Customer Reviews for

Lost Lake

Average Rating 4.5
( 109 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Kate Pheris not only lost her husband but her sense of time beca

    Kate Pheris not only lost her husband but her sense of time because all of a sudden a year has passed since his death and she finds herself without knowing why or how on a road to a place she doesn’t want to travel to move in with her ultra controlling mother in law Cricket. So when karma comes calling in the form of a never seen postcard from a long lost aunt from a magical summer from Kate’s childhood she decides that she and her daughter Devin need this one last summer of fun and magic where Devin can regain her childhood and to where Kate’s childhood lives, Lost Lake Georgia.
    Devin knows her mom’s finally back from where she went when her dad died, she can’t loose her again, she doesn’t want to live with her grandmother, and when she and her mom finally arrive at Lost Lake it’s like they’ve come home, oh and there’s an Alligator too!
    Eby Pim’s decided to finally sell her beloved Lost Lake resort, that she and her husband George bought many years ago. Things are falling apart, guests aren’t returning and she’s finally ready to let go. Until a whirling dervish of a great great niece and her mother arrive and Eby feels something she hadn’t in a long time, hope.

    Sarah Addison Allen has taken me on some very magical journeys from all her past astounding entrancing adventures and the latest, Lost Lake is no different. She weaves her intricate, multi-faceted web of suspense, secrets, myths and realities. She acquaints us to her cast of cast-offs as she builds her mystical magical world and paints in all the spaces but never quite within the lines with the beautiful Technicolor of her narrative. Her characters are all a delight from her main protagonist Kate who’s charmingly innocent, to Devin who’s older and wiser than her years to Eby, the guests and the residents of town to her purely fantastical Alligator. I implore you to take a chance if you haven’t read Sarah, if you believe in magic she will speak to your inner child and open you up to possibilities that our adult psyches won’t allow.
    Sarah thank you once again, especially now for still believing in magic after all you’ve been through in your personal life and for sharing that magic with us.

    16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Perfect

    Magical. If you are looking for love and laughs, family and friendships this is the perfect book.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2014

    I want to start this review by saying I have loved Sarah Addison

    I want to start this review by saying I have loved Sarah Addison Allen as an author since I read Garden Spells . It was so beautiful and different, that I knew I had to get my hands on every book she has written and I have. While waiting for this book to come out, I learned that the delay was due to the fact that the author was battling a very serious health problem and my heart absolutely ached for her. I was so happy to read in the acknowledgements section of this book that she has just reached two years with clear scans. My thoughts and prayers will continue to go out to this author.

    Now, for my review of this book...it was just as magical and all-consuming as her prior books. There is just something about Allen's writing that makes you want to climb into the book to spend time with her characters. I was so excited when I got this book, I had to read it in a single sitting. The book begins in the 1960's, which briefly introduces us to newlyweds, George and Eby, and their adventurous honeymoon in Paris. We then flash forward to the present day, where Eby's great-niece, Kate, is "waking up" after a year of being asleep. No, she wasn't in a coma, this is where the magic of Allen's writing comes into play. We learn about this very strange family, relative by relative, to learn about a certain family curse. Now is it a real curse, I don't get that feeling. But the author writes in a way that makes you realize it is always your choice to be happy and move forward after great loss. There is a wonderful line in the book that says something to the effect of "if you are too busy mourning what your empty cup, you will miss the opportunity to fill it again". I am paraphrasing, but I found that line extremely striking. The magic in this book is more subtle than in prior books, but I felt that it fit the story well. This is ultimately a book about finding your strength and moving forward with the support of friends and family and taking care of each other. I wish Lost Lake was a real place to go...it sounds like a magical place full of peace and healing. Sarah Addison Allen knocked it out of the park again for me and I cannot wait to see what she does next. If you have never read this author before, do yourself a favor and read all of her books.

    I received a copy of this title from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    This just the kind of book to take away the winter doldrums!

    This just the kind of book to take away the winter doldrums!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I am a huge fan of SAA's books and this one is no exception.  Sh

    I am a huge fan of SAA's books and this one is no exception.  She has an amazing way of pulling you into a magical story with interesting, unique yet relateable characters.  I always feel uplifted and joyful when I've finished one of her books.  Here's to never giving up on your biggest, wildest most heart-felt dreams!!  Thank you again for the magic Sarah Addison Allen!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    Elizabeth

    Here?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Life is what you make it; Never give up the dream; Start anew bo

    Life is what you make it; Never give up the dream; Start anew books are my favorite. Losing a loved one in your life is devastating but once breaking out of the fog, Kate and her daughter take a chance and move on. Creating a new life is what so many people dream of. The trick is making the right choices for one and all. Uplifting and engaging and amazing, interesting characters make a difference.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Captivating and Magical!

    This was my second book by Sarah Allen Addison, as Waking Kate was my first (a novella I would highly recommend as background) for this magical and captivating story of Lost Lake!

    I loved the multi-generational tie in between the different ages of the women, all with baggage and a past, making them hide behind others and some which are controlling their lives. They all have given up on their dreams for other people. It takes a little girl, some magical past moments, sacrifice, and facing the truth in order to bring new relationships to fruition. This book will make you smile and cry at the same time.

    When Kate and her daughter finds this post card from her great aunt Eby, it comes at just the right time as they journey back to Lost Lake and the magical summers of long ago. Each has a special place in their heart for this Lost Lake Inn quaint property as a developer fights to take it over for new development.

    First let me say, the novella pulled me in, the emotional video about this book found on Sarah Allen Addison’s website and her heartfelt story and journey with cancer, as this is her first book since her illness. What an inspiring story and so commend her for her perseverance and the time and thought it took to write this thought provoking, emotionally charged, and fabulous novel.

    I have a passion for mountain and lake cabins (as when I travel, I always choose quaint cabins), as they offer privacy, solace, and the magical sounds of nature. I especially love cabins in Georgia and NC, as formerly lived in a log cabin in Big Canoe, GA, and for many years have vacationed at Mitchell Cottages in Highlands, NC, as well as the Old Creek Lodge (unfortunately, it is no longer there as the same developer of Old Edwards Inn and Spa has purchased the land to build new construction which makes us all sad as this property was magical as there and held many memories. This piece of heaven is no longer there.

    Sarah thank you once for believing in magic after all you’ve been through in your personal life and for sharing this magic with your readers. We all believe in miracles; however, we sometimes get lost in the process and nice to remind us with friends and family we can survive. I highly recommend, and your hard work has not gone unnoticed. I so look forward to reading more from this author and have already added a number of her older books to my must read list.

    PS. I highly recommend the audio version as the narrator, Janet Metzger was ideal for the part as so love her in other books she performs by Sherryl Woods, Patti Callahan Henry, Elin Hilderbrand, Claire Cook, etc.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Loved it!

    I waited two years for another Sara Addison Allen book. This is a lovely story of the magic of life well lived, of overcoming regrets and love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Piercr

    Gtg

    1 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2014

    Magical

    Another captivating read from Sarah Addison Allen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    Tear

    Flys to camp on the cloud

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    J

    Feels the wind in his hair

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Anna

    Well bye

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014



    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by SUZANNE & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    ~Reviewed by SUZANNE & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog
    Newly widowed Kate and her eight year old daughter Devin need a place to escape and heal and Lost Lake is the perfect place for it. Owned and ran by Kate’s great Aunt, who she hasn’t seen since she was a child, Kate’s fondest and most magical memories of childhood all take place in Lost Lake. But Lost Lake is facing its last summer with only the few stalwart, eccentric, yet aging campers ever returning. Lost Lake was a place for magic, dreams and imagination something Kate believe she has long since lost, can she save not only Lost Lake but also her herself?

    Sarah Addison Allen is one of my favourite authors, she gives me books that are full of magic and imagination; making what can seem mundane into something beautiful and extraordinary. Lost Lake is no different, reading it, it made me nostalgia for places and even times I have never been and left me smiling and feeling full of hope.

    The cast of characters in this book varied from age eight to eighty, each bringing their own eccentricities and brands of magic; from boys turning into crocodiles to charms that will snare you a husband. The motley cast of characters kept the book interesting as you see everything from different perspectives from the young and innocent Devin to the older, yet not necessarily wiser campers.

    This was a touching book, full of hope, love, family and magical realism, if you need something comforting yet extraordinary to delve into you should definitely give Lost Lake a shot, it won’t disappoint you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Missing People Reports Here!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Austin

    God fu<_>cking dam it. Every time! *leaves*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Abby

    Anytime a.ss hole

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

     I loved this book from the cover to the story line.  For me, on

     I loved this book from the cover to the story line.  For me, one look at the cover evoked thoughts of the south and the mystery and magic that is a part of of good  Southern fiction.  The main characters, Kate and her daughter Devin, were very sad in the beginning, as Kate's husband had died.  She had been walking around in a fog for a year, but when she came across an old postcard from Lost Lake something in her woke up.  Without telling her mother-in-law, who had basically been controlling her life for the last year, she packed up her daughter Devin for a road trip.  




    Eby, Kate's aunt, was planning on this to be her last summer of running Lost Lake.  Her husband had passed away and many things were dilapidated and in need of repair.  When Kate shows up after so many years had passed, it starts to bring back old memories.  Some of Eby's summer regulars start to show up and together they determine to stop Eby from selling out to a real estate mogul who wants to turn the area into a resort.  




    There are some magical, mystical elements to the story - like the alligator that speaks to Devin and only she seems able to see.   He wants her to find a box that he claims will save them and Lost Lake.  Devin herself is a little magical, as only a child can be, with her wise-beyond-her-years attitude and flair for dressing.  Kate and Wes' relationship is also magical - the first boy she ever had feelings for and almost kissed - meeting him again at Lost Lake.




    Being at Lost Lake was almost as if time had stood still - the cabins, the lake, the path through the woods.  Makes me remember a lake we would go swimming at when I was a kid, that still holds a little magic in the memories when we go back today. 




    Devin looked out over the water.  They didn't look like knees.  They didn't even look like roots.  They looked like the ancient spires of Gothic buildings sticking out of the top of the water, like there was a church under the lake and she and Bulahdeen could only see the top of it. They were clustered in a section close to the bank, no more than a foot or so out of the water.  She got as close to the edge as possible and looked down.  The water moved slightly, and she thought for a moment that she saw a flash of something electric blue at the bottom.  But, then again, the water was so murky that it was hard to tell just where the bottom was.  She didn't see any evidence that the alligator had been here, or that whatever it was he might want her to find was hidden anywhere.  She even put her hand over her good eye and looked around.   (p175, Lost Lake)




    I haven't read anything else by Sarah Addison Allen, but Garden Spells has been on my TBR list forever.  I really must read some more of her work as I enjoyed this one immensely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4