Customer Reviews for

The Lost Quilter (Elm Creek Quilts Series #14)

Average Rating 4.5
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    Moving Historical Fiction

    This book is an excelent portrayal of slave life in the 1860's period. Although the woman's quilting is an important theme, interest is certainly not limited to quilters or those interested in quilting. The story is realistic with a good balance of information given to be realistic without being too grusome to enjoy reading. I like the whole Elm Creek Quilt series, but this is one of my favorites. We meet and get to know several chacters some of whom don't survive to the end. We share Joann's pain and her courage in dealing with this period. All the characters are drawn realisticly, whether likable or not, none seem formulaic. The out come is not unbelievable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    THE LOST QUILTER

    This is a story fans of this series have been waiting for. In the 4th book of this series "The Runaway Quilt" we learned that Sylvia Bergstrom's ancestors had sheltered a pregnant runaway slave Joanna, until she was found by slave catchers. In this story an heirloom quilt is found that has Elm Creek Manor quilted into the background.

    In this 14th installment to the series we get to hear Joanna's story. This story is truly heart wrenching as you hear the stories of slaves before the Civil War, the beatings, slaves being sold away from their families, children ripped from their mother's arms. Thoughout the entire ordeal Joanna dreams of running away again and is working on a quilt to help her remember her way back to Elm Creek Manor.

    The book starts in current time with a bunch of letters found in an old family desk that has lived in the attic of the Manor for years. I won't tell you how it ends, but you will not want to put this book down until you reach the last page.

    I loved the way Jennifer reminded us of the purpose of the quilts made in the mid 1800's until the end of the Civil War as they were used by the Underground Railway to help slaves to freedom. Today we make quilts to decorate our homes and beds, to celebrate great occasions, to give to charity or just for our pure enjoyment. It is important to have stories like "The Lost Quilter" to remind us of our history and show us how far we have come.


    Jennifer has 2 more books in the series that our on my Wish List. "A Quilter's Holiday" which was released in November 2009 and "The Aloha Quilt" was is set to be released in April 2010. Jennifer has also released 4 books of quilting patterns based on the Elm Creek Series an she she has her own fabric collection made by Red Rooster Fabrics. To find out more about this wonderful author you can check out her website http://elmcreek.net/index.php

    http://dollycas.blogspot.com/

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    one of the best in the series!!!

    loved the book and the story! the series keeps getting better!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great quilter's story book.

    I really enjoyed reading this latest book by Jennifer Chiaverini.
    I liked the way she keeps the reader's interest and keeps you wanting to
    read until the end. This book has a historical angle to it and gives you a
    glimpse into our past during the years of slavery and how awful the slaves
    were treated with no regard for their feelings at all. It all begins with
    a packet of old letters from past and their connection to an old quilt found
    in a trunk in the family attic. I love how the story plays out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    These are the best heart warming books!

    I started with reading book 9 in this series, it was so good I had to stop
    and go back to the very begining to book 1. I could hardly put these books down they were so great. Jennifer you did a wonderful job. The stories just keep me wanting for more. I'm a quilter too. I read all 12 books in 6 months. I usually read 1 a year maybe. You keep me wanting for
    more. They were so heart warming, they made me laugh/ cry/ and wondering from one story to the other. Sometimes I wish there really was an Elm
    Creek Place to go to like that. Of course with all your charters too.
    Thanks Marcia: Anyone who loves quilting & the history of quilting your in for a real treat! I'm waiting for more Jennifer!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The best Elm Creeks Quilt tale in years

    Master Quilter Sylvia Bergstrom Compson cherishes her special an antique quilt with an incredible history. Some call it "Birds in the Air" based on the design; others call it the "Runaway Quilt" after the runaway slave who sewed it; and finally "the Elm Creek Quilt" where Joanna the slave reached having ridden the Underground Railroad in 1859.

    Slave catchers caught Joanna and brought her back to her owner, Josiah Chester in Virginia, but she left behind with the Bergstrom family, her son. Hans and Anneke Bergstrom and Aunt Gerda raised the child as their own; concealing his true identity. In the present Sylvia searches Gerda's diary and Joanna's quilt for clues as to the identity of the runaway slave who stitched a masterpiece.

    The best Elm Creeks Quilt tale in years, THE LOST QUILTER answers many of the questions raised in THE RUNAWAY QUILT. The story of Joanna to include her punishment following her recapture makes for a fresh tale with much of her early saga sewed into the quilt. Fans of the series will relish Joanna's tale of bondage and liberty; as she as THE LOST QUILTER wants the freedom for her and her loved ones to soar like the birds in the air of THE RUNAWAY QUILT.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    This is another great addition to the Quilts family

    I enjoyed not only the interesting story line, but also the historical information about the Underground Railroad. It was a departure from the Elm Creek locale, but a great contribution to the series as a whole. I always look forward to meeting each new branch member of the Sylvia family

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    I absolutely LOVED this booked. I could't put it down. Chiaverin

    I absolutely LOVED this booked. I could't put it down. Chiaverini does an amazing job of bringing the characters to life and putting slavery into perspective. I felt like I was apart of the book! I for sure recommend this book. Everyone should read The Lost Quilter. I am so excited to read the whole series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    Well worth reading.

    The way slaves were treated makes me so angry. I pray non of my ancestors owned slaves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Well Written and Highly Recommended

    I could not put the book down. This book should be read before you read "The Help". It puts so many things into perspective about slavery and how immoral it was. Another book to read on the same theme of the immorality of slavery is the "The Kitchen House" by Kathleen Grissom. The Kitchen House is about slavery and plantation life during the 1700's. Also recommended is a non fiction book "Warmth of Other Suns" about the Jim Crow era. Our country has come a long way with civil rights but we can not forget the plight of so many who suffered under slavery. The characters are vivid and you feel for all the suffering that they endured. Whenever Hannah is slapped by her white mistress or misused by her white master, I wanted to hold her and say that it will get better. Excellent book and recommend for a book club. Great discussions could be held about slavery, civil rights and current events in the news.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    Best yet

    This was by far my favorite book in the series. I have learned so much about quilting and women's history from each of these books. Can't wait for the newest book "Sonoma Rose" to get here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    I have not forgotten Joanna

    Joanna was introduced to us in the Runaway Quilt and she was a remarkable woman then and even more so in the Lost Quilter. I particularly like the way Sylvia and friends in present day Pennsylvania are involved when the story told is set in 1859 South Carolina Civil War era. It's a touching, brutal, informative, loving story that's difficult to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Compelling

    Great historical fiction!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    An interesting study

    There were many moving "moments" in the book but one underlying part of it fascinates me. I saw this in the book "Team of Rivals" too. During the Civil War, there seemed to be an unreal aura around all the people, both South and North. They continued to party, to entertain and be entertained and to rush to the streets to watch the terribleness of the war. I cannot imagine it but I have seen this written time and again and think it must be true. I highly recommend this book for other parts of it. It gives a picture of slavery and the sacrifices all slaves made to serve their masters. Joanna truly was a brave woman. Her children were lucky to have her in their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    excellent read

    Another great book in the Elm Creek series. They are winners every time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    LOVED THIS BOOK!

    I was drawn into this book almost immediately. However, I am very interested in the Underground Railroad, and quilting, so this was perfect for me! I love her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Lost Quilter Found

    Jennifer Chiaverini has once again written a story that will further your knowledge of the plight of African American slaves during the tumultuous Civil War Years, but she has done so in an enjoyable read. She is a gifted writer that draws you into the plot and takes you on a journey of discovery and empathy. I have read many of the Elm Creek Quilt books and always come back for more. The fact that Ms. Chiaverini goes back to characters from other books and furthers their stories, as well as creating new characters along the way, adds to the enjoyment of these books. In The Lost Quilter, I found myself unable to put the book down. I was anxious to learn the fate of the main character, as were other characters from the book. I felt as if I were with Sylvia and Sarah on their quest for information. I highly recommend this book, one, for its authentic and reputable look at the role of a slave during the Civil War years and secondly, it is a great book to curl up with and simply enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    Jennifer Chiaverini has given us a great gift

    I love historical fiction and find Jennifer's books very enjoyable

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2009

    I picked up the book because I am in the process of making a quilt for my church and also because I love the idea of quilting.

    I love this book and after reading this one and others by this author, I know I am not an "expert quilter", but love the idea of quilting. I love the story told, the characters, and the meanings given which makes quilting a true craft, an art form. Because I love sewing, I am interested but also because I love the idea of tradition, sisterhood, I truly loved the books. It spoke to all of these things which warms the heart. I have now purchased at least five of the books and plan to purchase the others. I love the continuation of characters. I am now very excited and intend to actually take classes in quilting. Thanks for this lovely series of books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    Great Series

    Another chapter in the lives of the Elm Creek Quilters. I suggest you go to Jennifer Chiaverini's website under her faq page, get the list, and read the books in order.

    I also recommend the Emma Hart series by Barbara Taylor Bradford. Here, again, check out her website so you can read the books in order. Keep a pen & paper on hand to keep track of the family trees.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4