Customer Reviews for

The Lost Hero (The Heroes of Olympus Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 11679 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9100)

4 Star

(1476)

3 Star

(489)

2 Star

(224)

1 Star

(390)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

224 out of 261 people found this review helpful.

Rick Riordan

What can I say, the amazing author has done it again. I just read the first two chapters and I think I go insane if I have to wait until October to read the rest. From what I read so far this book will definitely be a home-run.

posted by fallin2books on July 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Awesome... GET THIS!

This is awesome,so worth the money, but if you don't like waiting after cliffhangers, wait until october to read this, the ending is a HUGE cliffhanger

posted by 8550025 on June 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 11873 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 594
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Rick Riordan

    What can I say, the amazing author has done it again. I just read the first two chapters and I think I go insane if I have to wait until October to read the rest. From what I read so far this book will definitely be a home-run.

    224 out of 261 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    I loved this book from beginning to end. Can only recommend!

    168 out of 217 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    amazing book!!!!

    All I can say is that if you loved the Percy Jackson series, you will LOVE this spin-off, series, or whatever you want to call it. I'm so excited for the next book it's driving me crazy!! The characters are interesting, the plot is interesting, and basically everything is interesting and amazing!!!!! If you haven't read it, read it NOW ASAP!! You'll thank me later : )

    145 out of 167 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    AMAZING! - Super Recommended

    This book is definitely in my top 10! You know a book is amazing when you can't put it down till you finish. Well, that's how this book is. Your hanging on the edge of your seat every second, wondering what's going to happen. This action packed book is great for anyone!

    103 out of 117 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I cannot wait!

    I absolutely loved reading the percy jackson series! Rick Riordan is an excellent author, and nice too (he came to my school in 3rd grade before he was famous) so no doubt that this will be almost as equally as awesome! Of course, though, no book can match the greatness of Percy Jackson and the Olympians, except, maybe, Harry Potter. Just my opinion though! :)

    89 out of 113 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Super Excited for the Lost Hero

    I was so sad when I finished reading the Series, because I didn't want it to be over :(. But then I found out about The Lost Hero and now I'm so happy and SUPER excited for Oct. 12! I love the Percy Jackson books! I love Annabeth and Percy! Forget the Twilight Series, The Percy Jackson books are the best books I have ever read! Instead of Team Edward, Team Percy!!!!!!!! Can't wait for Lost Hero!

    88 out of 99 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    yay!

    I love the Percy Jackson series and so I am sure this one just as good, or better! Rick Riordan writes so exquisitely, it's like your in the room with Percy! I liked the movie but the book is so much better!!! Isn't that weird!? Books are ALWAYS better than movies.

    61 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    OMG!

    I wish that the star system went to 1 billion stars because that is what I would rate it. Wow, you guys must read the excerpt. What if Jason is Percy? But from the excerpt, it sounds like Jason will end up with Piper. But if its Percy, will he end up with Annabeth?

    FLAWLESS PLOT LINE!!! I thought this book might lack because it would be the same idea as Percy Jackon and The Olympian, but it is soo good. I love the way they tied in Percy and Annabeth and didm't just ignore that whole series as some authors do. GET ME THIS BOOK NOW!

    47 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    Pure genius

    The one thing better than reading the percy jackson series is the the feeling i'll have while reading this new series.

    44 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't Wait!!!!!!!!!!

    O. M. G.

    I read the first couple of chapters on the website (password NEWHERO).
    It seemed AWESOME!

    41 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    OMFG!!!!!!!!

    Of all the books I've waited for, this one seems to haunt me the most. When I read the the preview, suspense ran high, and I was sweating. "Who took Percy? Is Percy fighting for his life like Annabeth in The Titan's Curse? Is Percy going to return-alive?" those questions haunt me day and night, so I can not rest until I have read this book. I am way to excited- whenever I re-read the preview (man, I am crazy about certain genres! I can't just go off and leave Fiction! I don't like real history books.) I sweat so much my dad says, "Take a shower!" The suspense is eating at me. I am so excited sometimes my veins show. My heart beats faster, and I can't bring myself to not think about it. I am far too excited.

    32 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    Great Book!!!

    The Lost Hero, in my opinion, made it obvious that this series about Camp Half-Blood is going to be just as good, if not better, than the previous Percy Jackson series. Not only did Rick Rioridan make a book with great characters and an outstanding plot, but he even linked the book to the last series, with an ending that will test your patience while waiting until the fall of 2011 to read its sequel. The book, just like its previous companion, has everything to do with Greek mythology and, subsequently, has action at every turn. Yet, Rioridan still manages to include humor and even a little romance (just like in his previous series). Also, I believe that reading Rioridan's first series, Percy Jackson and the Olympians, will make you further appreciate the second series, The Heroes of Olympus. I believe that anyone who likes fantasy, humor, action, and romance all in one, should read The Lost Hero.

    27 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    Great book no matter your age

    I am 47 and I loved the Olympian series and this first book of the new series was great, can't wait until next fall for the next book.

    26 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!!!

    I read the first two cahpters and they were AMAZING! Rick Riordan is an awesome author . I am going nuts without beeing able to read the whole book! I can't wait for Annabeth to find Percy (he's trapped by...) and to find out who Leo, Piper and Jason's parents are!

    24 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    His Best Yet

    It's hard to make such a claim, but it's true. This book couldn't have been as great as it is without it's predecessors, but as a stand alone novel it holds up really well. I feel like anything you could write about this book would be contributing to spoilers, and I refuse to do that! The characters are fantastically developed and the feeling you get throughout the whole book of "something just isn't right" won't leave you after the last page. The last page was the best page of the book! It reminded me of why I don't like to start series when they first begin, but I'm invested in this as I was with the Olympians series, and as I am with The Red Pyramid.
    Riordan is a great writer, and the educational aspects in his books are really what makes selling and recommending his work one of the easiest things I do as a bookseller. If these books had been around when I was studying Greek, Roman and Egyptian mythology in middle and high school, it would have been a great way to keep the lessons organized in my mind.
    Hats off to yet another Riordan adventure that I'm thrilled to be on!

    23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    Awesome... GET THIS!

    This is awesome,so worth the money, but if you don't like waiting after cliffhangers, wait until october to read this, the ending is a HUGE cliffhanger

    22 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    VERY AMAZING

    I used to HATE reading but ever since I picked up the Percy Jackson series I read non-stop. Greek Mythology is an interesting subject and I love how Riordan based his series off of it. I got this book only yesterday and I am almost finished with it. This is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. I love everything about it I absoulutly can't say one wrong word about it. When I finished the Percy Jackson series I was sad because I thought there was no more books about it but here it is and these books can and will get you interested in Greek Mythology. I can relate to a lot of these characters and it is just simply a joy to read

    20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    ALRIGHT CUP

    ALL RIGHT CUPCAKES!!! LISTEN UP. DONT BUY THIS BOOK AND I'LL SMACK YOU IN THE FACE THAT'LL SEND YOU TO CHINA!!!! BUY NOW OR GET A LIFE!!!!!!!!!!!! Bottem line. Great book.

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    Excited beyond belief

    I couldn't believe it when I found out about this book and the series to which it is only the beginning. I actually had just randomly looked Rick Riordan up on Wikipedia in hopes of finding any information about his new Kane Chronicles. Imagine my surprise when I found out he's writing a sequel to the Percy Jackson series! I've heard of books having sequels but not series having sequels! I have to admit, at first I had mixed feelings. I personally wanted to co-write with my cousin a sequel to his Percy Jackson series. Apparently I had the same idea as Rick Riordan though, and that's perfectly okay with me! I look forward to reading this new series of his. I am a huge fan of Greek mythology, and I'm sure that this new series will be just a fantastic as the first!

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Jason is clueless. After all, he doesn't remember anything, and

    Jason is clueless. After all, he doesn't remember anything, and he's holding hands with this beautiful girl, AND he's talking to a very fidgety kid. What's more, he's in the back seat of a bus full of other kids he doesn't know, riding through the middle of a desert. Eventually these people must have realized just how clueless Jason is, and introduce themselves. The fidgety kid's name is Leo, who seems to not have the ability to sit still without playing with gears and what not. Remember the girl? Oh, her name's Piper. And she and Jason have been dating for several months. This is fairly peculiar...
    This was a fantastic read. I absolutely adore Rick Riordan's novels, and "The Lost Hero" is certainly no exception. I enjoyed the different perspectives given with every few chapters, yet no information was repeated, keeping the book short...er (Ha). In times of trouble, new powers appear and fighting instincts kick in, leaving a very action packed novel. Moving onto things that could have improved (there's always two sides to a story), nothing. Absolutely nothing. Okay maybe one thing. More content. The book is quite lengthy as it is, with an applause worthy 576 pages.
    I very strongly and passionately recommend this book if you enjoy fantasy, action, heck, even romance! Somewhat of a spin-off/sequel series to the Percy Jackson series, fans do not fear, Percy is still in it... though he's gone missing. Again, you should seriously consider reading this book, I almost guarantee you'll like it. An easy 5 star rating for me.

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 11873 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 594