Customer Reviews for

The Lost Hero (The Heroes of Olympus Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 11839 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9219)

4 Star

(1494)

3 Star

(498)

2 Star

(228)

1 Star

(400)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

231 out of 270 people found this review helpful.

Rick Riordan

What can I say, the amazing author has done it again. I just read the first two chapters and I think I go insane if I have to wait until October to read the rest. From what I read so far this book will definitely be a home-run.

posted by fallin2books on July 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

Awesome... GET THIS!

This is awesome,so worth the money, but if you don't like waiting after cliffhangers, wait until october to read this, the ending is a HUGE cliffhanger

posted by 8550025 on June 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 12032 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 602
  • Posted October 13, 2010

    Wanting so bad!!!

    Well percy jackson was the far best series Ive read and i own all of them...but,when i saw the red pyramid I was delighted to buy it ( ive only read half way through it). Then.... this comes out looking at school book orders and i found out it was a new series right after percy jackson. My friends love greek mythology ( I'm a social studies wiz so i know all about posiedon) i got started on percy in the fourth grade. My sister is now reading it! This is a must read

    14 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    spectacular

    heart racing and full of action

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2010

    I can't put the book down!

    I got this as a gift for my birthday, and finished it off in two days. I cannot wait until fall next year for the second book to come out. Rick Riordan wrote this series and the last (Percy Jackson & The Oplympians) intended for young readers (8-14) But I'm 16 and there's SO much I'm learning, and they're so fun to read! I don't think I will get bored reading any of his books more to come. I was a bit disappointed with the Kane Chronicle, which was a bit slow for me, but this series picked my anticipation up real quick.

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Is this the first

    Is this the first book

    12 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Brilliant Way to Teach Kids about Mythology

    The Lost Hero is the first of a series of books about the heroes of Olympus. It's an action-packed adventure loaded with Greek and Roman mythology.

    Jason, the lost hero, finds himself on a bus heading to Wilderness School, a camp for delinquents. The trouble is, he has no idea who he is, or how he got there. He soon learns that he's a demi-god and that his memories have been taken away by Hera, Queen of the gods. Why? That's the part we never learn. What we do know, is that he's on an important mission to save the gods from a horrible uprising. He and his friends, Piper and Leo, embark on a dangerous journey in which they must fight a family of horrible cyclops, evil mythological characters, and gargantuan giants.

    This action packed adventure is a real page-turner. Kids will want to read the next book in the series, Son of Neptune, to find the answers to some of the unresolved questions in the plot. The Lost Hero is definitely a great read and a brilliant way to teach kids about Greek and Roman mythology.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another winner by Riordan!

    I've had this ongoing debate with a friend of mine about new series based on an older series,in this case Percy Jackson and the Olympians being the first series, and the new Heroes of Olympus series out. She complains that since the main character is different, the story will automatically suck, because who wants to read about someone in the same world who isn't the main character. THIS BOOK IS CONCLUSIVE PROOF ON MY SIDE!!! This book lets Percy take a backseat, and focuses on three new demigods recently found. Same world, same rules, different people. YET THE BOOK IS STILL AMAZING!! the action comes slower than the lightning thief or the last Olympian, but trademark sword duels and demigod powers is still very much here. The story sets up perfectly for the start of the series, and reads like a riordan book should, with plenty of wisecracks and wit everywhere. Recommended for fans of the Percy Jackson series, but i STRONGLY urge people picking this up to read the percy jackson books first, as to understand it better.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2010

    Awesome!

    I have already read 2 chapters and can't wait for it to come out. It's going to be awesome

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    EPIC!

    I was sad to hear that Percy was lost, but as I went through the story I have to say the plot was amazing!The characters are awesome! The characters are better than ones in the Kane Chronicles, but it's not as awesome as Annabeth, and Percy. Anyway, I was so hooked. I just finished it yesterday! The best part was the ending! Now I can't wait for the next book! It will be even more epic than the first!If you want to know what happens, and I know you will, you'll just have to get the book to find out.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't wait for this book to come out

    I love the author! October can't come quick enough for me! I have read a few books so far this summer ~ If you want to have a great summer reading book, look up a book called "Smitty's Cave Adventures" by author,Barbara Marro. It's an action-adventure fictional book that really keeps you glued to the sometimes scary but always exciting story of a 12 year-old boy who has incredible cave adventures. Buckle up as you are taken along with Smitty to places you've never dreamed of! The book has so many twists and turns you just never know where the character will find himself as he journeys through the cave paths. It's really a great book! You won't be able to put it down~

    9 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Percy Jackson was WAY better

    So I loved Percy Jackson before the craze started and enjoyed the movie, so when i heard a spin off series to Percy Jackson was coming out i couldn't wait. I wanted to read it so bad, so i finally broke down and bought the book, and I was so disappointed... Firstly i thought with Olympus in the title it was going to be Greek Mythology again, but it keeps slipping Roman Mythology into the storyline and i know it is important to the story, but Roman Myths bore me to tears, it just seem like the Romans took the Greek ideas and reworked them in a dull dry boring way... But as such, with the primary focus on Jason and Piper and Leo as they're on a quest the action is jostled, the story bounces way too much and the characters are nothing like the original series characters, they're whinny and childish and so self involved with trying to figure out their pasts and the choices they're going to make. Leo is my least favorite, the chapters revolving around him are slow and dry, Piper makes me wanna scream and rip my hair out and Jason the memory loss story just gets out his constant struggling and "i don't remember" irritating. I will read the other books because i am intrigued to see how the series plays out, but i do not have high hopes as this book was a disaster. Riordan should have left the series alone with Percy Jackson and the Last Olympian, which wasn't as good as it could've been.

    8 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2010

    AWESOMEST BOOK EVER

    o my goodness i started to read the first two chapters of this and so far its amazing... i fell in love with th percy jackson books, so i'm glad that rick is making another greek themed series! i can't wait for this to come out! i hope the people who make it a movie actually stick to the book, unlike what they did for percy jackson. i hated that.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Olympus Is Closed...

    For those who were sad to see the Percy Jackson series end, a new adventure has erupted from camp-half blood. The story starts with Jason waking up on a bus and no memory of who he is. Supposedly his two best friends are Piper McLean and Leo Valdez. All three go to the Wilderness School which is for "troubled kids." On their field trip to the Grand Canyon, Jason not only cannot remember who he is, but he must face the terror that suddenly comes to focus once they are on the skywalk.

    They are rescued by Annabeth who is restlessly searching for her boyfriend Percy Jackson. The book is focused on the Great Prophecy:

    Seven half bloods shall answer the call,
    To storm or fire, the world must fall,
    An oath to keep with a final breath,
    And foes bear arms to the Doors of Death

    The three friends set out on a completely new journey from Camp Half-Blood. Jason has no memories of his past life and refers to gods by their Roman names. Piper must decide whether to betray her friends or let her father die. Leo has a unique ability that may have caused his mother's death. With this, the companions face a monumental adventure that is comprised at the foundation of Greek mythology.

    Rick Riordan has his own way of telling stories. The style is a little different from Percy Jackson. The book is written in third person and takes the perspective of the three main characters in different chapters. This gives the reader less time with each character and their development, but the characters are still realistic and lovable.

    The book is a fast paced fantasy book with comedy and tragedy and is written with intellect. Whether you have a deep love for Greek mythology or not, this book will increase your knowledge of the ancient myths. Readers are also given a new perspective on characters from the old Percy Jackson series. The original Camp-Half Blood series does go hand-in-hand with this new adventure, but it is not a requisite to enjoying and understanding the new tale.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    I thoroughly enjoyed the Percy Jackson series, and "The Red Pyramid" was great, but I think this is Riordan's best so far. I absolutely can't wait for the next book!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    A great continuation and a new start!

    The Lost Hero totally fulfilled all my wishes and desires for it. It's still Camp Half-Blood (even if Chiron is especially cranky and unhelpful in this go-round), but it's not just more of the same. We're not so far into the future that Percy and Annabeth are former legends, nor are we so close to the end of the last Percy book that we have to sit around and watch them make out all the time. They're not even main characters in this story, just cameo characters. The addition of the children of all the minor gods makes everything a bit more hectic and crowded and crazy, but the explanations of the various gods and their traits are still there. Not only do we get Piper, Leo and Jason as new characters, but there are a bunch of new potentially important folks back at camp as well.

    I couldn't have asked for more, and I doubt other fans of the Percy Jackson books could either.


    It's a bit more complicated, a bit more multi-layered, and a bit longer than the Percy books. But then, the characters (and the original Percy fans) are also a bit older. New readers will fare just fine without having read the Percy books (so far), but I have a feeling that won't be the case for much longer. And Percy fans will love the continuation of the Camp Half-Blood story.


    Book source: Philly Free Library

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Heroes of olympus

    The heroes of olympud is the bedt series that riordan has written(percy jackson does come close though). The lost hero is awsome,introducing new charecters but keeping some old. In the heroes of olympus series the pointbof view is diffrent than the percy jackson series. Instead of reading the book thr the eyes of one maimn charecter it switches around and you read the book through the eyes of three main chrecters. This makes whole book more exiting and in depth. LIKE THIS REVIEW IF YOU LOVE HEROES OF OLYMPUS

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Not getting it.

    This book is highly confuzing i give this 0 stars if i could its plain retarded and a misunderstandmet to buy.

    5 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Beast!!!

    Its one of the best books rick riordan has written. Its very well written and brings back camp half blood and more. New characters bring new twists and new problems. Theres more than just camp half blood out there.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    O.K

    I love Ricke he is awsome i even meat him befor

    5 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Must read!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 of the best books i ever read!

    5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Should i?

    Didnt read yet.i dont know if i should.the guy with the sad face made me wonder.so tell me.should i?

    5 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 12032 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 602