Customer Reviews for

Loss of Innocence

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

A good read

Several points:
First, I was stunned by the high number of "typos!" I'd guess more than 20 of them. There is even a final one in the author's acknowledgement!

But I certainly enjoyed the story. I'd forgotten the significance of the last name of the main character...
Several points:
First, I was stunned by the high number of "typos!" I'd guess more than 20 of them. There is even a final one in the author's acknowledgement!

But I certainly enjoyed the story. I'd forgotten the significance of the last name of the main character ("Blaine"). And I knew the author was a part-time resident of Martha's Vineyard.

So it wasn't until his "Acknowledgement" that I realized that this book was actually the "precursor" of last year's book "Fall From Grace." How delightful!! So I immediately re-read last year's book and now look forward to the concluding book next year.

posted by 18229351 on October 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

After pre-ordering and reading Nathan DeMille's The Quest only t

After pre-ordering and reading Nathan DeMille's The Quest only to find out that it had been written and published 40 years ago, with some sex thrown it to make it more current. I vowed never to pre-order again until I could read other customer reviews. Unfortunately, Ri...
After pre-ordering and reading Nathan DeMille's The Quest only to find out that it had been written and published 40 years ago, with some sex thrown it to make it more current. I vowed never to pre-order again until I could read other customer reviews. Unfortunately, Richard North Patterson's  Loss of Innocence was on order.I found that the book had numerous typo's.For a newly published book that is not acceptable.Shame on Quercus and Random House! Shame to Barnes and Noble for reccomending books without noticing problems. Shame on the author,whose last several books have fallen flat. He  was one of my favorite authors,so I continued to buy his books...but no more. This story was a pre-quel to Fall From Grace and is to be continued with Eden In Winter,which I will not be reading.Sorry Mr Patterson,but having lived through the turbulence of the late 1960's,this book took 267 pages out of 349, to even pick up tempo.

posted by 124105 on October 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    A good read

    Several points:
    First, I was stunned by the high number of "typos!" I'd guess more than 20 of them. There is even a final one in the author's acknowledgement!

    But I certainly enjoyed the story. I'd forgotten the significance of the last name of the main character ("Blaine"). And I knew the author was a part-time resident of Martha's Vineyard.

    So it wasn't until his "Acknowledgement" that I realized that this book was actually the "precursor" of last year's book "Fall From Grace." How delightful!! So I immediately re-read last year's book and now look forward to the concluding book next year.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    1968 was a watershed year and the story of that summer told thro

    1968 was a watershed year and the story of that summer told through the eyes of a young woman preparing for her September wedding is brilliant. To read this book is to relive a very important time in history.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    After pre-ordering and reading Nathan DeMille's The Quest only t

    After pre-ordering and reading Nathan DeMille's The Quest only to find out that it had been written and published 40 years ago, with some sex thrown it to make it more current. I vowed never to pre-order again until I could read other customer reviews. Unfortunately, Richard North Patterson's  Loss of Innocence was on order.I found that the book had numerous typo's.For a newly published book that is not acceptable.Shame on Quercus and Random House! Shame to Barnes and Noble for reccomending books without noticing problems. Shame on the author,whose last several books have fallen flat. He  was one of my favorite authors,so I continued to buy his books...but no more. This story was a pre-quel to Fall From Grace and is to be continued with Eden In Winter,which I will not be reading.Sorry Mr Patterson,but having lived through the turbulence of the late 1960's,this book took 267 pages out of 349, to even pick up tempo.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    Well crafted prose, but....

    This was a well-written, well-crafted story. It was interesting throughout, but my comments are not about the story. The only flaw I saw in this book was the editing. There were a half-dozen spelling or word usage mistakes that were clearly the work of a computerized spell checker. There were others that simply got by the final proofreaders. This is not what I expected from Patterson.

    But ignore those and enjoy the wonderful story.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I'm still uncertain about this latest book by RNP. I've read al

    I'm still uncertain about this latest book by RNP. I've read all his books and this one just doesn't seem like his style. After a few chapters I was tired of Whitney, her family and friends. I don't know why this book wasn't the first of the trilogy, introducing the characters for Fall From Grace". Just seems backwards. The main reason I'm undecided about the book is that the story was somewhat interesting, but not up to the type of books I've enjoyed by RNP. It was borderline trashy romance novel, not suspense, legal thrillers RNP has written in the past. I'll add RNP's books to the "buy when they hit the bargain table" list rather than when first published.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    I don't know if the book was good or bad but this Nook Book sel

    I don't know if the book was good or bad but this Nook Book sells for $16.49 marked down from $26.95.
    ARE YOU KIDDING ME? I can only read Nook Books as I ave Maculare Degeneration and I need a gray background and large print. BN loss. Patti

    2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Good

    I enjoyed this 1968 story of Martha Vineyard residents, politics, and a young woman of the wealthy class coming of age. I did not realize it was part of a triology (the 2nd). I would consider it a summer beach read. An easy read that holds your attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2014

    Interesting 1968 history

    I didn't realize this was the 2nd in a trilogy. The prologue was a bit confusing, wasn't sure who the characters were.. After reading the book, I went back and reread the prologue, which made more sense then. It was interesting reading about 1968 as I still remember that year well (the year I was married). I did like the characters of Whitney and Ben. I haven't read any of Patterson's previous novels. I might be more inclined to read his earlier ones. Don't think I will read the other 2 in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2014

    A good read

    Not what I expected from Richard North Patterson, but I did enjoy it. I would have liked a little more out of the ending, but I still enjoyed the book just the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2014

    Very interesting

    Well written and evocative of the 60s. Patterson captured the confusion in gender and class roles during that turbulent time. I wish he had clarified the modern day characters as well as he did with the flashbacks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Nice well written story.  Enjoyed the Vineyard

    Nice well written story.  Enjoyed the Vineyard

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    liked it and the next one Fall from Grace was even better

    good book and sequel good and another to come - a good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    not up to earlier standards. this is a woman's book. ioprefer

    not up to earlier standards. this is a woman's book. ioprefer his thrillers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Harrrp Harry potter

    IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A BOOK HARRY POTTER SHOULD BE NUMBER ONE ON YOUR LIST!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Great

    Super awsoe nivel with desedsedsedzedsedddefd vedswdrjdjddskskskskskssssskssisksdjddkksksddddkdkdkdkd

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Qp

    Dshej

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2