Customer Reviews for

The Lost City of Faar (Pendragon Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 202 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(158)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 206 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2003

    Awesome Book!

    I loved merchant of death! I want to read the second one so much! It is so funny! I love sci-fi, and this book is awesome!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2003

    THE BEST BOOK EVER!!!

    I know this is hard to imagine, but this was better than the first! And the first was incredible!! I hope D.J. MacHale keeps writing more of these after the third one!! I love the way he writes-I am glued to the very beginning to the very end. This is NOT one of those books that when you read, you get so bored, that your mind wonders!! I can't wait till the third one comes out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2003

    GREAT SEQUEL

    One of the best books i ever read!A great seqel to The Merchant Of Death

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2002

    Waiting for the book

    I totally agree with you ^^. I recommend this book for anyone that can read. Its a real twister.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2002

    AHHHH!

    I just got finished reading Pendragon the Merchant of Death and OMG it is like the best book ever! i cant wait until december!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2002

    Totally unbelievable

    This book blows most other books out of the water. I would reccomend this to anyone who likes fantasy and is between the ages of 9 and 100. Its definetly in my top two books that i've ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2002

    THE MERCHANT OF DEATH

    PEndragon, The Merchant of Death is the best bok I have ever read. I just finished reading it and already want to get the second. I agree with anyone who thinks that it is a great book. Read it,you will enjoy. It was the coolest LOL

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2002

    aaaahhhhh...cant wait nemore

    i read the first book like 3 times and i still laughed a the same old jokes. it was so great and i cant wait for that 2nd book and the other 2 following it.the book was so cool. its one of the best books i'v ever read and ive read so many books they could weigh 5 tons.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Marine

    Im not finished with the Cloral book yet but I just have to say that Harry Potter Daniel X and Bobby Pendragon should be together in a whole series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    #PENDRAGON IS EPIC

    It is the best series i have EVER read. On a scale of 1-10 Harry Potter is 8 or 9 and Pendragon is 10. They are THAT good. It is the best series you will ever read. Quote me if you want.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    I recently read the first book in this series, and while there w

    I recently read the first book in this series, and while there were many things I found problematic, I did enjoy it very much.

    So I read this book about...4 weeks ago? And Im not going to give an excuse, but the turnout of the book didn't motivate me to write this review. I think as a Pendragon fan, I enjoyed it, but there were some things I didn't connect with that I connected with better with the original. Why dont I just highlight the pros and the cons.

    What I liked:

    I love the new character Vo Spader. Booby wasn't vague in describing that he looked Asian(or rather I think it'd be better to state East Asian)looking up the fan art confirmed how I saw him. Very handsome, East Asian, with a big, infectious smile. Im not sure if the author does this intentionally, but I like how Bobby meets characters of color, and it's not an issue, or a racial thing, or even a thing in general. So far, of the travelers he's met so far, one has been one, one black(and a girl) and one asian.

    I like that this heritage isn't just shared amongst only the white folk, where we have to just sit back and be amazed by them. Im being completely sarcastic, but a part of that is true.

    Vo was very gregarious, and he wasn't written to be or prove anything to the story, he just was.

    I think I kind of liked the world, but I'll go into the issues with the world building in the cons section. I think I still like the idea that there isn't just one world out there, I connect with that aspect of it the most.

    What I didn't connect with:

    Oh the grammar. Still horrible as ever. I keep wondering why Bobby does all that telling. He's not 3, I think he's capable of structuring his sentences a lot better than the author allows him to. He goes through such adult situations(I cant think of many 14 year olds who saw over 200 bodies sitting dead in their own waste) so he should be written with a stronger narrative. I have a feeling all the books in the series will have this issue, but the lovable characters do make up for it.

    The world building. I couldn't really picture the world. I kept trying to picture it underwater, because a few things they could use from the world functioned, or was exclusively built to function under the water, because there was no dry land in Cloral, aside from a mystery lost island named "Faar." But then some things were contradicted with the "habitats" people lived on suggesting they lived on boats. Sometimes I pictured them to be islands that could float and be steered, other times I pictured them as boats, but I was extremely lost and it didn't slow down to explain it to me.  

    No Loor! While I will agree that this wasn't her world, and it wasn't about her, she's the whole reason I signed up! She made an appearance, and I savored every minute I got to see her, but I want more Loor!

    The Villian. Saint Dane has the look of a villain , but he just comes off as rather silly to me at times. His ability to shape-shift is awesome. It makes it much easier to do things indirectly that way, his typical way of creating mischief. But he just doesnt strike fear in me the way a villain should. He always just seems like the type of villain who's goal is way too big. Destroying the universe? Does he have no other goal? One that might suit his own personal need, that just happens to affect people?

    Overall, as a fan of the series, Im dedicated so Im still tuning in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Best

    This is a really good book I recomend it if you are looking for a good series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Pendragon is

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Nadia

    Yes! I rather do that:)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Breanna

    Anybody want to chat?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Jessica

    Okay see ya there! (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    This series is one of my favorite. Not only is it incredibly cre

    This series is one of my favorite. Not only is it incredibly creative science-fiction, it has the perfect amount of dry humor which really helps you imagine what's going on. BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Love it i dare you

    Greate book READ IT i dare you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Pendragon, the best series ever.

    The Lost City of Faar is one of the best books i've ever read. It takes you on an amazing adventure through Cloral while you find new characters and places. This book is a MUST read, but you better read the first book FIRST.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 206 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11