Customer Reviews for

The Lost Hero (The Heroes of Olympus Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 11694 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9109)

4 Star

(1479)

3 Star

(492)

2 Star

(224)

1 Star

(390)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

225 out of 262 people found this review helpful.

Rick Riordan

What can I say, the amazing author has done it again. I just read the first two chapters and I think I go insane if I have to wait until October to read the rest. From what I read so far this book will definitely be a home-run.

posted by fallin2books on July 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Awesome... GET THIS!

This is awesome,so worth the money, but if you don't like waiting after cliffhangers, wait until october to read this, the ending is a HUGE cliffhanger

posted by 8550025 on June 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 390 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    Awesome... GET THIS!

    This is awesome,so worth the money, but if you don't like waiting after cliffhangers, wait until october to read this, the ending is a HUGE cliffhanger

    22 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2010

    Wanting so bad!!!

    Well percy jackson was the far best series Ive read and i own all of them...but,when i saw the red pyramid I was delighted to buy it ( ive only read half way through it). Then.... this comes out looking at school book orders and i found out it was a new series right after percy jackson. My friends love greek mythology ( I'm a social studies wiz so i know all about posiedon) i got started on percy in the fourth grade. My sister is now reading it! This is a must read

    13 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Is this the first

    Is this the first book

    12 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Percy Jackson was WAY better

    So I loved Percy Jackson before the craze started and enjoyed the movie, so when i heard a spin off series to Percy Jackson was coming out i couldn't wait. I wanted to read it so bad, so i finally broke down and bought the book, and I was so disappointed... Firstly i thought with Olympus in the title it was going to be Greek Mythology again, but it keeps slipping Roman Mythology into the storyline and i know it is important to the story, but Roman Myths bore me to tears, it just seem like the Romans took the Greek ideas and reworked them in a dull dry boring way... But as such, with the primary focus on Jason and Piper and Leo as they're on a quest the action is jostled, the story bounces way too much and the characters are nothing like the original series characters, they're whinny and childish and so self involved with trying to figure out their pasts and the choices they're going to make. Leo is my least favorite, the chapters revolving around him are slow and dry, Piper makes me wanna scream and rip my hair out and Jason the memory loss story just gets out his constant struggling and "i don't remember" irritating. I will read the other books because i am intrigued to see how the series plays out, but i do not have high hopes as this book was a disaster. Riordan should have left the series alone with Percy Jackson and the Last Olympian, which wasn't as good as it could've been.

    7 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Not getting it.

    This book is highly confuzing i give this 0 stars if i could its plain retarded and a misunderstandmet to buy.

    5 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    O.K

    I love Ricke he is awsome i even meat him befor

    5 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Should i?

    Didnt read yet.i dont know if i should.the guy with the sad face made me wonder.so tell me.should i?

    5 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Disappointed

    The beginning of this new series was a big disappointment. The plot was predictable (three teens go on a quest with a time limit across the country). It was very reminiscent of The Lightning Thief, and it would have been nice to see something different than this repeated pattern. The main problem I had with TSON was with the characters. Jason has the emotional range of a teaspoon, and his only apparent qualities are his good looks and courage. Granted his memory was wiped, but I feel that Riordan could have done more with his character. Piper was obviously an attempt to salvage the reputation of the children of Aphrodite who are portrayed as shallow, appearance obsessed idiots. Basically all she did was gush about how hot Jason was while Jason gushed about how beautiful Piper was and whine about everything. The one character I actually liked was Leo. He was the only main character who had a real personality. His jealousy over Jason's perfection was a refreshing break from Piper's whining, and Jason's gushing.

    4 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    DON'T READ THIS BOOK NO MATTER WHAT

    I began reading the book a week ago. Why, because everybody in my family advises it. When i started reading this book, i read it with the high expectation that the book would be good, funny, and realistic. It was none of the above. It doesn't make sense, to many POV (Points Of View(two, like in the legend trilogy, give the book an aditional point of view from two different people. It's a great book series: i advise it instead of this crappy series.) , and it takes to much for the action to start up. If i'm going to advise a book series for you, it would be the maze runner series. It's a great book series, and although it is a little greusome, it is very good. There is even going to be a movie about it! But this strange, peculiar, wacky, childish, brutally boring, complety unrealistic(Cyborg dragons? SUN DRAGONS??? Seriously?) , confusing, waste- of- time, f******, ball sucking, money- wasting, cheesy(you know, like old godzilla movies? One movie shows mr. Godzilla being blasted by twenty millimeter cannons... and surviving, not turnin into dino vapor.), the-kind-of-book-that-you-would-groom-your-yard-for-hours-on-end-to-avoid-reading, rubbish kind of book is the reason why the naziis burned all of these books: they were trying to get rid of it. Unfortunately, they were to early. So don't by th awfull book: i'm several dolars in the hole, and that's the several dollars seperatin my from a bran new wii U. Don't by or read this book. Ever.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    My least favorite

    This was my least favorite book of all the Percy Jackson series.For one thing it did not have Percy in it. Second I do not like Jason. In truth I hated this book

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    MB:

    I'm daughter of Hades.He's anoying!I wear all black,including makeup. I live in Manhatten,New york.

    2 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Me no likey this book :(

    Me no likey this book

    2 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    it is the wirst book i have ever read.

    Dont ever read it.

    2 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    To many had hads

    Someone has to go over the reading or do spellcheck beacause im very tired of seeing so mqny had had

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Problems

    I would like to read this, but the system won't download. :(

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    Boo!

    Theres barely any Percy Jackson parts. And the chapter names dont make sence. Get the Kane Series now!

    2 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    S

    R u demigod go to camp fricken butt head chickens punch rocks

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Hope

    Is lost.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Don't reccomend

    I don't like this tyoes of books because you dont learn any thing from them. Mythology of course but why dont just buy a history book? The perfect example is the adventures of tom sawyer or huckelbery fknn teaches your kids about real stuff that can happen in life unlike fantasy!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    I don't belive this!

    Rick can write much better books! This was the worst series! It seemed like he was writing it half asleep! Not your best work, Rick!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 390 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20