Customer Reviews for

Losing the Moon

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2010

    Moving, emotional page-turner

    This is the first novel I have read by this author. This story was incredible - I could not stop reading it. Days after finishing this book, I can't stop thinking about the characters and the story. This book really touched me, very realistic and credible. You won't be disappointed with it. I intend to read all of P.C. Henry's books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome read!

    Patti's books are awesome and once you've read one you want to read them all. This one and When Light Breaks are perfect books to travel down memory lane that take you back to a time you once truly loved.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    holding yourself accountable...

    My sister recommended and loaned me her copy of Losing the Moon by Patti Callahan Henry. I wasn't really expecting much just from reading the back cover. I was pleasantly surprised by how good it actually was. When Amy, happily married mother of two, is suddenly re-introduced to her first true love, her life and the lives of many others are forever changed. Amy and Nick were college loves until Nick leaves for a semester in land preservation down in Costa Rica. They vow that when he comes back they will start the rest of their lives together....only Nick doesn't come back after the semester end. Amy eventually moves on, marries and has children. When she meets back up with Nick a couple of decades later they both have questions about what really happened that set their lives on different paths. The book is well written and beautiful. It's about holding yourself accountable for your own actions. I like the realistic ending as well. I think it'd make a good movie. Losing the Moon was an unexpectedly good read and I'm glad my sister encouraged me to read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2005

    Fast Read

    Although I really enjoyed the plot, I wasn't real pleased with how the characters lives turned out. It felt like the story just dropped off at the end. I was also irritated at Carol Anne's habits, it was ok the first few times but after awhile I found myself getting irritated with her character. Overall though, I enjoyed the story and thought that it stayed pretty true to real life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2004

    Can't wait for the Movie!

    I loved this book! I don't usually read this type of book, but it caught my eye and I absolutely could not put it down. I have since bought several copies as gifts for my wife and her friends and anyone else I could think of who might enjoy a compelling story so intoxicating with old flames being rekindled by a chance meeting...or was it fate? I loved it so much that I sent a copy to a good friend who is a movie producer in LA. I could easily picture Diane Lane or Meg Ryan as Amy. Diane, Meg are you listening? Patti is an author to watch.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2004

    Excellent!

    This book was such a well written novel. I couldn't put it down the minute I started it. I thought that the plot was catching and that is what brought me to read this book. Each page was more and more exciting to make me want to keep going. It is a book that keeps you guessing about what is going to happen. This is by far the best book that I have read. I would recommend this book to anyone who would enjoy a great love story drama.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2004

    Memorable

    Amy and Phil Reynolds leave their home in Darby, Georgia to visits their son Jack attending Saxton University in order so their child can introduce his parents to his first serious girlfriend Lisbeth and her parents. At the college, Amy receives the shock of her life. Lisbeth¿s father is Nick Lowry, the love of her life when they attended school together before he left without a word................................. Twenty-five years of marriage to a nice man and in a matter of a blink Amy knows that her heart has been telling her that she never got over Nick. He feels the same way as years of marriage to Eliza means nothing. Nick and Amy know they must ignore their feelings, but when he and his spouse relocate from Maine to Garvey, the temptation to betray their respective families has become astronomical............................. LOSING THE MOON is an intriguing family drama in which the actions, including the option of doing nothing, of the protagonists will have adverse consequences on caring people who love them. The key to the tale is that no one is a villain or abusive person; in fact the support cast is nice people who do not deserve any hurt, but life and relationships are never simple. Fans of character driven contemporary tales filled with candid emotion, but no major action will take delight with this warm novel in which someone will be harmed regardless of the path(s) the lead duo choose........................... Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Raising the moon

    Slow paced wdnt on and on

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2004

    Goes on and on and on...

    The author tries too hard to use every word in her thesarus. I became very bogged down in the flowery descriptions of absolutely EVERYTHING. I finally jumped to the end of the book (something i never do) just to see how it ended. I didn't agree with her ending. I've lived it and i know better, but by the time i skipped to the end i didn't really care what she did with these characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1