Customer Reviews for

The Lost Painting: The Quest for a Caravaggio Masterpiece

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Art History can be thrilling!

    I had to keep reminding myself that this was not a fictional thriller, but a true adventure through the art world and it's many social layers and incredible characters. Jonathan Harr is a great writer and I can't wait for the next little corner of the world he chooses to expose.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Unable to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    Crashingly disappointing

    I don't know what some of these reviewers were reading but this was really disappointing. At points it read like a teen fiction novel with the pointless tidbits about Luciano...
    More facts and less about Francesca and Luciano... I mean please.
    Had you told me it was from the same author of A Civil Action I wouldn't believe you. 2.5 stars rounded up to 3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2008

    I Did Not Know That!

    Fantastic book full of insight into the world of art. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2006

    Love this book!!

    I have studied some painting reservation classes for fun during my years as an architecture student. This book brings to life many fascinating details and lovely characters. If you love art history, pick this book up for an easy read:) I had a lot of fun reading it. Not quite a 5 stars book, but it is well deserved of 4.5 stars (if I can give a half of a star more).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2006

    As a dective story, it falls a bit flat

    The author of this very well-written book wants to present a seamless detective story about the discovery of a lost Caravaggio painting. His material, however, prevents him from doing so. The problem is that there are two separate plot lines which have very little to do with one another. And that, despite his best efforts, prevents him from building up suspense and arriving at a truly satisfying denouement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2006

    Very Slow

    The plot is about the paintstaking process researchers go through to find a lost painting and the pace of this book is just as painfully slow. I finished it, but had to force myself to just keep reading. It reads like a novel, but it is a true story of researchers looking for a lost painting, the search requires, careful attention to detail, hours posting through the dead scrolls of family archives, if this sounds exciting to you, then go for it....don't be fooled by the back of the jacket or the reviews, you really don't learn anything about the artist, other than the fact his life wasn't that exciting, the lives of his researchers aren't that exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2006

    This took 10 years to write?

    I bought the book based on a book review I read in the Boston Globe. This was a decent read,it goes by fast, but I've read better. As I said in my headline, I wouldn't believe this book took 10 years to write. I would think a decades worth of research would fill up more than 264 pages. The ending is somewhat anti-climatic as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2006

    Very Compelling

    I picked up The Lost Painting on the basis of preview reviews and the fact that A Civil Action was so well written. This title, nonfiction as well, does not disappoint. The reader gets a clear view of art history, Caravaggio, and art restoration. I found myself staying up much longer than I should and am glad I found a book that I was completely immersed in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2005

    Get ready for a real-time treasure hunt!

    This book is a must for anyone who loves or is knowledgeable about art or an amature art historian. Mr. Harr does an superb job of educating while entertaining. The book is a fast paced ADVENTURE and modern-day TREASURE HUNT! The discriptions of Rome and the many 'usual suspects' made me feel as though I were right beside the author as he investigated this fast paced, fascinating tale. This is truely a book you will want to get multiple copies of to give to others. It's left me eagerly awaiting Mr. Harr's next investigative adventure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2005

    Story Disappoints

    One of the most well-written novels I've read in a long time. Unfortunately though, I don't see how this story will captivate America with anything but a good title. I picked up this book and thought I would immerse myself into the underworld of art, political dealings (they're there but not dramatic), and most importantly a fast gripping read. Unfortunately this book does not offer that. So in conclusion don't read this book unless you're a dedicated reader with nowhere to go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2