Customer Reviews for

Lost Boy: My Story

Average Rating 5
( 6 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Read his book

    Read his book, listen to his broadcast every night, go to his website, greg laurie is awesome!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    Amazing story!

    Unbelievable how God can use us no matter what our circumstances! This book was a great reminder to me that no matter what we come from, we can be great when we allow "the potter to mold his clay." I have listened to Pastor Greg on the radio for a long time now on my way to work and had heard bits and pieces of his story but how wonderful to hear the whole story. Thanks, Pastor Greg, for sharing this with us. Your strength, devotion, and humility are so inspiring to me!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Incredible

    I have always loved stories of lives transformed. Looking at Greg's upbringing, no one would have been surprised to find Greg in prison and that is probably where he would be if he had not made the decision he made when he was 17. Trusting Jesus is a big step for many people, but for Greg it meant losing his friends, his lifestyle and it created a wall between him and the only parent he had at the time. This book taught me to not be afraid of angry looking youth, they may just be crying out for something real and secure that they have never known in their own lives. I think it is incredible how fast Greg grew in faith and knowledge and God is not a respecter of persons, what He did for Greg He will do for you and me. Provided we are willing to do what Greg did, trust him and be transformed by His love, grace and mercy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2008

    A reviewer

    Great autobiographies - whether by statesman, celebrity, hero or scoundrel - have 3 elements. A great autobiography: 1' has a compelling reason for being read: It always gives more than just the facts or details 'behind the scenes'. Not just a personal recounting of history, a great autobiography gives you such a sense of the 'real' person that you can personally relate to them. The subject's foibles, failures and weaknesses are included with the requisite telling of their strengths. 2' when you start reading, it makes you want to keep on reading. 3' after finishing it, you know about more than just the writer's story. You know more about 'life' - the human condition, life's possibilities, life's parameters, how the world 'works' - than you did before reading it. 'Lost Boy' by Greg Laurie, is a great autobiography. The reader is captured by the opening chapter, a description of Greg waiting to take the stage in front of 40,000 people who have filled Anaheim Stadium to hear him speak. Having spoken to over 4 million people in stadiums around the world, Greg should be on auto-pilot by now. But Greg Laurie has a reason for not being on 'auto-pilot'. The chapter then goes into short bursts of flashback, most painting a picture of how improbable it is that Greg Laurie could possibly be the guy about to take the stadium stage. Greg Laurie is not your typical church pastor. Nor is he a type of 'TV evangelist'. Avoiding the political traps and scandals of both the previous and current generations' religious leaders, Greg Laurie has proven to be a different kind of Christian leader for people to check out. Coming from a broken home 'fatherless, mother divorced seven times', checking into 60's drug culture, cynical and untrusting in human relationships, Greg Laurie was not the kind of person who turns into a pastor at 19 years old. Certainly not a pastor who oversees a group of 30 people turn into one of America's first 'megachurches', with over 15,000 weekly attendees. Certainly not the kind of speaker who combined cutting edge technology, culturally current music performances and understandable preaching to sold-out events at venues like Madison Square Garden. Certainly not the kind of person who Billy Graham would call the 'evangelist of the future'. And most certainly not a man profiled by the major TV networks and on the front page of the New York Times. Yet no one seems to understand that better than Greg Laurie himself. 'Lost Boy' explains this unique life that has touched millions of other lives for the better, leaving the reader inspired and encouraged to personally dig further into the reason and message behind the book. A can't-put-it-down-like-a-mystery-novel kind of read, 'Lost Boy' is a great gift choice for any reader.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2008

    A reviewer

    I was going to slowly enjoy this book. I bought it on a Sunday and was finished Monday night. I couldn't put it down. I felt so much deep pain, and at times a great joy. This is an incredible read!!!!! Two thumbs up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2008

    powerful and amasing

    I've known Greg as a Pastor and a friend I remmber him sharing some of his story years ago on a Sunday night when he was just 24 yrs old it impacked my life for I too was a child of the 60s % 70s era but with a stable family back ground but this book shows insights that God can change lives no matter what happens in a persons life and to see the results Greg's Lost boy story is wonderful, it's a blessing to see what Christ has done in this mans life and hisfamily I highly recomend this book to anyone great gift to a father or mother. C.Reid

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1