Customer Reviews for

Lost It

Average Rating 3.5
( 228 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Lost It

This book was such an interesting read. I found the characters to be thoroughly likeable, the problems absolutely realistic and the telling of the story hilarious. When I was finished the book I instantly thought it would make an excellent independent film. I would reco...
This book was such an interesting read. I found the characters to be thoroughly likeable, the problems absolutely realistic and the telling of the story hilarious. When I was finished the book I instantly thought it would make an excellent independent film. I would recommend this book to adults, as well as mature teens, who I believe would get a lot of enjoyment from the humor and complex situations. I think we can all relate to the crazy feelings that would be stirred up from a grandmother buying sexy lingerie for her granddaughter. I guess that's what makes this book so much fun. The characters each have such endearing socially awkward traits. The humor in the novel is an excellent balance to some of the seriously heavy issues the characters confront such as divorce, depression, and cancer. I would have given this book 5 stars, but I felt that it ended a little too early. I was looking for at least a few more chapters at the end of the book to help tie up loose ends. I understand that most books do not have perfect endings tied up in a bow, but I felt like very little was actually resolved.

posted by readtolive_livetoread on September 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

A very dull book

I was very surprised with how dull this book was. I didn't really catch what the story was even about. It mainly went through one girls boring story of losing her virginity and her sucky life that didn't even have any emotion or didn't make me feel anything for her. I f...
I was very surprised with how dull this book was. I didn't really catch what the story was even about. It mainly went through one girls boring story of losing her virginity and her sucky life that didn't even have any emotion or didn't make me feel anything for her. I found myself forcing myself to read the book all the way to the very end of the book. I don't even think there was a climax to this book. It's a very dull story that I wouldn't reccomend to anyone.

posted by Mallory_324 on June 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    A Pure Review for Lost It

    I read and finished this book yesterday, and it was pretty good. The plot was well structured. The characters personalities were very understandable, you could tell where they stood in the story and what their role was. The story overall was an easy, clear, fun read. I would highly recommended that you don't allow your children ages 10-13 to read, but ages 14 and up.
    Some of the 'cons' of the story was you could predict of what was going to happen next, which might get boring at times, and some of the characters roles were not all that great. For me the main character role was kind of immature and annoying at times. Thou overall the book was great, and you'll definitely find yourself turning the pages a lot. Enjoy !!

    God is Love,

    Jasmine C.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2007

    Lost Yours

    Tess Whistle, a sixteen- year- old girl that lives in Idaho, has a very bizarre junior year. Her thoughts about life change throughout the book and are totally opposite from hers in the beginning compared to the end of the book. Lost It starts out with Tess losing her virginity then flashing back to the things leading up to and after that point. Her life was pretty much normal before her junior year when things got off balance. First her best friend Zena Crow is building a bomb to blow up a poodle. Then her parents, born- again Christians, go away to a survival camp. This leaves Tess alone until her grandmother comes to stay with her. She does not have cable television so she has been, in a way, an isolated girl. When Ben, a recovering cancer patient, comes to her school, Tess¿s love life gets complicated. She begins falling in love with Ben and wonders if she wants to wait until she is engaged to have sex. She tells Ben she has diabetes, when she really does not, and keeps the lie going. Her relationship with Ben gets complicated after a while, which might leave readers anxious. The title Lost It does not just mean losing her virginity. It also means that Tess found out who she really was by losing herself a little. This novel will have readers laughing out loud but also feeling empathy for Tess.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Good Story

    This really was a great book but I don’t like how the book just came to an end there were multiple things left open no closure. I really like everything to have closure in a story otherwise I feel like there needs to be another book. Either way this was a great story line with good intentions or a story line which doesn’t make it easy to out the book down. I love a book where you want to know what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    Overall, a fast, good read.

    overall, i liked the book. however, the thing that bothered me the most was the ending. the entire book is about Tess's growing relationship with Ben, but when the truth of a big lie comes out, he says he's not ready to talk to her. that's where the book ends. we never find out if they continue their relationship or if it's really over. i didnt like the fact that it left me hanging. but the rest of the book is good! it took me less then a day to read! so if ur looking for a fast, easy read, get this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    it was an ok book

    i like the book but in some parts i found myself getting bored and i couldn't really figure out why her best friend was acting so dum...blowing up stuff animals and stuff like that...i got kind of annoyed by her behaivor.....than her boyfriend was a little over dramatic with the whole im 'breaking up with you because i lied to me' thing because i did't really think it was a big deal....but then the ending i really didn't like because it didn't really tell you much about were their relationship was going

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A quick summer read

    Lost It is the coming-of-age story of Tess Whistle an innocent and very quirky teenager. With a fear of wild animals (things she can't control,) parents who I have no words for, a Grandma who doesn't fit the knitting-Betty Crocker mold, and a boyfriend who at the beginning who seems to fall in love with her quirks, Tessa wasn't an easy character to read. With a rather annoying personality, innocence based on ignorance I just didn't believe, and a voice I didn't enjoy following I wasn't surprised at her match of a poodle-exploding BFF and very surprised by her cute-butt-having boyfriend.

    While the title provided us with numerous definitions for this books I felt it was anti-climatic and that it left too many loose ends. This story went beyond using your own imagination to make up the rest of the story- in my opinion it was left unfinished and the first thing after reading the last sentence I did was get online to check for a sequel.

    The writing was mediocre, which I can over look because I love simple writing, but with a voice like Tess' it just wasn't enough to glue the book together. I did laugh out loud several times during this book which helped boost its rating, but those moments simply couldn't overcome what this book lacked. Like many others, I wanted to love this book and I expected more from it, but it just didn't do it for me.

    Don't let my negatives make up your mind yet on whether or not to read this book just yet. Kristen Tracy provided us with a quick read which truly lives up to it's title in more then one way and a cover to match- which is one of those 'I totally get it' moments. Kristen Tracy provided us with a light hearted and at times hilarious story that won't be easily forgotten with the amount of quirks that you'll find throughout. Honestly, I think there is a little bit of Tess' awkwardness in all of us that will take us back to a time that was once forgotten.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Kinda funny

    This book made me laugh a lot but the ending sucked cause u already knew what was coming.My friends and i love it bcuz it was just so weird and wakooo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty Good

    It was basically just a cute, funny story. Nothing too exciting. I liked it but it only took a couple days to read. I think some parts of the book didn't add much to the overall story and some things could have been added to make the story better. It's a good summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2009

    okay

    it was ok.. but definatly not suitable for kids under 13-14

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It was okay

    This book when I first got it I was already a little bit Iffy on, I was proven correct when I read it and found the whole story to be a little to simple and very predictable from the beginning. I didn't fall in love with the characters as I have with so many others and nothing really stood in my mind as great. I would recommend this book on rainy days when you have nothing better to do, also, this book would probably suit ages around 12 and up. It doesn't give too much away but still. Overall this book was definately not one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2008

    eh..

    it was an okay book but sometimes i had to force myself to read it. it did get boring at times but overall this book was just okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2