Customer Reviews for

Lost Light (Harry Bosch Series #9)

Average Rating 4
( 218 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(116)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Pipe OFFFFF

Love Michael Connelly, But come on Mike can you spare time time to write at leaset 300 pages per book. What was this 180 pages.

posted by jtlJL on October 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Awkward switch...

I have been consumed with Bosch's character the past couple weeks and have loved the series until now...nine books into the series and it changes from third person to first person...doesn't feel right..I am really struggling and I am disappointed...it changes the entire...
I have been consumed with Bosch's character the past couple weeks and have loved the series until now...nine books into the series and it changes from third person to first person...doesn't feel right..I am really struggling and I am disappointed...it changes the entire feel...yuck

posted by 8829424 on October 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Iridecentmoon

    She padded in calmly, her claws extended in case she needed to fight, her best trait. She had black, silky fur and blue eyes with white claws.

    Irridecentmoon

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Harry Bosh series rocks!

    "Harry Bosh series rocks! (does he every sleep)? Even though I have read his newer works, missed a few in the series so catching up. Finally the disclosure of his daughter...always wondered when this would occur!

    Again, Harry is haunted by a vision of a young woman lying crumpled in death, her hand outstretched in silent supplication. Harry was taken off the Angela Benton murder case when the production assistant's death was linked with the violent theft of two million dollars from a movie set. Both files were never closed. Now retired from the L.A.P.D., Bosch is determined to find justice for Angella. Without a badge to open doors and strike fear into the guilty, he's on his own. And even in the face of an opponent more powerful and ruthless than any he's ever encountered, Bosch is not backing down!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Figure

    Watches everyone

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    To dashkoff

    Get of your high horse jek. You werent nominated

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Starkid

    Hi

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not A Favorite

    I found this book had too much "tell" and not enough "show". At times I felt like I was reading a police file with every little detail set out for me. There were even several full length, 2 to 3 page, "newspaper articles" included. For me, it was a lot of unnecessary detail that could have been summed up in a paragraph.

    The plot was excellent and kept me guessing. The main character, Harry Bosch, is great. But I couldn't get lost in the story. I got bored and often found myself skimming the unnecessary descriptive pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2004

    Drawn Out

    Although this book had some great dialogue,it also had some very boring parts. Overburden with characters and excessive narration I think this book could have been cut from 360 pages to 200 pages. Then it would have been a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2004

    Read other Connelly books first

    This is the poorest of Connelly's creations. He delivers the muscular prose of his earlier books, but the plot (and, especially, the subplots) are particularly weak. Unlike previous novels, Bosch is retired and instead of going head-to-head with various bad guys and departmental heavies, the detective butts head with Homeland Security folks--which, ultimately, don't even figure into the resolution. This subplot is contrived, designed to manufacture conflict and, perhaps, to reveal Connelly's political beliefs. Moreover, the ending is ludicrous, even relative to the genre of detective fiction. Actually, there are two endings: one involving a gunfight, one involving romance. Much like Bosch in the gunfight, these subplots duel to determine which can be the silliest. In the end, it is a draw, with the reader feeling silly for having high hopes for the novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2