Customer Reviews for

Lost December

Average Rating 4.5
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Lucky, Lucky Me!

I was privileged to read an advance copy of Richard Paul Evans' Lost December and all I can say is "lucky, lucky me!" I keep coming back to Richard's books because the characters are so real and so fulfilling. I love them, I hate them, I ache for them, I rejoice with th...
I was privileged to read an advance copy of Richard Paul Evans' Lost December and all I can say is "lucky, lucky me!" I keep coming back to Richard's books because the characters are so real and so fulfilling. I love them, I hate them, I ache for them, I rejoice with them. And by the time I am finished with the book, I know these people. That's why it hurts to close the cover. I always wish for more. And isn't that the test of a good book? It keeps you so engaged that you want the story to go on. I loved Lost December because I loved Luke. He makes me think of my children and what happens when they make wrong choices. A very good book and one that I will give as gifts because the message is so perfect and the book, itself, is so beautiful.

posted by Karen_from_NC on October 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Suspicious review D Glad

It is interesting that BN lets people review a book on Oct 19 2011, that is not available until Nov 1, 2011. How did Dglad pick up a copy prior to the release date? and since it is not released yet why should I believe their review?

posted by 7605707 on October 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    Lucky, Lucky Me!

    I was privileged to read an advance copy of Richard Paul Evans' Lost December and all I can say is "lucky, lucky me!" I keep coming back to Richard's books because the characters are so real and so fulfilling. I love them, I hate them, I ache for them, I rejoice with them. And by the time I am finished with the book, I know these people. That's why it hurts to close the cover. I always wish for more. And isn't that the test of a good book? It keeps you so engaged that you want the story to go on. I loved Lost December because I loved Luke. He makes me think of my children and what happens when they make wrong choices. A very good book and one that I will give as gifts because the message is so perfect and the book, itself, is so beautiful.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    Another excellent read...

    I have been happy to be a pre-reader in the past, but not on this new book, should "Anonymous" be ready to critique my review as well. Each of us in the public states our experience with any given authors' writing, that is what a Review is intended to be...not a Review of a reviewer's supposed intent or identity.
    I have been a long-time reading fan of Richard Paul Evans, and have given his books so many times to a broad range of ages as gifts, both at the holidays and year round.
    Richard Paul Evans' works often deal with real life, with individuals' serious life challenges, with their permission while changing their names -- a generous choice and gesture, to have their stories and experiences shared anonymously to help awaken, to bring authentic Hope to life. Thus, characters are so like individuals I've known, with difficult issues I, or family and friends, have faced at some time in my over half-a-century of living.
    Evans' is a gifted writer who very apparently knows the human mind and soul, most precisely because he knows his own: his relationship to self, to mankind, and to his Creator. This book is yet another fine "journey," another passage of the heart, mind, and soul through authentic life issues, even to a point of personal decay; then renewed order to thought, a real message of Hope -- all forged in real-life challenges, not at all in mere fantasy. If the style and content of Evans' books were otherwise, I would not be interested in reading Evans' work...I rarely read fiction -- however, these books, and now "Lost December," are each unique, well worth ones precious time and investment.
    I can say I happen to know who "Dglad" is: a person of very high integrity and honesty, and that, yes, indeed, from time-to-time, several folks can be asked to assist with pre-read/pre-release copy of upcoming material -- not at all new in the world of writing. If you are writing a review here, please, be sure you've read the book, and then discuss the book and author -- contact the publisher or B&N if you are certain there is a dishonest person posting a review -- serious readers/reviewers of any author/book simply want authentic reviews before investing their time and funds -- a Review is not a public forum intended for bashing of honest readers/Reviewers--thanks.
    Yet again, this 'modern Prodigal' rendering in "Lost December" is an excellent, well-written challenge, relevant to all in any time or nation, with principles remaining true across all human history...ENJOY!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    You have to read this one!

    I picked up this book because I heard it was the retelling of the story of the prodigal son and I was curious to see how Richard Paul Evans would handle it. I was very happy that I did. This story kept me reading and evoked a lot of different emotions, from anger and frustration to forgiveness and joy. In the end I felt like I had become part of the story itself, welcoming Luke back. This wasn't just a great Christmas story, but a great story all year long.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    want to thank Richard Paul Evans for writting another fantastic book!!!!! All that you do for your readers is remarkable but the books that you write are so inspirational to us and help guide us through life when things are not going so well..i know i pick up yuour books when i am down and out and then i feel so much better!! thank you richard so much.....

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    Evans does it again

    I first read Richard Paul Evans' work when he wrote the CHRISTMAS BOX, and occasionally picked up one of his books from time to time after that. He always pulled me right into his work and his characters seemed like someone I knew -- or someone I was or could have been. As I had more time to read, I discovered his WALK series and felt as if I were there with his characters each step of the way. I didn't want each book to end and can't wait for the future volumes. LOST DECEMBER does the same thing. Luke Crisp could be any of us, making a wrong turn, then another and feeling so lost and alone we don't know if we can ever make our way home. In this book we see people who represent the best of mankind -- and the worst of it. We see how each of them and their actions touches others -- yet, as we know it will in Evans' books, deep within its words is a love poured on the pages as only this author can. Another marvelous gift from this gifted scribe!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Early release

    I know that in the past year I have been sent 2 books before the release from the publisher. I believe it is because I am in several book clubs and was randomly picked and then asked to review. People are given books before the release date.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Inspiration plus

    The main protagonist, Luke, leaves home and begins a downward spiral. This story tells how easy it is to be slowly lead down a path we never thought we would go down and don't realize until it is too late. There is always hope of change and faith restored. This is an inspirational parallel to biblical stories and still a winner today!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2011

    Another Gem from Richard Paul Evans

    Richard Paul Evans continues to delight readers with this latest inspiration called ¿Lost December¿. This book beginning with the original parable of ¿The Prodigal Son¿ takes the reader on an adventure in a modern retelling of the story. On this journey we meet Luke Crisp. Luke is young, intelligent and next in line to take over the Crisp Corporation from his father. Carl Crisp is a loving father who raised Luke after his wife passed away. Teaching him to have a strong work ethic and showing him how to treat people with respect and dignity. When Luke goes to Wharton to get his MBA to prepare him for what his father hopes is his future with the company, he meets 5 people who challenge his thinking and his heart. When there is an unfortunate accident involving one of them, the rest decide to go on an extended vacation to Europe in an effort to enjoy the spoils of life while they can Luke knowing he has a trust fund at his disposal decides to join them and his Father is saddened to see his son go instead of taking over the business. There is a part of Luke that knows he has hurt his Father, but the lure of excitement entices him more. What follows is a series of greedy, self-serving events that turn in to a life-altering spin steering Luke¿s path out of control. With all of his friends gone, he is left to try to pick up the pieces. Thanks to a couple of angels that God puts in his way, Luke is able to climb out of his despair and ultimately finds his way home to Love and Forgiveness. This book like all of Richard Paul Evans books is filled with inspiration and many points to ponder. I really liked this book. Richard Paul Evans does not disappoint. A truly enjoyable read!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    Recommended

    The path to self discovery can be painful and this book really hit home in a lot of ways!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Parable of Love Unfeigned

    Lost December is a powerful, age old tale, set in modern times. It will open your eyes to the stark realities of life. An account of love, life, loss and love again, full of passion and the struggles of the rich and the poor. This story is fictional, but there is deep truth in its telling. Richard has again created an exceptional work with characters you will learn to love and others to despise. Full of desperate situations, the realities of the lost and forgotten, and the redeeming glimmer of hope it is truly a tale lived by many. Lost December is a perfect read to awaken our sense of caring in a world full of lost souls.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    Great Read!!!

    I truly enjoyed reading this book!!! A definte 5 stars for me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2014

    A great book for everyone (teens and up) to read! Even though yo

    A great book for everyone (teens and up) to read! Even though you know what will happen, there are enough twists to make it well worth reading. The character development was great. We watch Luke, a very good honorable young man, grow through his mistakes. It is hard to see him make choices that lead him to lose everything in his life. But it is very satisfying to see him pick himself up and start from scratch making something of his life again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    good read

    This book at first didn't seem like something I would like. It was a bit of a slow start for me. But, after I got past the first couple of chapters I could not put it down. Great job!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Very interesting subject matter...

    I really enjoyed the topic of this book. I could really identify with the characters life situation. I like to explore the ways that ones life is effected through the ups and downs of financial opportunity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Lost December

    Great love story. It's all about prioritizing whats important in your life step by step.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Excellent Book

    This is an easy read with many profound lessons! It demonstrates how our choices affect our lives and how we can be on top of the world one minute, and down the next. Very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    A treasure to read!

    I loved this book. It was an easy read, rich characters, and a great story. A tear jerker for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Wow

    Wow really good. You have some real talent my friend. ~ author of royal wolf and fatalstar/grin mistake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Read - Amazing!

    A young man, with everything in the world he could ever wish for—wealth, comfort, and most of all, a loving father—leaves his home, taking his inheritance with him. Carelessly, he spends it all, and finds himself left penniless, homeless, and starving, living in the tunnels of Las Vegas. Can you go home???

    His dad wants him to take over the business which he has worked in during high school, but first Luke to see more of the world and to receive the sort of education Carl never had a chance at. Luke applies to pursue an MBA at the Wharton School in Philadelphia. There, he finds romance with a beautiful woman and, for the first time, friends. But the more time he spends with his new companions—especially the cocky and worldly Sean—the more he finds himself and his values changing. Slowly but surely, he grows further away from his father, until they barely communicate at all.

    After blowing thru his trust fund in Europe and loss of his girlfriend, he finds himself homeless. One night, he is attacked and beaten by two men, left with nothing but a broken rib and his underwear. And that is when his fortunes begin to change. A good Samaritan—a Latino man who runs a care center for the elderly—stops to help him, buys him a meal, and offers him a job.

    Gradually, the formerly prosperous young man rebuilds his life and relearns the principles that were once so important to him. He still cannot bring himself to contact his father, but to prove himself worthy of the Crisp name, Luke takes a second job, at one of the family company’s stores, aiming to see how high he can rise on his own merits. He cannot foresee that he will also fall in love—and find the redemption he has ached for so long.

    The book was amazing! I loved it as very much demonstrates the need to be grateful for what you have. The best book I have read by Evans - (keep a box of tissues handy)!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Scourge

    Wow im impressed. I never thought about writing a stry about my self. Im the writer of Scourges story at hall way. I hate the fact that everyone is writing a bout like " flowergroves desteny of like the path of firefang or what ever chiz it begins with" anyways all those storys start out as " firekit woke up in the nursery with chokekit" ive noticed the main character always has a brother sister or kit friend....anyways you can read my story at hallway

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5