Customer Reviews for

The Lost

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing World-Building

    In a paranormal romance world filled to capacity with werewolves, vampires, demons, ghouls, zombies, angels.well you get the idea it is nice to find a refreshingly new twist to the paranormal world, the Light Hunters. This race obtains energy through the environment as well as any object that contains energy of any kind. They then use that power to sustain their race, heal their sick and sometimes even to take life away. I really enjoyed being introduced to this world and I'm eager to learn more as the series continues.

    Adam & Bobbie were very believable characters and the path that I got to walk with them through their story was very emotional, real, steamy hot & it kept me on the edge of my seat! I loved them both and really liked that the war hero was female. I don't think that avenue is explored enough, at least out of the books that I've read. While the characters were great, the story did slow down somewhat, at least for me, during the middle. However, by the end, the action resumed and the book ended great with an AMAZING set-up for the next book.

    This is my first Caridad Piñeiro book, but after reading, I can most definitely say that I'll be reading more, especially of her Sin & Sin Hunter series'.

    So if you're looking for a great PNR book but are tired of the same 'ol, same 'ol - make sure to grab this series, you won't be disappointed!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    A Must Read

    Like nothing I have ever read before!

    Adam Bruno is definitely lost. He has no idea why he is the way he is and has no idea of his past. His powers allow him to do things he doesn't understand. The only person who knows of his powers is his adopted father and he has forced him to stay hidden all his life.

    Bobbie is a retired marine. She was injured in battle and is now home struggling to recover. She is sick of hurting, frustrating cause she is not healing and the last thing she wants is to fight another battle.

    When the two of them meet, you can feel the attraction instantly. It is as if they are drawn to eachother. The chemistry is electrifying and hot. The story line is so unique. I have read about shifters and I have read about magical people but this is nothing like that. The things Adam does with his power are amazing. Caridad does a very good job with description to give you a very clear picture. I absolutely enjoyed this book to it's fullest.

    It does take a little while to get going. There are three sides to the story and setting up all perspectives took some time. Also keeping them straight is sometimes confusing and I did have to go back to reference a name once or twice. This book was equally split up between various view points. I loved how during a scene Ms Piniero would frequently switch view points in order to show both sides simultaneously.


    You will be chomping at the bit for the next book in the series "The Claimed" Ms Piniero leaves you wanting more!!! A definite must read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Spicy, Thrilling Read!

    Adam Bruno is no ordinary millionaire. At a young age, he knew he was different from normal people. His gifts make him a living weapon and two factions are fighting over him and he doesn't even know it. One of the factions wish to hunt him down, the others purpose remains unclear and both pop up out of nowhere just when he's found someone who makes him feel more human than he ever imagined possible. Who's telling the truth? Who's lying? Is this woman the one for Adam? If so can he control his powers or will they rage out of control and destroy them both?

    This book would make a great movie! It's an action packed paranormal romance that grabbed me from page one and had me devouring 50 pages an hour until the end. By page 150, I already wanted the second book in the series. The plot was awe inducing, the chemistry between the female main character, Bobby and the male main character, Adam was awesome and when I was done with the book, I just had to sit back and marvel at the depth of the human imagination. Caridad Pineiro's The Lost is a spicy, thrilling read that is one of my favorites of this summer!

    Thank you to Caridad Pineiro and Pump Up Your Book for the review copy. It in no way influenced my review.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A must read

    IEDs and other explosives devastated Bobbie Carrerra's platoon in Iraq leaving all dead except her and their comatose lead. Anyone who think females are not in fighting roles need to look at the scarred veteran undergoing physical therapy. Emotionally she suffers from survivor guilt and self pity.

    Affluent Adam Bruno is a bit of a recluse because of his paranormal skills like creating energy using magic and shapeshifting. When Adam and Bobbie meet, they are attracted to one another, which shake both loners up. As the pair begins to explore a relationship that could destroy either of them if it turns out of control or burns out; unknown enemies hunt him. He knows one thing he has his female warrior watching his back (and as she says other body parts too).

    The opening Sin Hunters romantic urban fantasy is a great first act because the talented paranormal author Caridad Pineiro establishes her new otherworld inside an action packed (including the lead couple's heat) story line. The key support cast is fully developed especially the stalkers while the novel belongs to the vet and the millionaire as they struggle against unknown adversaries, their respective hearts and his increasingly out of control power as she is his intoxicating source that could kill both of them

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Truly Intriguing

    Adam Bruno has always known that he's different. Ever since he could remember, he's dealt with being able to create energy and shape-shift. The dark magic within him has grown steadily over the years. So much so, that he no longer knows how to keep it under control.

    He prefers to live alone, fearful of having contact with those of the outside world. He's afraid of what they might think if anyone were to ever find out just how different he is. Aside from the repeated visits from his adopted father, no one has ever set foot within his personal domain. Until now, that is.

    When Bobbie Carerra, a military veteran who's injured while on duty, comes to his rescue, she finds herself drawn to the tall, brooding man. He incites her passion and her hunger, making her crave what she thought would always remain buried because of her ordeal. Drawn to his power and the strength that he harbors inside, Bobbie knows that she can never let him go, for he's become a part of her in more ways than one.

    Enemy forces soon become aware of a power much stronger than anything they've even know - a power they wish to harness. A power they believe will save their dying race. Fighting against those who seek to do them harm, the passion and sexual awareness between Adam and Bobbie continues to mount - something they do their best to ignore. Yet neither can deny that they're quite drawn to one another. Nor can they deny that things between them feel so right.

    When a callous betrayal rocks his entire world, Adam wonders just who it is that he can trust. Whether he can open himself up to the woman who has slowly, but surely, captured his heart. As the enemy draws ever closer, he must stay one step ahead while trying to protect that which belongs to him, including Bobbie herself.

    A truly intriguing, and quite thrilling, read. I enjoyed every minute of it. I kept trying to envision the world that Caridad has painted for us. A very unique take on the paranormal/fantasy elements that she's added to her book. Definitely worth reading!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Creative and Passionately Written! Absolutely Beautiful!

    What a beautifully told story and a great start to a new series. Caridad Pineiro has created a new refreshing paranormal existence of a new species called the Light Hunters and the Shadow Hunters that feeds from the Sun and Earths own energy and yields the power to shape shift into any creature whether it be human or animal, draw the energy from any living thing or force, and or heal any living thing. With their fight between each other to protect their own species and secrets from the humans, the story is full of action that is absolutely memorizing.
    The story was captivating from the first page as the characters developed and came alive visually upon the pages. The emotional bonds and erotic scenes between Adam (Light Hunter) and Bobbie (Marine / Hybrid) were heartwarming and breathtakingly written - totally HOT. The author did a tremendous job at capturing the true emotions and PTSD actions of a wounded soldier that barely escaped life from a previous war. There were scenes between Adam and Bobby that had me almost in tears emotionally.
    Both characters were strong and I loved the serious attitude mode Bobbie had of "Once a soldier always a soldier". As a 100% disabled veteran myself I totally related to Bobby and I can definitely say a veterans training never leaves you. I fell in love with Adam's personality and actions as I thought it made him sexier than his hot descriptive body.
    The plot stayed interesting throughout as it built to the ending climax that left me wanting more of the series. I was glad Adam and Bobby got their HEA and look forward to many questions being answered as to what will happen to them now that Adam knows the truth of his real family heritage and now has his new role to play within his race? Is Bobby with child? What will the Shadow Hunters next move be? What will become of Adams parents? Ok so I am already JONESING for the next book. I highly recommend this series to all paranormal readers out there. Excellent Read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    A delightful surprise!

    Our Review [By LITERAL ADDICTION’s Pack Alpha-Michelle L Olson]:

    Since readers look to reviews to steer them in a direction, I’m going to give it to you straight and from the heart. I’m a big Caridad Pineiro fan! I devoured her entire Calling series in I think 3 sittings, but I was very apprehensive about this book. Every time I picked it up and read the synopsis I’d give myself a little mental ‘Eh, I don’t know…’ and set it back down, only to pick it up again the minute I was ready for a new book. I’m a paranormal junkie, and there seemed to be enough of that outlined in the blurb, so I was having troubles pinning down exactly what my problem was. Finally I took a deep breath and just jumped in. Know what? I finished it in 2 sittings and that was only because I had to go to work and put it down.

    Adam was just a boy when his adoptive father found him in the dessert with no memory and lots of questions. 20 years later, Adam finds himself a millionaire running a cutting edge technology company, yet he still has no answers, and in fact, has a lot more questions regarding who and what he is, where he came from, the extent of his gifts, etc. Adam hopes that by continuing to do research and development for his company, he may uncover some truths about himself as well.

    Bobbie is a veteran newly home from the war and healing both physically and emotionally. When Bobbie and Adam’s paths cross in the midst of a kidnapping attempt, Bobbie’s ‘forever a soldier’ mentality kicks in and she can’t stop herself from jumping to help, though she had no idea just what she was getting herself into.

    Now a team by circumstance, Adam and Bobbie must figure out what is going on, how to stay 1 step ahead, and how to deal with the undeniable and world altering attraction between them.

    On the outskirts, you have the 2 groups who are after Adam for 1 reason or another—The Light Hunters, those who gather energy peacefully and naturally from nature and things around them, and the Shadows, a faction of Light Hunters that evolved into something much less peaceful over time, and steal rather than borrow energies.

    What you ultimately end up with is an emotional roller-coaster full of excitement, regret, love, passion, uncertainty, betrayal, retribution, and so much more!

    The book was incredibly written; very vivid imagery, even with things as intangible as intent, strong well developed characters with clearly defined purpose and background, and a love affair that while fast, was truly believable.

    From a series standpoint, this first book was a greatly laid foundation for the next installments. Though readers who dislike cliff-hangers will be shouting profanities and throwing things as they turn the last page, the meat of the story was wrapped up nicely and those questions that both the characters and the reader needed answers to from page 1 are brought to light.

    All in all, LITERAL ADDICTION Paranormal Book Club gives The Lost 4 1/2 Skulls, and would recommend it to Urban Fantasy, Paranormal Romance and even some Sci-Fi readers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Read

    Paranormal Contemporary, Jersey Shore, New Jersey


    Roberta "Bobbie" Carrera has had enough of fighting after getting injured in Iraq. Now all she is interested in is living a life that is quiet and peaceful and healing from her injuries. When Bobbie first sets eyes on Adam Bruno she sees a man that draws her to him because of his strength. The next thing she knows is that he is being attacked and as she goes to help him she is drawn into a fight she isn't sure she is ready to fight let alone that she wants to fight. The only thing Bobbie is sure of is that the draw she feels towards Adam is something she doesn't seem able to fight so she will have to find out if she is up to helping Adam in his fight or if she is going to walk away from a man that has snared her attraction that doesn't seem to want to let her go.

    Adam Bruno is not the usual millionaire. Adam has powers that he works hard to find answers to but also works to hide from others. Now someone is after him and his abilities and Adam is going to have to find his answers quickly if he hopes to survive those after him. Adam doesn't want Bobbie drawn into his fight especially since he isn't sure what exactly is going on but he doesn't seem able to fight the attraction between them and he is quickly finding out that he will do anything to protect Bobbie as her warrior heart is a strong a draw to her as the woman herself.

    Now Adam and Bobbie are in a race to find out exactly what is happening to them and who the mysterious people are that are after them. People that seem to have the same powers as Adam. Bobbie seems to be the one person that helps Adam's powers and the one person that seems to be completely unaffected by his abilities. Someone close to Adam is betraying him and if he doesn't find out fast who he can trust then he just might not be able to win the fight that is headed his way.



    This story is amazing and premise behind the story is one that is very different than most paranormals. The characters are well developed and will draw the reader into the story. The world building is excellent and will keep the reader turning the pages to find out what will happen next. This one will take the reader on a roller coaster ride that they will never forget and will mourn when they reach that very last page. This one is worth picking up and reading and if the reader hasn't read this author before this will hook them on this authors books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended! A Must Read!

    Lost really surprised me. The storyline is powerful and deep. The plot is original with what's happening with this inhuman race of Light Hunters and Shadow Hunters that live among the humans on earth. And Adam is the answer to everyone's problems.

    Adam was Kidnap from his parent's-who are Quinchu of the Light Hunter's race-as a child by Salvatore Bruno, who raises Adam in the human world. Adam's character is strong and he's good looking. The quite type, which I have a weakness for, so of course I fell in love with him. He also has a magical power which causes him to live an isolated life. But then he meets Bobbie, and Adam's power is pulling him to Bobbie, a desire he can't say no to. And he doesn't understand what makes Bobbie so different. Bobbie's character I also fell in love with. She's a strong-willed, tough marine, but she's also a classy lady. That's a good combination in my book. She has come home from the war in Iraq, which has left her body with injuries. Bobbie's not looking for another war, but she finds one in her heart when she meets Adam.

    The romance between Adam and Bobbie is steamy and hot, but Adam's love for Bobbie will go against his destiny-the destiny that means everything to the Light Hunter race. They've been searching for him for the the last twenty years.The Shadow Hunters are enemies to the Light Hunters, and they have their own plans for Adam and his unique dark power that doesn't include Bobbie. Christopher is another character that I started to really like, but just got a glimpse of in this first book. Christopher is the son of the head Shadow Hunter and doesn't like the way his father rules the Shadow Hunter race. This is where the second book (preview in of second book at the end of Lost) "The Claimed" starts up with Christopher challenging his father. I'm looking forward to this next book to discover who Christopher is. I highly recommended Lost in the Sin Hunter series as A must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jen Book provided by the author for review Review or

    Reviewed by Jen
    Book provided by the author for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    This was my first Caridad Pineiro read and I wasn’t disappointed.  Let’s start with the negative.  Because this is the first book in the series, there is a lot of setting up of the world Caridad has created, as well as introducing lots of characters.  At times I got a little lost trying to keep up.  But it’s all necessary filler.

    But the positives out weighed the negatives.  I really liked the character of Bobbie.  She’s strong, determined and thrown into a strange paranormal world.  And she’s the perfect foil to Adam, a loner who needs a strong woman to stand up to him, yet support him — especially as his world is just about to get flipped upside down.  And then these paranormal “clans” of Light and Shadow Hunters were unique and I loved being introduced to their conflict. As I read, I found myself anticipating where this series is going to go.  To me, that’s a sign of having hooked me.  I will definitely be picking up the sequel, The Claimed, when it is released in May 2012. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    As it¿s the first book in the series, the ¿world setup¿ had to o

    As it’s the first book in the series, the ‘world setup’ had to occur with plenty of information to try to soak up. However, you’re not bombarded with all the information at once as the author has strategically calculated the release of information throughout the book and has made it part of the story as both the Hero and Heroine learn who they truly are and how they fit into this new world.

    Let’s begin with our Heroine as the author deserves a round of applause for creating such a strong, independent, and likable character! Bobbie is a decorated war hero who was injured in the line of duty and not only has suffered through the loss of her team, but the loss of part of herself. In her eyes, she will no longer be normal and her dream of a white picket fence with a husband and kids will not be occurring. However, she doesn’t wallow in self-pity. She has her moment of breaking down, when the stress of it all and the reality that her initial dreams as she saw them will not be coming true hit her, but then that moment passes and she takes a deep breath and moves forward with her life. She accepts her new life and knows life is short! It was awesome to read this book and not have to roll my eyes at a whiny, weak minded heroine. THANK YOU Caridad!! With this being said, she’s still 100% woman, who can kick the bad guys ass!! Bobbie has been through a lot, but like a strong woman, she will not allow situations or circumstances to dictate her life!

    Our Hero, Adam, well let’s see:
    Gorgeous = check
    Has Money = check
    Smart = check
    Mysterious = check
    Flaws = check

    With Adam, we have the classic hero; however he and his story are far from the traditional paranormal romance genre. Without providing spoilers, Adam doesn’t remember his past. He knows something tragic occurred to him and his family when he was around 5 or 6 years old, but has no idea what that is or who he is. Hiss adopted father has been his one constant and someone who has been there for him regardless of the fact that he isn’t ‘normal’. This is where I said that Caridad strategically places what we learn throughout the book; we learn as the characters do. Adam struggles to understand who or what he is and has dedicated his entire life to trying to figure that out.

    Though we usually fall for our heroes, even though they are usually conceited, smartasses, semi-untamable, Adam isn’t like that at all. He is smart, extremely business savvy which has lead him to be a millionaire, and he is pretty down to earth. Yes, he secludes himself and is mysterious, but it isn’t because he believes people will only like him for his money, but rather his concern is that he will hurt them with his powers. No worries, he definitely has the Alpha quality, but chooses to use it when necessary.

    The story line of the “Light Hunters” and the “Shadow Hunters” has the classic concept of good vs. bad but the story itself is intriguing! An ancient civilization which spawned a new breed of humans that now live among us in secret and must feed off of energy in order to survive. The continued struggle for that energy source, the need for the clans to remain a secret to humans and the war between light and dark drive the story forward.

    I really enjoyed the new twist to a genre that can be saturated with extremely similar concepts and ideas. Looking forward to seeing the story and characters evolve in the next installment of the series “The Claimed”.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    What a great start to a new series. I was drawn in from the firs

    What a great start to a new series. I was drawn in from the first
    chapter and didnt want to put it down. This is a well-written
    interesting new series that has all the elements in it from romance to
    action to paranormal. The main characters Adam and Bobbie are
    interesting and each very complex on their own. When they come together
    they must both learn to trust each other not only with their secrets but
    their lives and loves. There is also a complex mythology behind what
    Adam is and what the brotherhood searching for him is as well. Since it
    is the first book in a new series, we dont get the full background on
    these people in this book. We do get a great introduction to it in this
    story and I am looking forward to finding out more as the story
    continues. Its a great book and any lover of the paranormal will enjoy
    it. And anyone who is just looking for something different and likes
    romance will too. I highly recommend it and I am looking forward to
    picking up more of her books soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    Finally, Something new happening in paranormal world!!

    Finally, something new and great fun to read rather than vampires and lycans. I'd waited quite a long time to find good and original paranormal novels to read among those gazillions vampire-werewolf novels out there, I'm vamped out!! So, I was looking for something new, refreshing idea in paranormal romance, and actually bought "The Lost" among many other books some 6 months ago and didn't read it right away, shelved it. Until just last month... OMG!! That'll teach me not to procrastinate!! Once I started reading "The Lost"... I simply couldn't put it down, and sent me scrambling to find the "Claimed" next, both are page-tuners! Now, I can't wait for book 3 and 4. "The Lost" is certainly worthy of being "RITA" finalist this year. "The Claimed" would do no less, in my opinion. This "Sin Hunters" series has easily become my "Fave" with 5 stars, of course. A must read for paranormal romance fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2