Customer Reviews for

Dreadnaught (Lost Fleet: Beyond the Frontier Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 231 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(142)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

This book is OVERPRICED for an E-book!

E-Books should NEVER cost more than a paperback!

posted by craig139 on December 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I havent read this yet

I havent read this yet but i kinda hope everyone dies

posted by Anonymous on May 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    This book is OVERPRICED for an E-book!

    E-Books should NEVER cost more than a paperback!

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    I really want to read this book all his others were so good but

    I really want to read this book all his others were so good but i refuse to pay more for a nook book than a paper back ill just find a used copy

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Ebooks

    I agree e books should be cheaper then the paperback. But i will say i enjoy the series.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Lost Fleet turns from military science fiction to Star Trekking Beyond the Frontier

    The war is over and the Alliance won thanks mostly due to the strong military leadership of Admiral John "Black Jack" Geary (see six books of The Lost Fleet Syndicate Worlds war). As his reward, the popular officer is assigned command and control of the newly commissioned First Fleet.

    However, the Alliance political leaders who were grateful to Geary for the tough war decisions do not want a popular war hero hanging amongst them. They order Geary and his First Fleet to enter into the far rim of Syndic space allegedly to investigate alien occupation. Geary understands though the combat with the Syndicate Worlds is over with the enemy shattered, entering the deepest sector is suicide. Making the mission even more perilous is his unit has been supplied with inferior equipment and orders that stifle accomplishment while increasing risk.

    With a great space rotation, The Lost Fleet turns from military science fiction to Star Trekking Beyond the Frontier. The story line is as always faster than the speed of light as hostilities remain extremely high even with the war over; as Black Jack's previous political supporters want him out of town. Jack Campbell creates a terrific unexpected spin to his great outer space saga as the formerly Lost Fleet now The First Fleet is sent by armchair leaders to die.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    I havent read this yet

    I havent read this yet but i kinda hope everyone dies

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Lost Fleet is a great series

    I have enjoyed all of the series and can't wait for more.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    I'm hooked!

    This book is a great read really intense! I could not put the book down, ended up going to bed t about 2am and had to go to work the next day. It was worth it! Just purchased the rest of the series. Looking forward to reading them all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    The first in a series that is "space opera" at its bes

    The first in a series that is "space opera" at its best.  Well-choreographed battles, thoughtfully drawn characters, and intriguing plot lines.  I didn't think they wrote 'em like this anymore; happily, I was wrong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    $$$$$

    Have not even read it yet but have enjoyed the previous editions. TO MUCH MONEY FOR "E-BOOKS" So yea, buy the printed versions and you will save enough money to buy . . more books! That's what readers do B&N!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    Great Series

    Great characters, plot, strategy, well written, engaging, couldn't put it down. Read the entire series in a few days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    Outstanding reading for the sci fi series readers,book 7

    The series sets up a reality, sets up increasing obstacles for the Hero to overcome and is a good way to escape. This is book 7 and I eagerly await each one that comes out to see what "Black Jack" has to overcome. The battles are quite realistic for big space battles, not star warish, that at least keep maneuvering and most weapons tied to phnysics principles. Use of tactics is quite logical and realistic if thought about in real world tactics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Continues a great series - worth checking out.

    I picked up the first book at the airport a number of years ago. I was hooked. A great concept and each book has gotten better.

    Now that the Lost Fleet is home they are called on to leave on a mission to better understand the aliens or is it all a political move by Senate leaders?

    Good character's have been developed through the series with some great battle scenes and human interaction. I can't wait to see what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    Awesome

    I picked up The Lost Fleet series on the advice of a book about writing science fiction and fantasy. It said to pick up something I wouldn't normally read and try it. I am forever grateful I did. This first in the follow on series is more than I was hoping for. The characters fit the world they are placed in. The action is awesome to read. The humor is great. I bought it online, waited,(impatiently) for it to arrive, and the only reason I put it down was when I went to church. Though I came home and finished reading it before going to bed. I have one complaint. It ended. Now I have to wait until the next one. I highly recommend this and the series that gave birth to this. You will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7