Customer Reviews for

Losing Mum and Pup

Average Rating 4
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Posted July 31, 2009

    It's hard to believe a book about someone losing both parents within a year could be enjoyable.

    Christopher Buckley is a wonderful writer. (I guess he inherited that from his father.) His style is easy to read and very entertaining. It certainly helps that he has a very interesting life full of colorful characters and exotic locations.

    But he made it clear that even famous people still deal with the same family issues that the rest of us struggle with. My heart went out to him as he dealt with the physical decline of his "larger than life" father.

    I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys memoirs. And other Baby Boomers will be able to identify with many of the issues he deals with. His writing style and his quirky parents make the book enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    An honest, warm and insightful description of dealing with the death of parents.

    This book chronicles the experience of Christopher Buckley in dealing with the death of his two parents, both well-known and strong personalities, within one year. As an only child, he was the primary observer of their unusual lives and he interweaves the story with backward looks as he describes the often painful year in which they died. He does it with feeling and a hearty sense of humor, even detailing visits to the mortuary and planning the services. A worthwhile read for almost anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    Great Writer and Interesting Family Dynamics

    Loved it! The writer has a very engaging writing style that i thoroughly enjoyed as well as the subject matter he was dealing with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    Insightful reflection of unusual parents

    An enjoyable, insightful memoir of the author's parents. Being the only child of a well-known, provocative father, himself a writer, must have been a challenge, but Christopher Buckley, already an author of some note, gave a personal, loving touch to this work. His style might seem dry, but it was a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    Loving Tribute

    I loved this book. I was not a hugh William Buckley fan, but this book is so much less about the William Buckley. It is much more a touching account of a son's love for his mother and father. I read this book in a day....loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A "childs" view of his parents as they prepare to meet their maker

    This is a wonderfull and tenderly written account of growing up and growing wiser as an only child of two very accomplished parents. This is a worthwhile book regardless of your familarity with or your views of WFB. It is a book that gives valuable insights for how to relate to very independent, intelligent and headstrong parents as they grow older and face the inevitabiity of their death. As one who has long held Bill Buckley in the highest regard, I was touched by the humanity of each of the Buckelys as they struggled with themsleves and each other to come to terms with their lives...past, present and future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    Learning more about the great Bill Buckley.

    As a longtime fan of Bill Buckley's life,thoghts and observations, I was thrilled to get an inside look into the meanderings of his family. I almost felt like a guest at their famous dinner party table as I watched Chris' parents as a silent observer. A faithful epilogue to a wonderfully absorbing family. RIP Mum and Pup.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    Rare Objectivity from a Surviving Son

    It's a fascinating peek behind the shiny images that Bill and Pat Buckley constructed for their public (or we constructed for ourselves!), and a searingly honest and candid presentation of them, warts and all, as parents and people by their only son. For us, it's enlightening, shocking, and ultimately deeply moving. It's also troubling in that, as we cannot doubt the author's truthfulness, it tears away the happy and noble images that we all wish to leave behind in our loved ones' hearts, knowing that, for most of us, those are the closest and surest semblances of immortality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    On being an adult orphan. . .

    Christopher Buckley has captured what all adult orphans have experienced. While his parents were famous, he has written about both as if they were his parents and essentially, all parents. His ability to find humor in the ordinary narrates emotion that are common to all humans. This is a must for anyone who has experienced such a loss as well as a must for all those who should prepare themselves to let go, naturally and peacefully. It is an inspirational book, if you have lost a parent, are a parent or have a parent. . .read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A brief candid look at the Buckley family

    This is a fun read about an eccentric family of intellectuals -- beautifully written, as only a Buckley can do. You'll want a dictionary nearby.

    Being somewhat liberal, I usually disagreed with WFB's politics, but I miss his intellect and provocative ideas. The book is a too-brief, candid look at this family of three, their individual personalities and family dynamics . . . Plus, a few stories about important political figures in their lives. I hope this won't be the last memoir from Christopher Buckley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Very good

    Christopher Buckley's account of the life and death of his parents is interesting yet sad. He has his fathers gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3