Customer Reviews for

The Lost Constitution

Average Rating 3.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2008

    History Meets Mystery. A Great Read!

    I've read the first two Peter Fallon novels 'Back Bay, Harvard Yard', and this one doesn't disappoint. Here's what you get: a historical novel that takes you from 1787 through the Civil War all the way to the Clinton years, and it's wrapped around a contemporary mystery/thriller. The history is vivid. The contemporary parts move fast. Great fun. But Martin's books ask you to pay attention. A previous reviewer complained that Martine killed off characters in one chapter who were alive in the next. That's because the next chapter was a FLASHBACK! Just read and enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2008

    A reviewer

    The writer builds great characters, and the plotline is intriguing, but then ruined by both the gratuitous (and sophomoric) sex scenes, and the constant opinons of the writer thinly veiled as a thematic element (can you say Gun control now has a mouthpiece?). The writers evident talent was watered down by this showing of poor restraint.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A GREAT read - Couldn't put it down!

    William Martin's novels bring meticulously researched history to life and wraps it in a thrilling modern-day treasure hunt, and this one is the best of the bunch! This story has momentum to spare as it races to a pulse-pounding climax at Fenway Park that kept me turning pages late into the night. Do yourself a favor and pick this book up - you will not be disappointed - just don't plan on doing anything else for a while once you get it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    The Lost Constitution Should Remain Lost

    Without question a waste of the many hours it took to muddle thru a poorly written work. The most positive thing I could say about this is, "it is too bad the author did not remain lost". Without question a great idea, but the poorest read I have had in years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2008

    Expected mystery & adventure got bored

    I picked up this book for some entertaining reading while traveling. Expecting a harrowing tale of mystery, suspense, and adventure, I struggled with it to the end never getting that payoff. It reads like a history professor decided to write pulp fiction & not good pulp fiction at that. The dialogue is flat, the action awkwardly paced, the story disjointed (who is doing what where? eh who cares anymore!). The only reason I gave it two stars is that there was obviously a lot of effort into piecing this together, but in the long run, it's not worth the effort to read. I wouldn't buy a title by this author again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    I can agree with most everything thats been said about this book so far. But I find it hard to believe that two main characters could be killed off in one chapter(Paul Doherty and Martin Bloom)and two chapters later they are sitting at a table talking with one of the other main players. Did the author forget that he killed them????????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2007

    Good story, excellent detail to 18th Century New England

    I picked this book up intruiged by the topic. I was pleasantly surprised how the author blended the past with the present. The New England History is immense, but the author took parts from the late 1700's and made them come alive. You felt like you were walking the streets of Boston, consumed with the idea of freedom, but scared of the outcome of the time period. There are ALOT of characters, but most seem important to a story that switches between present day and the 1780's. Overall, the author takes you on a journey through the heads of the framers of the consitution. These men shaped our country, but more importantly, you feel like you can share a 'pint at the old tavern' and listen to their thought processes. GREAT READ!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2007

    almost

    This book leaps to life. The story, concerning a lost, annotated first draft of the constituion, is told in split time, 2005, and just after the revolution. The past and present play off of each other brilliantly, until they meet at Fenway Park. The author brings vivid, complex characters on the stage and lets the scenes play out. He really knows how to bring a scene to life and move it where you'd never expect. Crackling with sadness and joy and humour and beauty and ugliness all in exact proportions. A deft touch by a talented story teller. You feel the cold and mud of old New England and the rush of the modern. It felt like a mini series brawling across generations they used to show on network TV. But that is part of the problem: too many characters, too many similar names. The story bogs down because of it, and the ending is weighted with all the superfluous characters. Blend them, cut them. Also, the kidnapping didn't work: the emotions of it were too fake. A few more drafts, an army of proof-readers--at least two dozen typos--this was almost so much more. And I loved the politics of the book--there's as many miserable idiots on the left as the right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1