Customer Reviews for

The Lost Dogs: Michael Vick's Dogs and Their Tale of Rescue and Redemption

Average Rating 4.5
( 142 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

awesome book

When I found out that this book was coming out, I couldn't wait to go buy it. I knew it would be a very hard book to read though. I also wanted to know what happened to the poor, defenseless, sweet, innocent dogs that were abused for absolutely no reason. I also want to...
When I found out that this book was coming out, I couldn't wait to go buy it. I knew it would be a very hard book to read though. I also wanted to know what happened to the poor, defenseless, sweet, innocent dogs that were abused for absolutely no reason. I also want to read this book so I can educate others on what this monster, and his cohorts did to these doggies. So many people are quick to defend this piece of garbage, and don't even think about these innocent dogs who didn't deserve this. I want to tell everyone I see, or anyone I hear talking about him what disgusting, heartless, make you want to throw up, torture him, and do the things that he did to these poor dogs. I have only read up to page 20 so far. I cant believe what i am reading that was done to these dogs. My stomach turned. I thought I was going to throw up. I had to read it over again, because I couldn't believe what I just read. I thought I read it wrong. I wish I could have gone there and rescued all of them. This never should of happened. I know in the coming pages I am only going to read much worse. This is a perfect title for this book. These dogs do become lost. Once the media stops covering it everyone forgets about them. What about the dogs that lost their lives as a result of this? They lost their lives in such a terrible, unthinkable way. Now the surviving dogs have to live with the constant memories of this horrific experience. This book is a wonderful book that I think everyone should read. Dog fighting needs to stop. Animal fighting needs to stop. Animal abuse needs to stop. This book will definitely educate people on how horrible dog fighting is, and can help put an end to it.

posted by joelle818 on September 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Life changing

This book is heartwrenching but proof that inside every dog is a good heart. This book could change the way society thinks about pitbulls. Every dog deserves a chance.

posted by Anonymous on December 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    awesome book

    When I found out that this book was coming out, I couldn't wait to go buy it. I knew it would be a very hard book to read though. I also wanted to know what happened to the poor, defenseless, sweet, innocent dogs that were abused for absolutely no reason. I also want to read this book so I can educate others on what this monster, and his cohorts did to these doggies. So many people are quick to defend this piece of garbage, and don't even think about these innocent dogs who didn't deserve this. I want to tell everyone I see, or anyone I hear talking about him what disgusting, heartless, make you want to throw up, torture him, and do the things that he did to these poor dogs. I have only read up to page 20 so far. I cant believe what i am reading that was done to these dogs. My stomach turned. I thought I was going to throw up. I had to read it over again, because I couldn't believe what I just read. I thought I read it wrong. I wish I could have gone there and rescued all of them. This never should of happened. I know in the coming pages I am only going to read much worse. This is a perfect title for this book. These dogs do become lost. Once the media stops covering it everyone forgets about them. What about the dogs that lost their lives as a result of this? They lost their lives in such a terrible, unthinkable way. Now the surviving dogs have to live with the constant memories of this horrific experience. This book is a wonderful book that I think everyone should read. Dog fighting needs to stop. Animal fighting needs to stop. Animal abuse needs to stop. This book will definitely educate people on how horrible dog fighting is, and can help put an end to it.

    23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    The Lost Dogs

    When I picked up this book I didn't think the contents were going to be as graphic as they were! This was a very hard read if you are an animal lover, especially dogs. The things that these men did are horrendous. It is sad that people can just say "he paid his debt to society". I do not think that any amount of time that he spent in jail is enough much less that he is able to still make millions playing football. I don't think that any of these men should EVER be allowed to own another animal in their lifetime. This story was heartbreaking!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    Sad and heartwarming, a true tale of courage

    For a long time I was hesitant to read this book out of fear to learn of the horrors these poor animals went through, but I am so glad I finally relented. Their story and that of the people who helped them is a study in courage and perseverance in the face of terrible odds against them. Rather than being a gruesome accounting of all the atrocities that were visited on these dogs, although there was enough information relayed to paint a truly ugly picture of pathetic Vick and his cronies, this book turned out to be a touching account of the courage these dogs showed despite their circumstances. I was moved to tears many times, but also touched to know that these dogs received a chance at new lives where, even for a short time for some, they could flourish and exist in peace with people who gave them love. Thank you, Jim Gorant, for sharing their story. I highly recommend this to anyone, dog-owner or not.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    so thrilled for the dogs' new lives

    The first chapters are extremely difficult but needed to show the torture and inhumane treatment these dogs were subjected too. wish there had more on the dogs at Best Friends. There is no exucse for what Vick did and no redemption for this monster in my eyes. God bless those who stepped up and showed these wonderful dogs that the world is really not such a bad place.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    Even better than expected

    I almost stopped reading this early on because Jim Gorant gave a "voice" to one of the dogs involved and it was sad. I continued on and am very glad that I did. The book is more about the dogs than Michael Vick, but still provides all the background information. It is very well researched and flows in easy to follow chronological order that held my interest throughout. It was nice to see that most of these poor innocent creatures were able to be saved. I admire the dedicated people, law enforcement and civilian, who worked so hard to rescue and socialize the dogs. I am a dog lover and the book helped me to understand their nature even more. This breed appears to be extremely loyal and has been the victim of bad treatment and alarmists. Right now I feel inspired to volunteer at a shelter to walk & socialize the pits. They seem to be the largest population of dogs at shelters. I am just afraid that I might walk them all home with me.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2010

    Highly Recommended-A definite must read!

    I am a total animal lover and I recommend this book to people that are not animal lovers because you WILL convert! I am in love with the pit bull breed and will continue to only own that particular breed. This book will shine light on what this breed is truly about. I am honored that I get to experience this on a daily basis with my pit bull. What this book does is gives a fighting chance for the pit bull to once again be accepted in the public's eyes. These are the most misunderstood dogs and this book just proves it. This book does strike every emotion in the human body--so be prepared to stock up on some kleenex. This book is very well written and I love that a journalist wrote this book because it is very well researched. This was a great investment and I finished the book in three days. I could not put it down.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    You Will End Up Crying

    Like the headline says, at some point during this book, you will end up all teary eyed. My breakdown moment was at the start of the book when Gorant discusses what the "unlucky" dogs went through. Fair warning - Gorant does not hide what happened to the dogs and there were times when I was only able to go 2 or 3 pages and then have to put the book down and walk away (and go play with my dog to make me feel better). However, once you progress past the first part of the book, he goes on to tell how each dog was evaluated and the therapy that the dogs underwent. I was surprised that the evaluation team was hoping to save around 5 dogs from the 51 rescued from Bad Newz. 5 was considered successful! Luckily, WAY more than 5 found themselves being saved. I especially liked that at the end of the book, Gorant has added a paragraph or two on nearly every dog saved and what they are up to nowadays. All in all, I highly recommend this book - tough to read at first but so very rewarding at the end. It demonstrates just what a dog from some of the worst conditions is able to overcome and become the dog they were meant to be.

    Sidenote: I recently read an article about a couple who adopted one of the dogs now are parents and have an active toddler in the house. The best part? When the child goes down for a nap, the dog lays down outside the crib and will not leave until the nap is over. Now THAT is what a Pitt (and Pitt mixes!) really is. These dogs were once the "nanny dogs" and it isn't difficult to understand why!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    Time well spent

    I read this book in 2 sittings. I simply could not put it down. Jim Gorant perfectly captured all aspects if this story. I cried...hard at times...but expected to. Every tear was worth it. The hard work that was put into rehabilitating these dogs touched me beyond belief.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    Those wanting to ban the breed - READ THIS!

    In the 1980s it was the German Shepherds, the 1990s Dobermans and Rottweilers - now with the turn of the century America has turned on itself by vilifying the dog that represented her values during two world wars... The American Pit Bull Terrier.

    I read the article Mr. Gorant wrote in 2008 and when I saw this book was coming out I knew I had to read it. I need to find out what had happeneded since his article, since the Dogtown episodes and since the Silent Witness episode telling the story of those who didn't make it. I expected it to be tough reading, the graphic injuries are telling and prepare to feel sick when you read about how fighting dogs die - either from the jaws of other abused dogs to the long torturous and sadistic killings of their owners.

    This book shows the truth about the breed - that over 80% of the dogs bred from within these fighting lines can not be forced to be competitive in the ring. Guess what happens to those that fail to make the grade... And even after they have spent years being prodded and groomed and fought and wounded these dogs are still able to turn around and love their new friends and families.

    Sweet Jasmine on the cover, shows the story to perfection. Her scars are plain to see, but she's still hopeful and just wants to please. That is the only crime these dogs are guilty of - wanting to make their owners happy.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2010

    The best book I've read this year

    Jim Gorant's follow-up to his article in Sports Illustrated is a heartbreaking yet hopeful, hard-hitting, relentlessly researched story of what happened to the dogs rescued from Bad Newz Kennels, owned by Michael Vick. Divided into three sections, Rescue, Reclamation, and Redemption, the story takes you first into the woods of Virginia, then all over the country as it follows the survivors. The book simultaneously will have you crying over the suffering, then cheering (or crying) as the dogs rise above their past and move forward into promising futures (or not). Gorant does not spare the reader the cruelties suffered by these dogs but is not sensationalistic in the storytelling. Be sure to have a box of tissues with you- especially if you love dogs and other animals.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book--Slow Read

    I bought this book looking to learn about the dogs and what exactly happened. The beginning was slow, and I didn't like the narration from the dog's perspective, as if these dogs just sat down with the author and told their story. What really happened was incredibly cruel. I also felt like the author was trying to downplay Vick's role in this incident. If you are interested in more than just the dogs this is a good book. Any sappy dog lover should beware. Everytime a dog died or was injured I bawled.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2010

    Awesome Book!

    I just read this book today. I had tears in my eyes from the first page on. I think it was more than just facts on a case, seeing how the dogs actually come into their own is amazing, and in fact it is a book that anyone who loves dogs.I also think that the NFL should have it on the list when they give out the MVP award this year!

    I watched the special they had on Animal Planet also, when the news broke, and the follow ups.

    The book is written with insight into the dogs and their experiences and takes you step by step through the process. I cannot recommend it enough!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    THEY ARE NOT JUST DOGS!!!!!!!!!!!!

    When i waz reading some of the comments ,i found a few on here that arnet very nice like they are just dogs! I cant even type that without getting upset. How would anyone like it if they somehow were put in a cage,barley fed,covered in blood and scares? These poor animals suffered so much and just needed love, next time someone says "just dogs" i would tell them to see it from a dogs' point of view!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    This book is a heart-breaker. I cried - hard. But it was also very interesting and educational. I've written more than one letter to Commissioner Goodell about Michael Vick. This book was vindication of my efforts. I was very interested to learn the details of the entire case - and to learn what happened to the dogs and how they were rehabilitated.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    Like the dogs,give it a chance

    I'm a dog owner and when I first started it I had to put it down. The story was, in a sense too brutal. I gave it a second try and couldn't put it down. It will give you a new view of the breed,how cruel AND how good people are as well as how blind some of our officials really are. If you are a sports fan or a pet owner iy is a must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A must read for animal lovers!

    I loved this book. I found myself wanting more. I think the book's only shortcoming is that it has a journalistic brevity, that left me wanting a deeper connection with the story. The author moves along at a brisk pace, which kept me turning the pages. The first third of the book, prior to rescue from Vick's property, is told partially from the viewpoint of the dogs. It puts the reader right into the experience of living in a dog-fighting ring. The story of recovery is the most rewarding part of this book. These dogs tread a tough road to trust and peace, and it is truly inspiring to read their stories. If you're an animal lover, read it. You will love it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    can't wait to read!

    just listened to the interview on NPR about this book...jumped right onto Barnes $ Nobles website to download it to my nook...but it isn't available as an ebook =(.
    Heading to the store tonight to buy the actual book...

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Unbelievably enlightening, heartwrenching and heartwarming

    The enormity of the vicious cruelty inflicted on these dogs by Vick and the likes of him, for the sake of entertinment; is only surpassed by the loving-kindness extended by the many who rose up to help, rescue, and rehabilitate these tortured victimized pit bulls. Super enlightening. A must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Greatest book ever!

    I read this book not to long ago. I loved it! It is amazing how this people helped these dogs! I think it is a great book for anyone! It can teach you a lot and make a difference in how you see things in life! I LOVE this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    The truth hurts

    The facts speak for themselves. Focuses on the canine victims in the case and the redemption is theirs. Vicks cruelty and brutality are undeniable. Hard to read at times but a must read for dog lovers or anyone tempted to look the other way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8