Customer Reviews for

Lost Christianities: The Battles for Scripture and the Faiths We Never Knew

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Lost Christianities

    In Lost Christianities, biblical scholar and author Bart D. Ehman thoughtfully explains the evolution of Christianity. It is fascinating to see how the competing sects of Christianity clashed and conquered. It is an invaluable read, especially for Christians.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2005

    Solid historical book about the early Christians

    I purchased this book after hearing the author speak on NPR. I was very impressed by the book and would recommend it to anyone who really wants to learn about the early Christian church. You will find many surprises!! I compared the book to many other sources and found it 100% accurate.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    Recommended

    Ehrman has a great writing style, fresh and lively. The guy obviously has a passion for his subject and it comes out in this book. While easy to read this is not a light weight book, you'll get real depth here about the varieties of early christian text and thought along with plenty of footnotes and references if you want to dig deeper. A great even handed introduction to early christianity for laymen amd scholars alike.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    Ehrman writes with a fascination towards the discoveries and controversies surrounding the protorthodox assembling of the New Testament. While there is obvious temptations to attack the divinity and integrity of the New Testament, Ehrman sticks to the facts. As he outlines the historical conflicts and controversies surrounding the formulation of the canon, what occurs to me is that it is more than amazing that we are left with a book(New Testament) that actually makes sense.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great information that is news to most lay people

    Ehrman provides details on many of the books that did not make it into what is now the sacred canon for the Christian relegion. He explains what is known of the believes of the early church and how they and the written materials were excluded from what we now call Christianity. This will be news for many who think the Bible contains everything that was written by the early church.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Awesome Book full of good information.

    One of Ehrman's best efforts at providing a historical framework for why certain books did not make it into today's Bible. He is at his best when he sticks to historical data rather than biased interpretation. He is often accused of pushing Agnosticism on evangelicals, but I do not find that here. Instead, he provides an excellent contextual lens withbwhich to understand the "hows" and "whys" of being sects formations and why they were considered heretical in light of today's church. For the reader that perhaps wishes to go beyond mere devotion and actually get some rich history behind Scripture, I thought this was an excellent read. Ehrman is a better professor of Christian history than a critic of it. Good read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    Highly recommend

    I am slogging through it. It is difficult reading from my layman's point of view, but I find it very interesting. I am quite curious to finding out how Christianity achieved it's present form and what was "lost".

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2005

    Interesting but appears biased

    Has it occured to Mr Ehrman that God may have guided the Scriptures to their conclusion. He portrays it all as a battle that was somehow won by 'Proto-Orthodoxy', like as though, maybe it should not have won the battle. The scriptures discuss the 'anti-christs' and false teachers, but Mr Ehrman implies that was put in to justify 'Proto-Orthodoxy' and that all the scriptures we read were biased to the 'Ortho-orthodoxy' view after the fact. I'm sorry, but I have a problem with that. Even he does not have the original scriptures so to suppose that the ones we read are biased to a later belief is a bit of a stretch for me. Some of the Apostles were still around when this battle was going on. (John was the last to die and that was after Revelation was written) Their charge was to vet the scriptures and to guide the churches in the proper Godly belief. I don't think it was an accident that the current Scriptures won out in the battle. It is not an accident that the Old Testament and New Testament tie together so closely either. Christianity has not accepted the Old Testament just because it prophesies the Messiah. The Old Testament points to the New Testament and gives viability to it. The Old Testament even ties Christianity to Abraham. In fact there is stong evidence that there are as many decendents of Abraham that are Christian as are Jews. Mr Ehrman needs to review some other thoughts by biblical scholars about his so-called contradictions in the Scriptures. He implies there are so many discrepencies that the scriptures are hard to believe.

    2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    For the brave and open minded seeker only!

    The mystery of creation, the creator has long been humanized in order for groups to control. As new discoveries are made, as in the Dead Sea scrolls and other religious writings, the mystery remains just that. . . a mystery. This book is a must read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2