BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Lost Nation

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2008

    a Fabulous Read

    this book grabbed hold and didn't let go until the last page. The characters are real , hard, compassionate and crawl into your soul.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2006

    Life in a hard cold time

    Very interesting historical fiction with unusual characters and unanticipated events. I liked the description of the terrain and life style of the times portrayed in the novel. A special offering from Barnes and Noble and worth the price!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2006

    absolutely spectacular!!!

    i abosolutely love Lost Nation. It's the best book that i've read in the last ten years at least,and that's saying something because before that i was reading kid stuff, literally. i bought my copy at an airport bookstore, knowing nothing about Lent's previous work, and while the contents surprised me at first i became completely enthrawled and appreciative of their genious. i highly recommend this novel and anything else he writes to anyone who'll listen and often thrust the book at them if they don't. it's just that good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2004

    Raw and realistic

    Jeffrey Lent has given us an account of American history rarely so engrossing and entertaining. His harsh discriptions serve to give greater reality to the rough surroundings of this turbulant setting of the backwoods America. I found it very entertaining and have recommended it to my bookclub of women.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Sorely disappointed

    I was expecting so much from this book since all the reviews seemed mostly positive. I was sorely disappointed in this book. The basic plot was good but the character development lacked, not to mention the run on sentences. I ALWAYS finsh books I start but it nearly killed me! VERY slow with a horrible ending. Too expensive for a poor read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    A VERY GOOD BOOK

    I LIKE THE HISTORY IN HIS BOOKS, THIS ONE WAS NO DIFFERENT. THE ENDING WAS UNUSUAL BUT INTERESTING.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2007

    My Favorite

    I can think of a thousand words that describe Mr. Lent's second novel, but dull could never be one of them. I highly recommend this book to any and all who set their wandering eyes on the magnificent imaginings of Mr. Lent's Lost Nation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2002

    Didn't care for it

    I gave it two stars because I think it was probably a good story, but I just couldn't finish it as it was just too slow moving for me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2002

    Best Book I have read all year

    I read 'In the Fall' first,which is Lent's first book;I was so impressed I immediately bought his new release Lost Nation....Very good...'In the Fall' I mailed to my daughter in Dallas and told her she won't put it down until she has finished every page;Lost nation is that good as well..As I read one other review of this book it said'run,don't walk to your nearest bookstore and purchase this book.'I did and what a wonderful book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2002

    Beautiful and Majestic

    Jeffrey Lent is truly a fresh voice in American literature. I enjoy his sweeping, descriptive prose and the depth of his characters. Very satisfying. Although they write in different genres, I would compare the poetic nature of Lent's writing to Shade of the Maple by Kirk Martin, whose vivid prose captures the beauty of Robert Frost and Claude Monet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1