Customer Reviews for

The Lost Gate (Mither Mages Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 265 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(129)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Entertaining!

Danny North is a young man, growing up as an outsider in a powerful and mysterious magical family. His family isolates themselves in the mountains of western Virginia, practicing magic and teaching it to their children, but Danny is scorned for his lack of magical talen...
Danny North is a young man, growing up as an outsider in a powerful and mysterious magical family. His family isolates themselves in the mountains of western Virginia, practicing magic and teaching it to their children, but Danny is scorned for his lack of magical talents. As he get older he becomes more aware of the secrets and tensions wrapped up in his birth and the old legends of Loki. Loki long ago closed all the gates between Earth and the gods, trapping Danny's family on Earth. Soon, Danny must leave his family in order to discover his own power and challenge the ancient, evil gatekeeper.

This is the first book by Orson Scott Card that I have read, so I can't compare it to his others, but I will be reading more! The stories of Danny and Loki are expertly woven together, the characters are fascinating and widely varied, and there is a lot of fast-paced action with some thought provoking morality thrown in. I don't often dip my toes into the fantasy genre, but it made for a very nice change. I was thoroughly entertained by The Lost Gate and I look forward to reading the next book in this series.

I listened to the audio version of Lost Gate, narrated by Emily Janice Card and Stefan Rudnicki. Having different readers to distinguish between the two different story threads was very helpful for keeping everything straight. Emily Janice Card reads with a fresh, young voice that makes a startling and interesting contrast to Stefan Rudnicki's deep, resonant voice.

posted by Frisbeesage on July 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Not One of Card's Better Efforts

Having read some of Card's excellent fantasy works (Enchantment, Treasure Box, Magic Street) I was very disappointed with this attempt to make a fantasy based on the Norse legends. The Norse gods have been trapped on Earth for centuries because the mischevious Loki had ...
Having read some of Card's excellent fantasy works (Enchantment, Treasure Box, Magic Street) I was very disappointed with this attempt to make a fantasy based on the Norse legends. The Norse gods have been trapped on Earth for centuries because the mischevious Loki had closed all the gates to return to the homeland. As a result, they are no longer immortal and can be killed. They settle in the countryside in the US where they live totally isolated from their modern neighbors.

Through the centuries they were at war with other god clans who fear that the Norse clan will have born a new gatemage, that is, one that create gates and possibly open the gate to the Norse homeland. Once there they will become powerful again and able to wipe out the other god clans.

Most of the people develop limited powers at an early age such as being able to project their astral selves as clants. Danny is the son of Thor and thought to hold great promise. He is smarter than all the other kids but for some reason he appears to have no powers.

Danny is always careful because the others would think nothing of killing him because he is a disappointment. Danny soon learns that he is in fact a gatemange and that really puts his life at risk. Since the other clans do not want anyone that could lead them home, they would want Danny dead. His own people would definately want him dead too. Danny's father actually knows Danny's secret and tells Danny that he needs to leave as he develops and learns to better control his power.

If the book sounds interesting, it is not. There are too many characters and the book jumps around to various places where the gods live. Danny's character bears a lot of similarities to several of Card's other characters (the main character in the Homebody series and in his book A Place Called Treason). Where the other characters were interesting, Danny is rather boring. As a matter of fact, most of the characters in the story are boring. I found myself slogging through the pages trying to get to the end. If Card is planning a sequel, I will not be getting it anytime soon.

posted by Kataman1 on December 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Entertaining!

    Danny North is a young man, growing up as an outsider in a powerful and mysterious magical family. His family isolates themselves in the mountains of western Virginia, practicing magic and teaching it to their children, but Danny is scorned for his lack of magical talents. As he get older he becomes more aware of the secrets and tensions wrapped up in his birth and the old legends of Loki. Loki long ago closed all the gates between Earth and the gods, trapping Danny's family on Earth. Soon, Danny must leave his family in order to discover his own power and challenge the ancient, evil gatekeeper.

    This is the first book by Orson Scott Card that I have read, so I can't compare it to his others, but I will be reading more! The stories of Danny and Loki are expertly woven together, the characters are fascinating and widely varied, and there is a lot of fast-paced action with some thought provoking morality thrown in. I don't often dip my toes into the fantasy genre, but it made for a very nice change. I was thoroughly entertained by The Lost Gate and I look forward to reading the next book in this series.

    I listened to the audio version of Lost Gate, narrated by Emily Janice Card and Stefan Rudnicki. Having different readers to distinguish between the two different story threads was very helpful for keeping everything straight. Emily Janice Card reads with a fresh, young voice that makes a startling and interesting contrast to Stefan Rudnicki's deep, resonant voice.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    Awesome, a must read

    Orson Scott Card does it again. He grabs yours attention and doesn't let go until the book is finished. As usual he leaves you eagerly awaiting the next installment.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Amazing!

    I had never read anything by this author and I was in love with this book the moment i started to read it. I devoured it and didn't sleep until i was done. I would love more from this world. I'm fascinated with his Loki and the rest of the world pantheon. I eagerly and hopefully await more.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Amazing

    A truly great book I personally loved it and would recomend it to any teen reader

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    Well written novel.

    OSC delivers again! I was very impressed by his characters - I'm always pulled into a novel when they think intelligently and even logically towards the situation they find themselves in. Excellent story - I'm looking forward to the series' future development.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Card at his best!

    Other posts have dealt with the plot, so I'll stick to style. Here I believe Card is writing at his best. His masterful characterization along with an ability to maintain tension and advance the plot is really excellent. There are actually two stories unfolding simultaneously, one on earth, and another on a different planet. Both are engaging and suspenseful. Although the plot is connected to ancient "Gods" and their descendants, Card makes this connection in a very beliveable way, one that does not require the reader to be familiar with any of the old gods and their legends. As usual, he allows the reader to get into the heads of interesting characters. Imagine what it would be like to be a descendant of ancient gods, with secrets and powers, how you would use or abuse those powers, how you would assess threats and opportunities, how you would value others and so on. Card delivers it all with a very easy to read prose and engaging pace. Can't wait for the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Don't Miss This One!

    If you are looking for something other than the same recycled fantasy, you have found it. Orson Scott Card introduces us to a universe ripe with characters, events, and magic that does not just follow in the footsteps of others. If you have read all about Ender you know Card can be trusted, if not, this is a great place to get to know one of the greatest storytellers of our time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    great story

    kept me well entertained throughout the story. my only complaint is that it was a little short for my preference and i have to wait for the next in the series :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2015

    Ebonyflame

    Krept forward.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2015

    Tigerstripe

    Picked up his prey and and walked backed to camp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2015

    Darkkit

    Can I go hunting? He squeaked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2015

    Hi! I am here with an invitation.

    I am here to very happily announce that TigerClan has officially decided to offer an alliance with you and StormClan. You can either accept, decline, or make me a sandwich.
    TigerClan is at 'fablehaven' res above the res above the last res, A.K.A. res 7 or 8. I can't remember. It's the one below the book called The Rise of the Evening Star. Bye bye for now! Can't wait to see your answer! -- a TigerClan senior warrior
    PS, do you guys have any bacon? I luv meh some bacon :P

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2015

    Jaystar

    She pads in "Greetings"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2015

    Soaringstar

    "I think we are probably done." She picks up her prey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2014

    After listening to the audiobook, I was incredibly happy to have

    After listening to the audiobook, I was incredibly happy to have discovered this new series. I always enjoyed Card's Ender's Game series, but this trip into a magical world made up of the remnants gods left behind was great. Fans of Rick Riordan's Percy Jackson series will find this to be another great escape from one heck of a story teller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    great book

    great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Love it!

    This book is great! I see allot of people being upset over some of the content, but you'll see why once you've read the next book, Which is now available. My only complaint is withthe authors personal real life archaic views of todays society, its toobad because I adore his books! Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Excellent

    Best fantasy in ages

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    those of u

    Those of u tht r hatin this book r just old farts if u dont like the book put it down and go watch t.v or something else

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    Very good read!!

    I bought this book after reading some of O S Card's other books. I liked how the 'mages' were hiding out in the current times setting. It was a very good and enjoyable read and I couldn't put it down. If you liked "Ender's Game" then you will like this story also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7