Customer Reviews for

Lost Boy Lost Girl

Average Rating 3.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Story Found Here

I absolutely LOVED this book. I could not put it down. Straub spins a good tale and keeps the pages turning. The characters within the novel become more complex and real with every page. The teens portrayed in the book are on the money as far as your everyday teens ...
I absolutely LOVED this book. I could not put it down. Straub spins a good tale and keeps the pages turning. The characters within the novel become more complex and real with every page. The teens portrayed in the book are on the money as far as your everyday teens are today. They are not children, but young adults. Each character of the book was shown on all sides to include their self they are to the world, the self they are to their families, and the self they are when alone. The characters seem real. The strained relationships between the Underhill relatives are believeable, and at the end of the book you're left hoping that there is something better waiting for the family after all they have been through. This book won't keep you up at night scared witless, but it will chill you to the bone. I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes a suspenseful story. Furthermore, I cannot wait to read Straub's 'In the Night Room' which will continue Tim Underhill's story!

posted by Anonymous on June 3, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Lost Boy, Lost Girl Leaves You Feeling A Little....LOST

Mark Underhill¿s life changed the moment he became obsessed with the abandoned house on Michigan street. Not only did his fascination with the house cause a rift between him and his best friend, but his mother commits suicide soon after he started asking questions about...
Mark Underhill¿s life changed the moment he became obsessed with the abandoned house on Michigan street. Not only did his fascination with the house cause a rift between him and his best friend, but his mother commits suicide soon after he started asking questions about the house. Days after his mother¿ s funeral, Mark goes missing. Much of the story is told from the viewpoint of Mark¿s uncle, Tim Underhill, who immediately became engaged in looking for his missing nephew. Through interviews with Mark¿s best friend, Tim discovers that Mark had been involved with a phantom girl who apparently resides in the dilapidated house before he went missing. Timothy slowly but painstakingly learns that Mark was discovering a connection between the house and his own heritage, and that his obsession with the house is awakening dangers from the past and the present. The plot is actually very simple. Its been done before in numerous other books and movies. But Straub¿s way of flowing the story, shifting viewpoints from one character to another, using both first and third person narrative was well done. But that¿s probably the highlight of the whole book. The ending was a bit far-fetched, with a throw in of new age mysticism and modern technology that seemed out of place. And certain parts of the story ¿ such as Lily/Lucy- just didn¿t make sense. She had appeared before Mark¿s mother as a seething spirit in the form of a little girl, then she transforms herself into the most beautiful nineteen year old to the eyes of Mark. Huh? How¿s that? This part was left completely hanging. And the character of Philip Underhill was just straining¿as if the writer really wanted you to hate him because he was such a cold, unfeeling man who couldn¿t even grief for his dead wife. The only likable person here is Jimbo. He seemed a cool kid, who deep down inside cares for his best friend. If you look at the story as a whole, it is at once a mystery, ghost story, romance, thriller¿a resonant of love, loss, grief and regret. But something just hinders me from enjoying the book entirely.

posted by Anonymous on August 2, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2005

    Good Story Found Here

    I absolutely LOVED this book. I could not put it down. Straub spins a good tale and keeps the pages turning. The characters within the novel become more complex and real with every page. The teens portrayed in the book are on the money as far as your everyday teens are today. They are not children, but young adults. Each character of the book was shown on all sides to include their self they are to the world, the self they are to their families, and the self they are when alone. The characters seem real. The strained relationships between the Underhill relatives are believeable, and at the end of the book you're left hoping that there is something better waiting for the family after all they have been through. This book won't keep you up at night scared witless, but it will chill you to the bone. I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes a suspenseful story. Furthermore, I cannot wait to read Straub's 'In the Night Room' which will continue Tim Underhill's story!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2005

    Awesome

    I couldn't put this book down. The storyline and the characters were well constucted to weave a very good tale!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2004

    Lost Boy, Lost Girl Leaves You Feeling A Little....LOST

    Mark Underhill¿s life changed the moment he became obsessed with the abandoned house on Michigan street. Not only did his fascination with the house cause a rift between him and his best friend, but his mother commits suicide soon after he started asking questions about the house. Days after his mother¿ s funeral, Mark goes missing. Much of the story is told from the viewpoint of Mark¿s uncle, Tim Underhill, who immediately became engaged in looking for his missing nephew. Through interviews with Mark¿s best friend, Tim discovers that Mark had been involved with a phantom girl who apparently resides in the dilapidated house before he went missing. Timothy slowly but painstakingly learns that Mark was discovering a connection between the house and his own heritage, and that his obsession with the house is awakening dangers from the past and the present. The plot is actually very simple. Its been done before in numerous other books and movies. But Straub¿s way of flowing the story, shifting viewpoints from one character to another, using both first and third person narrative was well done. But that¿s probably the highlight of the whole book. The ending was a bit far-fetched, with a throw in of new age mysticism and modern technology that seemed out of place. And certain parts of the story ¿ such as Lily/Lucy- just didn¿t make sense. She had appeared before Mark¿s mother as a seething spirit in the form of a little girl, then she transforms herself into the most beautiful nineteen year old to the eyes of Mark. Huh? How¿s that? This part was left completely hanging. And the character of Philip Underhill was just straining¿as if the writer really wanted you to hate him because he was such a cold, unfeeling man who couldn¿t even grief for his dead wife. The only likable person here is Jimbo. He seemed a cool kid, who deep down inside cares for his best friend. If you look at the story as a whole, it is at once a mystery, ghost story, romance, thriller¿a resonant of love, loss, grief and regret. But something just hinders me from enjoying the book entirely.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2008

    This book was alright

    This book is alright its not really that great of a book. it wasn't scary or interestiong then i thought it was going to be.It was a book that mostly had alot of talking and conversation then it had action. it was sad at the beginning. When the mother die and the son and husband went into depresstion. Later on that month mark went missing. The father lost two in the same month and never found his son. that was the most interesting part in the book. The beinning was waht i was drawn to the most. Thats what i thought about the book lost boy lost girl

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2005

    It's nothing special.

    This book started off alright, but it never really got me hooked. There were times though that were fun to read and it kept me thinking 'maybe it'll get better', but it never really got much better. Towards the end it picked up, but ended pretty much like it started (kind of dull). This is the first book I've read from him and it doesn't give me much to go on thinking he's all that great, but one book is hardly cause to not read anything else from him. Skip this one and read something else from him I guess?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2004

    Good, not Great

    I read this novel because of the almost feverishly good reviews on the book jacket, but was only mildly entertained. Straub is always a good writer, but this book is badly served by gimmicky changes in viewpoint and an anticlimactic conclusion that clumsily mixes the feel-good and the frightening, dulling the effect of both.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2004

    Good Charecters, Interesting Ghosts, and Cool Shoes

    Peter Straub, who is arguably the finest author of horror literature of our time, delivers a fantastic story of love, ghosts, and the horror we sometimes face in the world. Straub weaves an incredible tapestry of characters in this book, from the fantastically simple almost Shirley Jackson-esque character of Nancy, to the very well rounded and very human Tim Underhill. This book was unbelievable- it scared the pants off me, as well as made me laugh at times, it was horrifying and uplifting; it was ultimately a fantastic read. I do want to make one great comment on this book, about Straub¿s subtle genius, in one part of the book he describes the character of Mark, and in describing his clothing he mentions that Mark is wearing DC Manteca shoes- and this may not seem like a lot, but it is. This use of a specific, hip shoe type from a 61 year old man shows that he goes in deep when writing about his characters. DEfinetly check this one out- it¿s worth the trip.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2004

    Thats It?

    when I saw this book, I thought it looked very interesting, well it was. This could have been an extraoridinary book if only the author had taken a little more time (and a few more pages) to explain the mystery. he tells you what happened, but not why, and in the end leaves you unsatisfied and asking yourself, That's It?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2004

    Could have been better

    I had high hopes for this book, maybe too high. The book left me unsatisfied, like it was hurried in parts.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2003

    Haunting Young Love

    Although I found the juxtaposition of two villains in the story confusing at times, this is a minor complaint. I loved the story of the beautiful ghost who seduces a young teenager into leaving his world behind and entering hers. The theme of redemption of a grisly tragedy through the power of love is an unforgettable one. That the love is both erotic and spiritual adds great depth to a moving story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A very spooky tale

    Phillip Underhill doesn¿t have a clue what is going on in his own home. His wife Nancy, usually a cheerful person, is getting more withdrawn by the day and the only one who notices it is their son Mark. Phillip doesn¿t realize that she is remembering a time when her cousin by marriage asked for help for her and her daughter and she refused to give it. When Mark isn¿t worrying about his mother, he is obsessing about the house on 3323 North Michigan Street.<P> His mother warns him to stay away from the house but neglects to tell him that once was owned by her cousin, a notorious serial killer. When Mark breaks into the house she senses it and commits suicide. Mark explores the house finding secret rooms, tunnels and staircases. He also senses the presence of someone in the house and tells his best friend before he disappears. The police think he¿s the victim of a serial killer but Mark¿s uncle Tim believes that he met with a different fate.<P> From the very beginning LOST BOY LOST GIRL has an eerie gothic atmosphere and as the plot moves forward the tale becomes even spookier. There are two parallel sub-plots involving a serial killer and a ghost that never intersect, leaving readers to ponder Mark¿s fate throughout the novel. Timothy Underhill, who also appeared in KOKO AND THE THROAT, plays a vital role in this horror thriller. He is the one who puts together Mark¿s actions during his last days and comes to a conclusion that is emotionally satisfying his belief system. Peter Straub continues to write great horror novels that engage his myriad of fans.<P> Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2