Customer Reviews for

Lost Light (Harry Bosch Series #9)

Average Rating 4
( 252 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(136)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Pipe OFFFFF

Love Michael Connelly, But come on Mike can you spare time time to write at leaset 300 pages per book. What was this 180 pages.

posted by jtlJL on October 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Awkward switch...

I have been consumed with Bosch's character the past couple weeks and have loved the series until now...nine books into the series and it changes from third person to first person...doesn't feel right..I am really struggling and I am disappointed...it changes the entire...
I have been consumed with Bosch's character the past couple weeks and have loved the series until now...nine books into the series and it changes from third person to first person...doesn't feel right..I am really struggling and I am disappointed...it changes the entire feel...yuck

posted by 8829424 on October 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    Pipe OFFFFF

    Love Michael Connelly, But come on Mike can you spare time time to write at leaset 300 pages per book. What was this 180 pages.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Anon

    When will somebody from B&N monitor these posts so we don't have to put up with those children who play their silly games on what should be reviews of a book. Maybe I will check out Kindle and find out if they give better customer service. Y

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Did I enjoy this book: Of course. One of the interesting mar

    Did I enjoy this book: Of course.




    One of the interesting marketing concepts of this author’s books is when you look at the cover, the first thing you see is his name: big, bold, and centered at the top. The title of the story is written below the name in smaller print. The publishers really know what they’re doing here because if you read one Michael Connelly book, you’ll search for his name to find another.




    This is the 9th in a series of Harry Bosch stories. He’s getting old. He’s retired. But he still has an interesting story to tell. 
    I think the retirement/aging issue is why I could only go 4 stars here. Without a badge and the backing of the LAPD – even with the politics he hates – he feels a little impotent. I still enjoyed the story but felt that Harry was loosing his edge. He still carries a note pad, isn’t good with computers, and basically can’t compete with younger detectives like Laurie Steven’s Gabriel McRay.




    We love you Harry. But once you retire; you need to retire.




    Would I recommend it: Yes. It’s Michael Connelly. How could I not?




    As reviewed by Belinda at Every Free Chance Book Reviews.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2013

    quick read

    I enjoyed this book, made for a quick read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2015

    Tigerfur

    He nodded and said "your alright?" He asked tentively.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2015

    Good mystery read

    Connelly keep his reader involved and entertained to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2015

    Nope, Harry doesn't show a sense of humor in this story either.

    But if he ever did, I fear he'd be channeling Lewis Black. I swear, Harry has to be on psychotropic drugs by now.

    Between the dregs of humanity he's always hunting and the dregs of the LAPD he's always dodging and hiding from, I am always surprised when he succeeds.

    But Lone Harry rides again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2014

    Excellent, fast read.

    This was a good book with an interesting plot. The ending was a nice surprise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2014

    A GOOD READ FOR THE WEEKEND!

    Have read several books in this series and they are entertaining and keep you guessing. I will definitely buy more books in the series and continue to follow this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2014

    Pulls you deep into Harry's life from start

    Usually I find connelly's books to be somewhat of a slow start. However, this book pulled me in right away. His last book, lost city, was a MUCH slower read. This was a nice change of pace and read it from start to end in less than 10 hours (with beaks of course, or should've been sooner:)). I read the beginning part of his series a few years ago but I got caught up in j d robbs' "in death" series. Now that I have completed that until her next release, Harry's series is on my checklist.
    The only downside I felt was that I had figured out the ending about half way through the book. Idk is it is because I am used you this type of book and am suspicious of every character and detail, or if others did too. But I still enjoyed it 110% and will recommend it to anyone looking you get into another series like this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Complex believable

    Great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2014

    Typical Harry - a really good read.

    If you like Harry Bosch, you'll really like this one. Past and present entangled once again. This one will not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Hooked on Michael Connelly

    I have just found Michael Connelly books and have been losing lots of sleep, because I can't wait to see how they will end. This one was no exception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    Good read, as are all the Harry Bosch books! I too was disappoin

    Good read, as are all the Harry Bosch books! I too was disappointed at the length of the book, about half the pages of the previous ones in the series. 
    Other than that, it was enjoyable, with lots of plot twists that Connelly ties in well. If I had not read a spoiler by some IDIOT, I would have been able to thoroughly enjoy the shock and surpise that Michael Connelly provided at the end.
    I am off to order The Narrows #10 in the series. I am confused as to why so many are recommending readind Bloodwork and The Poets prior to The Narrows....neither one of those books is part of the Bosch series??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Sab

    She aighs

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    Highly Recommended. Another Connelly Classic

    Another winner in the Harry Bosch series. Extremely suspenseful, the story line kept me wondering who did it until the very end. Totally unexpected plot twists kept me on the edge of my seat. This is why I have dedicated myself to reading the whole Harry Bosch series from the very beginning. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great book

    great book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Harry Bosch rocks

    Exciting,suspensful read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Story - Harry Bosch at his best

    It's always fun to follow Hieronymus through a case, especially so when it's cold.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    I'm reading all of the series!!

    I really like these books!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4