Customer Reviews for

The Lost Gate (Mither Mages Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 256 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(122)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Entertaining!

Danny North is a young man, growing up as an outsider in a powerful and mysterious magical family. His family isolates themselves in the mountains of western Virginia, practicing magic and teaching it to their children, but Danny is scorned for his lack of magical talen...
Danny North is a young man, growing up as an outsider in a powerful and mysterious magical family. His family isolates themselves in the mountains of western Virginia, practicing magic and teaching it to their children, but Danny is scorned for his lack of magical talents. As he get older he becomes more aware of the secrets and tensions wrapped up in his birth and the old legends of Loki. Loki long ago closed all the gates between Earth and the gods, trapping Danny's family on Earth. Soon, Danny must leave his family in order to discover his own power and challenge the ancient, evil gatekeeper.

This is the first book by Orson Scott Card that I have read, so I can't compare it to his others, but I will be reading more! The stories of Danny and Loki are expertly woven together, the characters are fascinating and widely varied, and there is a lot of fast-paced action with some thought provoking morality thrown in. I don't often dip my toes into the fantasy genre, but it made for a very nice change. I was thoroughly entertained by The Lost Gate and I look forward to reading the next book in this series.

I listened to the audio version of Lost Gate, narrated by Emily Janice Card and Stefan Rudnicki. Having different readers to distinguish between the two different story threads was very helpful for keeping everything straight. Emily Janice Card reads with a fresh, young voice that makes a startling and interesting contrast to Stefan Rudnicki's deep, resonant voice.

posted by Frisbeesage on July 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Not One of Card's Better Efforts

Having read some of Card's excellent fantasy works (Enchantment, Treasure Box, Magic Street) I was very disappointed with this attempt to make a fantasy based on the Norse legends. The Norse gods have been trapped on Earth for centuries because the mischevious Loki had ...
Having read some of Card's excellent fantasy works (Enchantment, Treasure Box, Magic Street) I was very disappointed with this attempt to make a fantasy based on the Norse legends. The Norse gods have been trapped on Earth for centuries because the mischevious Loki had closed all the gates to return to the homeland. As a result, they are no longer immortal and can be killed. They settle in the countryside in the US where they live totally isolated from their modern neighbors.

Through the centuries they were at war with other god clans who fear that the Norse clan will have born a new gatemage, that is, one that create gates and possibly open the gate to the Norse homeland. Once there they will become powerful again and able to wipe out the other god clans.

Most of the people develop limited powers at an early age such as being able to project their astral selves as clants. Danny is the son of Thor and thought to hold great promise. He is smarter than all the other kids but for some reason he appears to have no powers.

Danny is always careful because the others would think nothing of killing him because he is a disappointment. Danny soon learns that he is in fact a gatemange and that really puts his life at risk. Since the other clans do not want anyone that could lead them home, they would want Danny dead. His own people would definately want him dead too. Danny's father actually knows Danny's secret and tells Danny that he needs to leave as he develops and learns to better control his power.

If the book sounds interesting, it is not. There are too many characters and the book jumps around to various places where the gods live. Danny's character bears a lot of similarities to several of Card's other characters (the main character in the Homebody series and in his book A Place Called Treason). Where the other characters were interesting, Danny is rather boring. As a matter of fact, most of the characters in the story are boring. I found myself slogging through the pages trying to get to the end. If Card is planning a sequel, I will not be getting it anytime soon.

posted by Kataman1 on December 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 258 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    Boo

    This book sucks!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    The ideas presented in this book are amazing, and I would love t

    The ideas presented in this book are amazing, and I would love to see them developed further.  I really enjoyed when the main character, Danny, was helping the other kids at school with their problems.  How amazing it would be to be able to change a major challenge in another person's life without them even knowing it was you!  I actually enjoyed the mythological references, and it was neat to imagine being a "mage" of any kind.

    All that said, I despised the crudeness and unnecessary language and sexual references in this book.  What was even the point with the Lana character?  At the end of it all, she divorces Ced, and is heard from no more.  The entire purpose of the character was...  what?   Reviewers of the second book have said it gets even worse, so I will not bother.  The meaningful and amazing story lines that this author is capable of are simply not worth enduring the crudity and mental soft teen porn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    I became interested in reading more Card after reading Ender's G

    I became interested in reading more Card after reading Ender's Game so I tried this one. The beginning of the book is too disconnected for my taste - I almost thought I was reading two different stories. There is also what I believe to be a low part in the story involving the library bathroom (where were the editors?) and I was really tempted to stop reading the rest of the book. Having said all that I'm glad I stuck with it as story lines got better and came together nicely at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Eye opening

    Wonderfull. Mr. Card takes his readers into a world that questions your thoughts and beliefs of the know world and the stories that suround it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Great Story

    Great story, excellent writing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Interesting concept

    Loved the idea of the worlds Gods being stuck here and losing their powers and as with all Card's books it is a well written and told story. I just felt apathy for most of the characters. I am hoping the next book will not only continue with the great concept but will capture my interest with more character developement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    This was just a great read. It's written very well and he does a wonderful job of making you feel in the story. It all comes together so well at the end and it made me so excited to learn that its a series and not just a single book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    So far so good

    I like the Norse mythology. Also if you like Enders Game you will like it. Speaking of, anyone else who thinks that Ender is right to be mad at the Battle School people lije

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    great book

    great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Not for children

    Graphic adult situations

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    DISAPPOINTING

    This book was not up to the earlier CARD books. It seems that the book was done by a novice fantasy writer.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2013

    Good read, but expect the usual flaws

    I think Orson Scott Card is like the George Lucas of authors. He's a fantastic "idea man" who can build wonderful worlds with compelling story lines... but he's incapable of writing believable human relationships. "The Lost Gate" features an Orson Scott Card staple -- a genius youngster with a gift for snappy banter. To Card's credit, he actually managed to have characters in this book with average, or below, intelligence as well, though they seem borderline cartoonish. I couldn't stand any one of Danny North's friends, and often found myself wondering why or how Danny was even friends with them in the first place. The easy answer is "they were friends because Card said they were in his text." But he never bothered to actually lay any groundwork in this regard. One moment they're strangers; the next they all say they care for each other and are carrying on like life-long chums. Much like Ender's Game and all related books, Card also manages to wiggle out from under having to portray a believable dynamic by creating an estranged relationship between Danny and his family. If you ever read Ender's Game, think back to Ender's relationship with his sister Valentine (supposedly the most important person in his life). Did their conversations ever give the vibe that they were particularly "close"? Nope. You could say that most of the times we saw them interact came after Ender was "damaged goods" and lost the ability to trust. That's fine -- except that seemingly sums up every single Card protagonist ever.

    The funny thing is though...despite all my griping, I did actually enjoy this book. I even went on to read the sequel, and am awaiting the final installment. The concept that drives the book (families of ancient gods still exist -- though in a weakened state -- and Danny holds the key for all these warring factions to regain their former power) is good enough to overcome Card's inability to make me feel anything of substance for his characters. Though perhaps that's because I knew to expect that going in...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Hijm

    Jywu

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Good,but I won't be reading the next one

    This is an entertaining and well written story, and Ienjoyed it - when I didn't want to beat the protagonist with a stick. Unfortunately, I detest tricksters and conmen - Loki andCoyote are no heroes in my book - so the continuing hubris displayed by the very obnoxious Danny really set my teeth on edge. This is, of course, an indication of how well this character is developed; he is meant to be obnoxious and truly is. But I am a flawed reader, and must like and sympathize with a character to want to continue my journey with him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Love it!

    This book is great! I see allot of people being upset over some of the content, but you'll see why once you've read the next book, Which is now available. My only complaint is withthe authors personal real life archaic views of todays society, its toobad because I adore his books! Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Excellent

    Best fantasy in ages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    $$$$$$

    When is the next one coming out!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    those of u

    Those of u tht r hatin this book r just old farts if u dont like the book put it down and go watch t.v or something else

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Good

    The book was great it had good characters and an intresting twist on norse muthology a little slow on the begging but worth it in the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    Very good read!!

    I bought this book after reading some of O S Card's other books. I liked how the 'mages' were hiding out in the current times setting. It was a very good and enjoyable read and I couldn't put it down. If you liked "Ender's Game" then you will like this story also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 258 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13