Customer Reviews for

The Lost Duke of Wyndham (Two Dukes of Wyndham Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 130 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Don't know what everyone else was talking about!

I don't know what everyone else was talking about this book was so good, just as good as any of her other books. I can not wait until the next one! The characters were funny and down to earth, very entertaining!

posted by Anonymous on August 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not Quinn's Best

This was definately not one of Julia Quinn's best pieces. The book was just plain dull. The characters were good, but the excitement just wasn't there.

posted by Maitrakh on January 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 130 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautifly written - lovely story

    A lovely story and touching. If your a fan of Jane Austin, this is a wonderful tale with a slight bit of Robin Hood thrown in. A beautifully written story - you feel what each character is feeling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Just Okay

    My first book I've read by her. I saw it at the store and thought I'd give it a whirl...it was alright

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    1 Of My Favorite Authors!

    Julia Quinn is imaginative! She brings a new flavor to historical romances. I never thought I would like historical romances, but I gave them a try with the first book I picked up by her. Anything with her name on it is great! :) She is an amazing writer with a creative mind. She's fresh!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    One of the best!

    I enjoyed this book tremendously! The authoress did a good job of building the characters and the storyline had some twists! I can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2008

    Not Up To Her Standard

    This book was very poorly written and executed particularly when compared to her other novels. The characters were lack- luster and the dialogue was trite and redundant. The central plot did not hold together throughout the story and the author seemed to be caught in a series of repetitious scenes that basically went nowhere. Also, the romance between the hero and the heroine was shallow with little or no real passion or attachment of the heart evident. This, coupled with characters whose depth of development was superficial at best made this book very disappointing indeed. Particulary coming from a writer who is as talented as Ms. Quinn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2008

    Not a keeper

    This book was a big disappointer. Some of her books are really funny and they all show her sense of humor in the language and in the style she writes in. But this one was sad...you can predict what's going to happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2008

    A reviewer

    I am glad I did not read the reviews for The Lost Duke of Wyndham because I would not have bought the book. This is my first book by Julia Quinn and I truly thought it was delightful. Yes, there were sad parts but if Julia is being compared to Jane Austin then of course there will be sad part........It was an amazing story with tragedy,romance, and intrigue. I can not wait until October for her next Book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    Maybe the gods were being unkind, maybe Ms. Quinn is headed in a different direction...Too many maybes. One thing is for sure, this one is a stinker. I have read it twice, once because I was so excited to read her new novel, and twice to convince myself that there was something I had missed. Confirmed...I had not missed much. Ms. Quinn is nuts to think she can pass this off as good writing. You want a sleep-inducer, read this instead of counting sheep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2008

    won't waste my money...

    I love Julia Quinn and I have every single one of her books, but after seeing that the vast majority of reviewers found this book less than stellar, I won't rush out to buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2008

    Julia Quinn cannot stop herself from writing the most amazing novels of love and romance, nor would we ask her to.

    Jack Audley believes he was born to be a soldier, fell into being a highwayman and most assuredly was a rogue. He knew that his aunt and uncle who raised him loved him like he was their own child and sent him off into the world knowing he was a great man and had been a wonderful son. All these things Jack knew and understood, but what he never knew or could ever suppose could possibly be true was that his father decided from royalty and that Jack must just in fact be the rightful Duke of Wndham. Well all this may be true and Jack so hoped it was not but if he could prove his legitimacy and not maim his new found grandmother the title was about to become his. Grace Eversleigh was born the beloved and cared for daughter of two doting and cherishered parents and what she became as a result of their death was the companion to the dowager of Wyndham. This was not a highly sought after position was the dowager was just a bit much to take for the normal companion, well really she was too much to take for anyone sometimes even Grace. What Grace also knew is that Thomas was her friend and as well as being the Duke of Wyndham ¿ not the person that the dowager now believes was because that would just change everything and Grace wanted no more change that would alter her life. When these two meet on a dark, lonely highway one night while Jack while living the life of a highwayman prepared to rob them all things changed for everyone associated with the Wyndham way of life. His grandmother immediately recognized him as the long lost son of her beloved middle child John and justifies kidnapping him. She brings him to her home where the current and believed Duke of Wyndham, Thomas, now resides and rules over the estates in the position he was born and raised to hold and one that was now thrust upon Jack ¿ even though he was quite unwilling to accept it. While all this is transpiring the fate of one Amelia Willoughby lie in the hands of this twisted fate as she is to marry the next Duke and has been waiting since birth for this to transpire. It must be determined who exactly that Duke might or perhaps might not be and that involves a journey of exploration that takes the group from England to Ireland where everyone waits patiently for all the things in everyone¿s lives to be determined and explained and one man will walk away with everything while the other has nothing but memories of what use to be the life they had and wanted. This book as is true of all Ms. Quinn¿s books is romantic, well plotted, characters deep with powerful development and just overall an amazing read. It was going to be difficult to create another series that appeals like the Briderton¿s had but this one book alone stands as a masterpiece and waiting for the next one is going to be torture ¿ because really who is the real Duke of Wyndham anyway?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    Very Disappointing

    I have read every book of Julia Quinn's and loved all of them - until this book. All through the book I actually wondered if Julia Quinn had written it, because it felt, sounded and read differently from all her other stories. Like another reviewer stated - Maybe she is going in another direction now. If so, it isn't working for me. If you want to read a Julia Quinn book, please choose one of her earliest releases (Splendid or How to Marry a Marquis). Or begin with the Bridgerton series she wrote, which was excellent. The first book is The Duke and I.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    Not the best

    I've read every one of this author's books and I have to admit this was one let down. From the hurried wrap ups attempting to pull the story together and the varied and out of nowhere dilemna's she throws in I was ready to end this book long before I finished reading it. If the hero and heroine uttered the other's name and ONLY their name ('Jack','Grace','Jack','Grace'...) during one more intimate scene I thought I would surely throw the book across the room. In short a frustrating, unengaging book from an author I usually like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2008

    Wait for Thomas' story

    I was disappointed with the story. Jack wasn't charming enough to fall for. Thomas is a much better character and I'm hoping his story is better. It was too sappy their relationship right from the beginning. Thomas is like Turner from The Secret Diaries of Miss. Miranda Cheever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    Deliciously Seductive

    I loved the way Grace and Jack are first come together. She's lonely, he doesn't know what he wants until she steps into his life. It's a beautifully told story. I can't wait for Thomas and Amelia's story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2008

    ...counting down till October

    I can not wait till October, the whole time i was reading this book I really wanted to read more about Thomas. Jack and Grace story was okay but i was expecting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    I usually love every single one of Julia Quinn's books, until now. It started out good but went downhill from there. The only thing that saved the book was Jack's sense of humor. I couldn't stand the grandmother. I thought in the end she would change her attitude, but that never happened. Hopefully her next book will be better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 130 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7