Customer Reviews for

The Lost Gate

Average Rating 4
( 254 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(120)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Entertaining!

Danny North is a young man, growing up as an outsider in a powerful and mysterious magical family. His family isolates themselves in the mountains of western Virginia, practicing magic and teaching it to their children, but Danny is scorned for his lack of magical talen...
Danny North is a young man, growing up as an outsider in a powerful and mysterious magical family. His family isolates themselves in the mountains of western Virginia, practicing magic and teaching it to their children, but Danny is scorned for his lack of magical talents. As he get older he becomes more aware of the secrets and tensions wrapped up in his birth and the old legends of Loki. Loki long ago closed all the gates between Earth and the gods, trapping Danny's family on Earth. Soon, Danny must leave his family in order to discover his own power and challenge the ancient, evil gatekeeper.

This is the first book by Orson Scott Card that I have read, so I can't compare it to his others, but I will be reading more! The stories of Danny and Loki are expertly woven together, the characters are fascinating and widely varied, and there is a lot of fast-paced action with some thought provoking morality thrown in. I don't often dip my toes into the fantasy genre, but it made for a very nice change. I was thoroughly entertained by The Lost Gate and I look forward to reading the next book in this series.

I listened to the audio version of Lost Gate, narrated by Emily Janice Card and Stefan Rudnicki. Having different readers to distinguish between the two different story threads was very helpful for keeping everything straight. Emily Janice Card reads with a fresh, young voice that makes a startling and interesting contrast to Stefan Rudnicki's deep, resonant voice.

posted by Frisbeesage on July 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Not One of Card's Better Efforts

Having read some of Card's excellent fantasy works (Enchantment, Treasure Box, Magic Street) I was very disappointed with this attempt to make a fantasy based on the Norse legends. The Norse gods have been trapped on Earth for centuries because the mischevious Loki had ...
Having read some of Card's excellent fantasy works (Enchantment, Treasure Box, Magic Street) I was very disappointed with this attempt to make a fantasy based on the Norse legends. The Norse gods have been trapped on Earth for centuries because the mischevious Loki had closed all the gates to return to the homeland. As a result, they are no longer immortal and can be killed. They settle in the countryside in the US where they live totally isolated from their modern neighbors.

Through the centuries they were at war with other god clans who fear that the Norse clan will have born a new gatemage, that is, one that create gates and possibly open the gate to the Norse homeland. Once there they will become powerful again and able to wipe out the other god clans.

Most of the people develop limited powers at an early age such as being able to project their astral selves as clants. Danny is the son of Thor and thought to hold great promise. He is smarter than all the other kids but for some reason he appears to have no powers.

Danny is always careful because the others would think nothing of killing him because he is a disappointment. Danny soon learns that he is in fact a gatemange and that really puts his life at risk. Since the other clans do not want anyone that could lead them home, they would want Danny dead. His own people would definately want him dead too. Danny's father actually knows Danny's secret and tells Danny that he needs to leave as he develops and learns to better control his power.

If the book sounds interesting, it is not. There are too many characters and the book jumps around to various places where the gods live. Danny's character bears a lot of similarities to several of Card's other characters (the main character in the Homebody series and in his book A Place Called Treason). Where the other characters were interesting, Danny is rather boring. As a matter of fact, most of the characters in the story are boring. I found myself slogging through the pages trying to get to the end. If Card is planning a sequel, I will not be getting it anytime soon.

posted by Kataman1 on December 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 256 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    ....

    I hate how people just go around dissing agreat book you all need lives i fyou think this book sucks

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Great book...when does the next one come out?!?!

    Love the book but its been over a year and the next book hasn't come out yet!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Great book

    Just another great book from this author, which is just what I expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Up there with enders game

    Fantastic read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Reader

    Rocks

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Amazing read.

    There are few english words that do it justice.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    An amazing book

    This book reminded me why i stated reading in the first place. This amazing book has a desent pace with twists the make you want to just reaad the book without stoping. The maen character is entreeging allowing the reader to understand the good in him. I can not what to read the next book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    Loved it!! Can't wait for the second one!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    I loved this!

    I've never read of OSC's previous works (I fully intend to though) but this was a great read! I can't wait until the next book in the series comes out. I've been so lost since Harry Potter!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    He+did+it+again

    Another+book+by+Card+that+I+couldn%27t+put+down.++Loved+it%21

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    Phenomenal

    Awesome concept but now i want more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun Opening for a new Fantasy Series

    This novel, set mostly on contemporary Earth, is the first in a new series. It's the tale of a race of people from another planet, long stranded on this one. For thousands of years they were worshiped as gods, but their powers are fading. An unassuming boy is born to those magical people and learns he has a gift long thought to be lost. He may be able to reconnect the two worlds and restore power to his family and their rivals. You'll be there as he struggles to understand himself and figure out his destiny while making a normal life with ordinary people. It's a fun story with lots of mythology and supernatural content. A modern fairytale.
    Michael Travis Jasper, author of the novel, "To Be Chosen"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Magic filled adventure for YA and Adults

    Danny North is a young mage of 11 years of age, yet he is considered a drekka because he has shown no signs of using or having magic. Danny is a mage in a commune of the North mage clan where all are related and have been imprisoned here on our Earth for the last thirteen and a half centuries as the gates to Westil where locked and closed by Loki. And it's a given by all the warring families if any have a Gatemage they are to put them to death (with the thanks to Loki's trickster ways and closing the gates), yet secretly all the families hope for one to open the Great Gate back to their home land. Danny, unknowingly for years has been creating gates, and gets found out by the Greek girl. Danny is now on the run for his life, and needs to learn what he can from a world that knows nothing of making gates.

    I fear this was one of those books where the hype raised my expectations a little to high. As I enjoyed reading the book, it wasn't as out there as I had thought it would be. Orson has created a society where the people are from another world and full of magic, yet the magic is failing them and they are not as strong as they where when they where considered gods years ago. They are in need of the Great Gate to strengthen them once again, and to return to their home land. Yet they are exiled here on Earth.

    This book is the journey of Danny North to learning about drekka's, or normal people with no magic. Yet, Danny finds his way to other orphans of magic and to a wonderful home of people who take care of him and teach him what they can. What we have here is a young boy turning into a young man, learning what he can of what he can do magically, what are the good and bad things to do with his powers.

    Then we have another character we follow through the story. This character has lived within a tree for years, maybe centuries. Finally he births from the tree as a young boy, with no true memories of the past. He shows up in a town where he is taken in by a kitchen lead cook who realizes he has great powers. This is the character I actually enjoyed following the most. The mystery behind Wad, and the magical abilities he has, and the double life he lives in this wondrous home of the Kind and Queen.

    I think I would like to read the next book in this series when it comes out as to the curiosity it left in me. I'm curious as to why this families where exiled here in our world, what Wad will do now with what has happened to him, and what Danny will learn next and how to handle all the screaming inside him now. Will the families come after Danny or will he be safe in the future? I am curious.

    This book is a Young Adult read, and I think young boys will enjoy this read. I would say the book seems to be geared for young adults from about thirteen and older.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Engrossing read you won't put down until finished

    Engrossing read you won't put down until finished but please ignore book description at the major book seller sites. Someone's misguided marketing or warped sense of humor mentions stuff not at all part of plot (for example, there are absolutely no kidnappings or werewolves). I am an avid Orson Scott Card fan slow to pick up his new releases because I know once I start it will be an all-nighter. The Lost Gate begins a new trilogy/series based on (per author's note in book) world building seen in earlier short stories -- "SandMagic" "Stonefather" with maps published in a small collection entitled "Cardographjy" -- about Mithermages. Mithermages are alien mages who visit and settle on this world via gates from theirs and are responsible for many of our myths and legends (hence one brief paragraph talking about seven league boots, goblins, werewolves and other myths/legends that somehow becomes book description/excerpt at most sites). Passage thru the gates between worlds, created by "gatemages" increases their mage powers. 1400 years earlier, the gates were closed by a gatemage called Loki during wars and events presumably rest of trilogy will be explaining. The mage families stranded on earth continue to be quarrelsome and warring while struggling with dwindling powers and natives growing in technological and intellectual powers. The worst of the warring leads to treaties that include turning in and destroying any gatemages born into a family to avoid one family only being able to create and use gates between worlds to regain lost strengths and abilities. Most of the mage families are pretty inbred and hidebound, living in compounds away from rest of world with little technology and ironclad control over residents. That's the background. Story starts with Danny North supposedly powerless son raised and quite bullied in the North family in Virginia who discovers he is a gatemage. And then we're off ... Danny of course has to leave compound and discover how to live in the world outside family, his new powers and try to piece together what history/myths are real and who is good/bad guys. On the world the Mithermages are from, another character is introduced and more events are set in motion that eventually do connect to Danny's story. Boy that was a wordy review but still too short to relay the story -- I'll stop here because more would include spoilers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Lost Gate is a quick and wonderful read.

    This hard back of 20+ chapters looked like a long read at first glance, but once I started it was hard to put it down. The story is wonderfully written and a concept not seen elsewhere. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Gate to Adventure

    If you enjoy fantasy and the creation of new worlds of magic and myths you will enjoy this book. The author has the ability to draw us into his world and leave us believing in it's magic. The remnants of mages left over from the wars of a world populated by beings with near godlike powers survive on our world along side the ordinary human Drowthers. The only way into the old world, Westil, is by a magical gate formed by a gatemage. No such gate has existed for fourteen hundred years. Although almost all the mages have some sort of mystical or magical power, none claims the power of a gatemage. For all are sworn to kill any child who starts to show the skill of a gatemage. The balance of power between the surviving tribes of mages is preserved as long as none can pass through the gate to Westil. Whoever goes and returns will have strength and powers superior to all the others. Danny North, an otherwise unremarkable thirteen year old, is thrown into a vortex of intrigue and adventure when his unspectacular adolescence begins to develop into a gatemage of unbelievable power. Danny must flee for his life while trying to master the powers growing inside him. Will they be a curse or a gift? Will he be able to survive in this world while he tries to cross over into another world full of mystery? This book provided for review by the well read folks at TOR Books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Lost Gate is an entertaining young adult fantasy

    His ancestry comes from another world, but they were sent here in exile. Danny North knows his DNA flows with ages of mages, but does not think much about it. That changes when powers surface that scare him. He is a gatemage.

    Danny knows he can open a portal for his race to return to their home world. However, he fears revealing his skill to anyone as gatemages are not a longevity occupation; as the squabbling banished clans prefers the peace over going home; this means executing gatemages before they cause havoc. Danny flees before he is murdered. He finds a temporary shelter and begins experimenting with opening the Great G for the first time in fourteen hundred years.

    At the same time on the planet Westil, Wad the gatemage falls in love only to be betrayed. He struggles with his lost memory as he has poor recollection of how he arrived at this remote castle.

    The Lost Gate is an entertaining young adult fantasy with a nod to Stargate, but with a Surf Ninja crowned prince different spin. The story line loaded with action but with some exciting subplots that seem to add little to the prime theme of a beleaguered "antihero" teen Danny struggling to survive something he did not desire; becoming a gatemage.

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 256 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 13