand in order to get through each page of the book with the other hand. The goal of a writer is to communicate with his readers, and Mr. Buckley must have thought his readers were all very well educated, with an enormous vocabulary. I found this book difficult for most readers, as well as uninteresting to most. Yes, his parents were &ldquo;famous&rdquo; people, but many people are &ldquo;famous&rdquo;. He was raised in a very unique experience and I enjoyed hearing about those experiences and the interesting people in his family&rsquo;s circle. I am so sorry to read about his dad&rsquo;s illnesses at the end of his life. William F. Buckley, Jr., was, after all, a very smart man. I would have thought he would have had more discipline than to continue some of his destructive habits.
    I would not recommend this book if one is looking for sharing the common experience of losing one&rsquo;s parents. If you want to read about how one man handled the death of his very famous parents, this might interest you. That is, of course, if you have your dictionary. I think, also, that you must have liked William F. Buckley, Jr.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    recommended

    Although I never agreed with Wm. F. Buckley on his political views, he was always fun to watch. His son (he called Christo) grew up with all the privaleges that come with wealth. I really enjoyed reading this book because it put a really human face on a life of a boy growing up under the tutelege of a powerful opinionated parent. I liked the book and I think Christopher turned out just fine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting Insight Into A Famous Family

    Losing Mum And Pup is Christopher Buckley's memoir about growing up as the son of William F. Buckley and Pat Buckley, and then losing them both within a year. It starts with the death of Pat Buckley in the hospital, and then almost a year later, ends with the death of William F. Buckley of a heart attack in his office. Both led long, successful lives, and Christopher was in his mid-fifties when he lost them.

    Many people are familiar with William F. Buckley, his years of editing the conservative magazine, National Review, and of hosting the TV show Firing Line. Buckley is known as the lion of the modern conservative movement, and is revered by those who believe as he did. But the book does more than rehash talk about Buckley's politics.

    Christopher is successful in making his parents interesting to the reader. Pat Buckley was known as one of the premier hostesses of New York City, a fashion plate and arbitrator of taste. The reader also sees a side of William that might be surprising. He was a risk-taker, both in his work life and in his personal life. An example of this would be the time he flew to Boston in a small plane after having only an hour and a half of lessons. He loved to sail, and some of the best family times were those spent on various boats. He was an intensely religious man, and his religion focused his actions in every venue. Renowned for his kindness, he befriended those of every political stripe and people in every walk of life.

    Losing parents is a journey that most adults will inevitably face. Losing Mum and Pup shows how one man went on this journey gracefully, glad that he was there for his parents in their last years. One lesson that was evident was how little the typical family resentments between parent and child end up being, and how overpowering the influence and love between them is and how it endures. This book is receommended for all readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    Interesting family dynamics

    Christopher Buckley managed to write touchingly about many of the end-of-life issues that all families face, and gave hope to those of us who had similar issues that we're not alone in either the experiences or emotions associated with these issues. Plus the writer gave readers a fascinating and intimate look at one of America's most famous families.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Family view of Buckley

    A different point of view on a fascinating character of 20th century American politics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    A quick look behind the curtain

    Smart, clever writing about two highly visible, somewhat quirky, decidedly independent, and always interesting people. I was left wishing for a little more insight and a few less anecdotes, but overall a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Quick Read

    This book was a gift. I interviewed William F. Buckley on the QE2 in 1980. I also met pat Buckley at that time. Based on this experience I found the book fascinating and a very quick read. Great book about interesting people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3